Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Hotel on I-35

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The room and staff
Cons: Yes do not take the room across from housekeeping unless it is free.
Location: Convenient to all but not walking distance.
Staff was very nice. Lobby and facilities were basic. The room itself was extremely clean, comfortable and well equipped. The mattress was more comfortable than my $8000 Tempur-pedic. However my room was on first foor across from housekeeping and was extremely noisy early in the a.m. Also all the other rooms had carpet in their hall way and mine had tile. So I heard every suitcase and maid's trolley and voice going down the hall. I am disapppointed that Expedia did not warn me of this in advance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The hotel staff was really nice; however, the room was terrible. I requested a non smoking room but was put in a smoking room that smelled horrible. There was food left in the room from the previous visitors that had began to mold and smelled disgusting. The toilet was backed up as well so I had to use the public bathroom downstairs. When I first pulled up to the hotel there was a crime scene officer there investigating a recent break-in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Quiet and cost-friendly

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: It's quiet and cost-friendly
Cons: Floors in hallway needed to be vacuumed daily.
Location: The hotel is easy to access since it's just off the freeway and is accessible to downtown with only a 10-20 minute drive, depending on traffic.
Hotel was quiet and cost-friendly. It was quite spacious even with a kitchen, bed, desk, 2 desk chairs and a recliner type chair. The bathroom is also a nice size. Lots of room to move around and put your belongings. The room had many amenities to make this like a regular apartment. They also have a little store, open 24/7, that is much like a convenient store to purchase things from toothpaste to milk and cookies. For the price, this is a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, friendly, however the new door...

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Friendly staff super clean room only problem was what look to be a new door for the bathroom was hard to open and close
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Address not GPS friendly

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Proximity to highway and local restaurants.
Cons: Signage can be improved, hotel was difficult to see off the road. Hotel neighbors a few car dealerships with similar entry points.
Location: Fun local restaurants ~5 blocks away.
I've stayed at a few other Candlewood Suites before so I booked with confidence based on my prior experiences with the franchise. This particular location was not GPS friendly as I had to drive up and down Hwy 35 a few times before locating the hotel. Also, the hotel entrance does no stand out and it is easy to pass by. The service road the hotel sits on is pretty busy with a high MPH. Con: Difficult to find on GPS, hotel was not as clean as it looks. I found a few hair strands on the pillow and between the sheets. I doubt they changed the bed sheets. This is one of the few things that really grosses me out. Although I didnt use the kitchen, I noticed pots and pans were not clean (you can see finger stains). Secondly, the fire alarm went off around 2:00 AM and all the guests had to evacuate. I'm not sure if some nut set it off or there was a valid reason. The wall was thin, I could hear my neighbor cough but guests were nice in general and quiet. For the price I paid, I could've stayed at a better and higher rated hotel. Pro: Right off the highway, close to Congress blvd where the restaurants are and free parking. The staff who checked me in was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by fernando

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Maria from mexico

la noche perfecta!

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Fue una estancia de maravilla el recibimiento fue fabuloso,volveremos pronto.
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
My only complaint is regarding the front door - which is why my hotel service rating is not higher. After I checked in, I loaded my stuff onto the luggage cart. I positioned myself at the front door to push in the loaded luggage cart, holding the door open with my foot. When I first propped open the door, I felt a quick, sharp pain on the outside of my right foot. I initially thought it might be a biting bug of some kind. When I looked at my foot, it was bleeding. A corner of the metal kick plate was bent outward in the place where I had held the door open. I showed the young man on duty my bleeding foot and told him about the door. He gave me a couple of band aids and said he would tell someone so that it could be fixed. When I checked out of the hotel, the door still had not been fixed. My intention was to prevent another guest from getting hurt. It concerns me that staff did not seem as concerned as I was about another guest getting injured. I hope that a sue-happy guest doesn't get cut by that door. A couple of band aids won't satisfy that type of person.