Ratings based on 1,091 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Great location right off Interstate 95. 2 beautiful clean swimming pools, very good breakfast, and attentive staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would stay again

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Room was large, accommodating three friends well. Breakfast buffet area had lots of seating plus attendants, so didn't have the mad rush feeling some places have. Room carpet was quite worn at the door - it is time for update.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Real nice clean hotel in nice town

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Booked at last minute on the road trip from Maine to White mountains. Didn't know anything about the town or anything. It was a very pleasant experience staying at this hotel. Nice staff and great breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oshkosh WI

Could be nice if remodeled

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: The staff was very nice. Restaurant was overpriced but had excellent seafood. Full breakfast served every morning was nice with hot items also
Cons: Needs remodeled badly
Location: Location was great right off the interstate. Easy to find. Had a restaurant and lounge inside it.
Everything is dated. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling. Who has fridge in their bathroom and a microwave across the room. Coffee maker was on top of the microwave which is usually fine no where to plug it in. At first they put me in a room that was not connected to the hotel at all. Good size hotel only 2 icemakers in the entire hotel. However, the staff was very pleasant. Switched my room without any problem -- I didn't want to be in a run down room that was not even connected to the hotel. Overall this place was probably beautiful at some point but is rundown and needs remodeled bad. I was expecting much more since it was a spa also -- those are usually nicer hotels. This place however had a restaurant attached with lounge. It was wonderful -- a little over priced but good seafood I had an entire lobster that was fresh as in just caught that day. Also they had a breakfast included every morning which was nice with hot items also.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Handy hotel on my way to the coast.

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Prices are good, I like the outdoor parking and indoor access. The location is good.
I have stayed at the Senator many times. On the whole, its great. This time, I was a bit disappointed. Room not clean in places. Hair dryer didnt work, lunch was not very tasty (blt sandwiches) , Waitress was TOO soliticitous, in that I really wanted to talk to my companion about some important issues, and she couldnt stop checking on us every 5 minutes or so. I was looking for bananas, and none were available, evening or morning. Pool and spa still just fine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson, MS

Don't let the age fool you...

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Food and Spa
Cons: Free bathroom shampoo wasn't very good...
While the hotel does have some age on it... it's more from an architectural standpoint and not amenities. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. All of the amenities you would expect from a name brand hotel were there. The food is some of the best I have found in a hotel at this level... and the staff were all super friendly. If you are going for a few days, bring your swimwear. The spa is really nice and the indoor pool is great. There is an outdoor pool as well, but the indoor is more convenient. If you do come in thru the Augusta airport.. have a Taxi Cab company number on hand. The hotel does not have a shuttle.
3 out of 5
by Brianne from bedford, ma

Decent but definitely not the best

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for a quick overnight at The Senator on our way to Canada. While the room was decent and I very much enjoyed that there was direct access from the parking lot AND access from the hotel hallways, I did NOT enjoy the over sized pillows that were hard as rocks or the inclusive breakfast that was soaked in grease. I appreciated that they put us in out of the way room since we were staying with a child. Thanks but I probably wont be here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice hotel

Posted May 26, 2016
Very nice hotel...staff was wonderful very nice and helpful....pool was beautiful...rooms were very nice and very comfortable....definitely would stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always good

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is always very nice, convienient to where we need to be and comfortable. The pool and hot tub were closed for one night of our stay, disappointing otherwise all was fine.