Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Fine old building, near Devonport seafront

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Architecture, décor, location, room, staff
Location: In the centre of quaint Devonport village.
Great building, with a fine heritage and lovely, high ceilings. Lavishly appointed bath room and excellent breakfast and afternoon tea. Didn't try the restaurant although it looked very nice. Make sure you check that room has a sea view (if you want one), to avoid disappointment. It's only 1 minute walk to the Devonport Ferry Terminal for Auckland City and other destinations. If you're planning to spend time in Auckland; it is worth considering The Esplanade - it has an up-market price tag but by the time you've paid that and the return fare for the Ferry (c 15 mins each way); you'll probably still save on the eye-watering parking fees in Auckland.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Timaru, South Canterbury

nice and handy to the ferry terminal

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Very handy to the ferry terminal and public transport
Cons: tea and coffee facilities in our room, I felt the height of the electric jug in our room was a little to high and potentially could be dangerous.
Location: location is good and so handy to everything. We couldn't do too ,much as the weather was against us.
Had a great stay, service was very good, food great, definitely would stay there again and recommend The Esplanade to others. We just caught public transport for everything we did. Great shopping. Our weekend was mainly to visit family which we did.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful old-style hotel on waterfront

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Welcoming staff, room, restaurant :)
Lovely winter night at the hotel. We received a better room than what we bargained for, with a view out to the water. Our included breakfast meant we were able to order meals off of a menu. We had dinner at the restaurant too where the food came out quickly and the staff were consistently checking on us. Seafood chowder recommended; very good for price. Our room had a spacious bathroom, was very warm and we were not rushed to check out in the morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant stay

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
I like the fact that the hotel has an old-feel which is a unique experience for myself. Room was fantastic as I got upgraded to a bigger room with the harbour room(TV was broken in the previous room).breakfast was great and location was good as well.only a 12 minute ferry ride to the city .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great old world charm!

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Bar and facilities.
Cons: N/A
Location: Beautiful views, bars, cafes, shops and restaurants all nearby
Beautiful little boutique hotel with a great bar and atmosphere. Would absolutely stay again!
5 out of 5
by Linda

Great hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent apart from one indifferent staff member and one surly rude one. Otherwise awesome place to stay. Will be back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Clean Good ambience

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Convenient Clean Good ambience
Enjoyable Staff good Pleasant old world atmosphere
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the Heart of Devonport

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Location: Right in the heart of Devonport village and across the road from the ferry terminal
Lovely heritage building. Very friendly. Lovely food and awesome breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Kate from Auckland

Room and Food

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
I loved my room! It was the perfect place for a serene get away. And the breakfast!? Amazing! Worth every cent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Character, location, value

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Staff, hotel character, great breakfast.
Cons: Toilet flush from neighbouring rooms (level above?) could be less percussive ... although this may be unavoidable given age.
Location: Great location for ferry access. Shops, bars, restaurants have appeal.
Great location unless peak hour drive out of Devonport needed. Ferry and offpeak driving easy though. Good breakfast, great old world style rooms - albeit with some quirky noises from plumbing etc. All-in-all a comfortable stay in a great suburb for good value.