Ratings based on 6,743 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in the City

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Cons: All good really
Location: Good location for shows.
I left by mistake a full bottle of Este Lauder Beautiful parfum and and a container of Redken. Hair product in the bathroom and housekeeping have told me it was not found.Could it have been put somewhere by mistake. We stayed the night of the 23rd March in Room524 Bit distressed about this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Downhill Experience

Posted Mar 19, 2017
First time back in two years very disappointing and wont be back. Hotel is showing wear and tear particularly in the bathroom. Same problem 2 years ago as toilet seats do not sit up properly. Due to the general mess in downtown Auckland at the moment access to the hotel by car is confusing and also messy. Room key once again was not setup correctly and had to go back to reception (as last time two years ago). Breakfast was also disappointing. All the labels disappeared? Had to ask staff twice for tea which took half an hour to get to the table. Totally disorganised though small number of guests and well staffed at the time. Reading the review replies from the Hotel (copy and paste standard responses "we will do better next time"), and being told 2 years ago the same there is a very apparent decline in the service and facilities of this hotel. A shame it would not take much for them to lift their bar. Definately not a 4 star here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Clayton D, Executive Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Simon We are in receipt of your Guest Feedback Survey regarding your stay with us at Stamford Plaza Auckland. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards. I personally would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced during your stay with us due to the poor service standards in the room, front office and restaurant. I would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard. I appreciate you bringing the shortcomings and problems you experienced to our attention and the constructive way in which this was done. I can assure you that your comments have been taken to heart and will be addressed with the people concerned, and that corrective action will be taken. I value guest feedback and strive to improve service standards. As you mentioned you were told the exact same thing two years ago. However, I can assure you that I am on these problems and will not rest until they have been improved. We continually strive to deliver excellent guest service and ongoing training will be done with all of our staff to address these matters. Yours sincerely, Clayton Darlington Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First class hotel.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: See above.
I would compare this hotel to the Four Seasons where we stayed in Sydney. Currently, there is road construction in front which makes it difficult to navigate, but we had no issue with noise. The hotel is very close to the wharf, where nice restaurants are plentiful. It's also close to upscale shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
What a brilliant 5 out of 5 review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Team and I are delighted to have you stayed with us. Do visit back; I am looking forward to it. Regards, Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Excellent hotel, I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The hotel and room were very neat and clean, the staff was highly professional and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Wow, wow and wow. What a brilliant 5 out of 5 review to read first thing in the morning. Team and I are delighted to have you stayed with us. Do visit back soon; I am looking forward to it. Regards, Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Excellent hotel but major street construction

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Room and staff
Cons: Adjacent restaurant Grasshopper needs refresh but food good
Location: Close to downtown shopping, galleries
Extremely difficult to get to this hotel if driving - underground construction has streets blocked for some time and GPS won't adjust. Only one street available to access hotel. Once to hotel, service, room all excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review. I am pleased you enjoyed our beautiful hotel room as well as friendly staffs. The road construction work is part of Auckland City Railing project, which unfortunately is out of our control. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience. Do visit back soon; I am looking forward to it. Regards, Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second stay in One Month!!!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Decided to stay when our flight home was cancelled!!! Great room, great food, Great pool and gym!!! Central location !!! Great staff in restaurant!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
What a brilliant review to read first thing in the morning! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Team and I are delighted to have you with us. Do visit back; I am looking forward to it. Regards, Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Great location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Exceptional service from all staff we encountered. There is a lot of construction going on outside but the noise is minimal. We loved being just a short walk from the ferry and all the eateries around the harbour. Bed was very comfortable as were the robes and the toiletries were lovely. The only fault is that the toilet walls were pretty grubby in our room. Other than that, a lovely stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review. I am pleased your stay has met your expectations this time. Team and I are delighted to have you stayed with us. Do visit back soon; I am looking forward to it. Regards, Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Have been going to the Stamford for 10 yrs

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Having been going for 10 yrs should say something. It's handy to all amenities viaduct queens st shopping.also great hotel for functions We had the hotel host a pre wedding Canada's before my sons wedding and it was fantastic
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us; especially appreciate your loyalty for the past 10 years. Congratulations on your son are wedding! Do visit back; I am looking forward to it. Regards, Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Reception staff were extremely slow, but everything else was terrific
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank your for your 5 out of 5 review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apology regarding the not efficient check-in for you. Do visit back soon; I am looking forward to it. Regards, Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Stamford is central to everything. Very central. Clean and in excellent condition. I travel a lot so this hotel is definitely Up there. Staff are always happy to help you
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank your for your 5 out of 5 review. I strongly agree with you about how convenient our city central location is; we are lucky to be positioned in the heart of Auckland CBD area. Do visit back soon; I am looking forward to it. Regards, Jerry Feng, Assistant Front Office Manager