Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ripped Pff

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Paid for the stay via Expedia. After checkout was charged again for the room. Was assured I only had to give a credit card for security deposit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Great location and good for the price for Auckland

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: I think that they are in the process of doing things up.
Location: Near to the main Queen Street, Cafes, Art Gallery, Park and Train / Bus stations.
After reading some reviews we were a bit worried, however, we found our room clean and everything in great working order. The location is great - it is up a hill but a lot of places in Auckland are. The staff were helpful and pleasant. It says on the website it is serviced weekly - we were there 4 nights and enjoyed having the place to ourselves for that time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good for long term accommodation.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Well placed.
Cons: There needs to be a receptionist area at the front door.
Location: Good location, walking distance to main city centre.
Room was very good, well equipped for cooking and washing. We stayed one night but would recommend it for longer stays in Auckland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Got what we paid for!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Maintainence
Basic Hotel, clean, felt rather cramped. Whole toilet seat completely fell off. Definitely got what we paid for. Good location. Probably wouldn't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blacktown, Sydney Australia

Very good, right priced Accommdation in the City

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Table & chairs for meals. Open Veranda.
Cons: Some rooms I noticed are better than others. I was happy with mine after asking for a swap due to layout & age of room 1 room offered (I stayed twice)
Location: Downside of location is the steep hill. The City has steep areas so its common. but if unfit access could be a downfall if on.foot. Parking is close.
Check in was ok. Location for me, alittle steep but the city is on a hill. Happy with the room. its an old building but has seen alittle bit of room upgrade over years. ie modern Tv & Kitchen splash back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Don't be put off by poor reviews

Posted Mar 24, 2017
A great central location close to great eateries and shops. Excellent value for money. Remember it's 3 stars not 5 so don't expect the Ritz. Much better than expected, clean with everything you need for a city stay. Reception looked after our baggage on the day of checkout.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid unless you have no other options

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The location is good - a short trip (downhill) to Queen Street. Nice crisp linens and fluffy towels. When we needed something, the staff were good.
Cons: The whole thing needs a facelift. And if there is a way of separating hotel rooms from short stay, that might work better.
Not great really. Overall, the whole place suffers from a mixed purpose - it's a short stay apartment building and the rooms definitely feel like they have had people living in there for long periods of time rather than just hotel guests. The key drop didn't work for us - one of our keys got stuck and wouldn't come out. I agree with everyone else, having the reception inside one of the apartments (and not on the ground floor either) is not appropriate and feels uncomfortable (me as a single female going into a room where there were four men sitting on the couch in what is essentially someone's living room). The slats fell out of my bed every time I sat on it or moved. The guy did come to fix it the next day - by re-laying the slats and somehow they stayed in place the second night, but there were pieces of tape hanging off it, so I clearly wasn't the first to have a problem. The rooms were perfectly functional and had everything you might need, but they have a random assortment of furniture, mine for example had a desk squished in alongside the bed (which you could not have sat at as there was no room between bed and desk). My room was very dark, although when you're not there during the day, this isn't a problem. Ask for a higher floor if it concerns you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, terrible place to stay

Posted Mar 18, 2017
When I showed up to check-in, there was no one at the desk to buzz me in. I waited for a while, and eventually someone else was going in. The person who man's the desk is basically a desk in the front of his apartment. He was rude and unhelpful. The rooms are real worn down. The carpets are really used, the couch was ripped, the bathroom wasn't in great shape, and the bed was worn down. Don't bother staying here. BUT, the location is amazing, so find somewhere nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Motel style apartment, in city centre.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Quiet, well equipped, near city centre,
Cons: Free internet
Quiet area in downtown Auckland. Handy for early morning ferry. Clean well equipped, oven,hob,fridge,dishwasher, cooking and eating gear. Shower room could do with decorating, otherwise fine. Has internet but not free.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Dirty sheets. Generally worn down and in need of an upgrade. Poor value for money