Ratings based on 779 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location, noisy on Saturday nights

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Stayed before and was very good.
2 days of peace and then thumping nightclub music till 3 am, 4 floors below, base shook the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Can't beat local

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness
Location: shops , everything !
The location for the Sebel is great , breakfast , lunch and dinner choices right out your door . The staff are polite but not naturally friendly . The lobby has a strange lay out that is not inviting , no business center very odd . My room had a pleasing view of the inner harbor and harbor bridge . It was large and surprisingly had a washer dryer which i did use. However , for the price the room was rather dirty , stains on the carpet and bathroom not cleaned well . Overall good but manager needs to raise standards .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
A nice hotel with a view over the viaduct. Close to all the restaurants and boats.
5 out of 5
by Trevor

Great spot in the middle of everything

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant accommodating staff. Walking distance to most everything in downtown. Smack dab in the middle of what seems to be a very trendy, fun square. Would stay here again 100% (I've had 80 hotel nights in the past 1.5 years).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Wotif
Hotel staff were exceedingly friendly and professional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The experience

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Really upsetting. After a nice stay the hotel we realised they had taken a $500 bond by mistake. Supposed to come back in a few days it didn't - then over the next 2weeks we spoke too just about every member of staff trying to get it back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
No mention was made at booking about $35 parking fee. .. it was only mentioned when I was leaving. This is a rip off. .. I have never been charged overnight parking in hotel's parking lot and $35 a night? It cost me less than that to leave my car at airport parking in ChCh for the weekend! It cost me less than that to hire a car per day in Auckland. This leaves a bad taste and I will not recommend your hotel... this is where social media is great. ... karma
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be your home away from home

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Nice small hotel with a good size apartment that has a small bedroom, small nook to work, living room, washer&dryer, kitchenette if you want to cook something yourself. Outside through the back door (one might argue that was the front door) are multiple restaurants with live music, TVs showing sports, different cuisines, different fusions, romantic and loud - you can choose. Nice touch is that in several places you can charge your bill to your room. Front Desk staff is very cordial and willing to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome location

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Very nice, well equipt & spacious rooms with a great view of the Wharf.
Cons: Slightly noisy though due to the bars & restaurants downstairs with people partying into the night & the parking bays are quit small.
Location: Love that the hotel has a view of the Wharf & that it is so close to the surrounding attractions, restaurants & the view of gorgeous boats & yachts.
Was given the booking for the night at The Sebel as a Wedding present from my work which we were stoked about. We enjoyed our stay at The Sebel, the staff were friendly & helpful & we truly loved our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Kesh, Hotel Management
Dear Bianca Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that you had a lovely stay and would love to welcome you back in near future. Kind regards Kesh Operations Manager