Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from korea

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Nice hotel, right in the center of the city. The Auckland bus terminal is just around the corner which is also the pickup point for most tour. Staff were helpful and friendly. Prices of beverages and food are comparable to other establishments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Great location and accomodations

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location, modern accomodations
Cons: I didn't like the smell of the shampoo. Too perfumy.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby, sky city, casino, 10 minute walk to the harbor.
Modern, clean hotel. Plenty of space in the room with free wifi and tv. Restaurant and cafe downstairs for easy food options.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Great hotel, just not for families with kids

Posted Dec 31, 2016
This hotel is elegant, fancy, conveniently located in downtown. It offers the best breakfast I've had in a very long time! The gym equipment is high end. Everything was fine, except that we traveled with our two kids and we were crammed in their "deluxe" room (with two double beds). Plus, the price of the room doubled because we had the kids, which I have a very hard time understanding, because just the extra breakfast for two kids doesn't justify it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely helpful whenever we had questions. Very polite and accommodating.
Hotel was located centrally and we were able to access city transportation or walk to all sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Up a side street but got location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Technically fine hotel. Only complaint was the light switch in the bathroom was in an odd location (down and far away). One block down from Sky City, one block from the wonderful Federal St Deli (worth a stop, food is amazing). Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the heart of the city.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: The convenience of an early check-in. We chose the free car parking & breakfast option as city parking can be expensive.
Cons: The bathroom could have been cleaner.
Location: Great location, easy walking to Sky City, restaurants, bars etc.
I had a midday meeting in the city, checking in early was a breeze with my luggage stored & my car parked so that I could return later that night, collect my key then retire for the night. The room service meal was great although it took a while to arrive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by James Billing, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I appreciated he insightful and balanced review, please accept my apologies for the delay in receiving your room service. I have followed up with the team on this. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SPOT ON

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Exactly what I need.
Right in the CBD. Great staff, who are always pleasant, attentive and efficient. Comfortable rooms, with the usual Rydges fantastic mattresses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by James Billing , Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review, I was thrilled to read it. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealander

Central location, disappointing hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: A much more welcoming feel to the common areas ie bar, foyer etc. The rooms were comfortable but very average as far as furnishings and comfort went.
Location: Central to most inner city activities
On arrival 20 Emirates staff were checking in before us - the noise was deafening but luckily one of the hotel staff noticed us and checked us in at a side desk. The hotel foyer and common area was clinical and our room was no different - small and unwelcoming with a view (if I peered around the corner of the building) of another building! From the moment we arrived at 6pm, the thumping drum sound of a band could be clearly heard. We went out for a meal and returned to our room at 10.00pm and the same thumping music was still audible. I rang reception and was told that this noise would continue until 11.30 - it finally stopped at 12.15am. The room rate was not inexpensive and our experience was very disappointing - I think we were paying for the location but didn't expect the bland, clinical nature of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by James Billing , Hotel Management
Thank you JHH for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory and I have followed up on the areas that we can address to make future stays more enjoyable. I do hope we will have there opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IN

Great Stay in CBD Auckland!!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Very close to sky tower and queen street. Good option for 1/2 days stay. Not so good for amenities
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by James Billing , Hotel Management
Thank you ERA for your kind review, the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Regular visitor

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The location, staff and super comfortable beds.
Cons: Noise from extractor fans from the next building, if you have certain rooms.
Location: Right in the CBD.
This was probably my 6th stay at the Rydges this year, and as usual the staff were excellent and the hotel comfortable. Unfortunately the first room I was given must have had a problem either with the drains or the previous guest had a VERY bad problem. However 1 phone cal and 5 minutes saw me moved to another room with no hesitation. This was exceptional service. Suffice to say I have already booked another stay in two weeks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by James Billing , Hotel Management
Thank you for continuing to chose Rydges as your preferred hotel in Auckland. I have followed up on your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.