Ratings based on 2,018 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some improvement

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Great staff and decent breakfast. Wonderfully newly remodeled bathrooms, but really needs a deep clean! Lots of stains throughout, very small pool that wasn't cleaned. Rooms were a good size, but a little musty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Do NOT stay here

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Do NOT stay here. The location is sketchy and the hotel is filthy. Do NOT be fooled by their website. This place is definitely not as advertised. The pictures of the rooms look nice but they are actually really dirty. There are stains everywhere...carpet, bedding, bathroom walls, etc. The air conditioner doesn't work (just runs as a fan) so our room was really warm and uncomfortable. Also, our room was very "beat up" with cracks and chips and damage to almost everything in the room including furniture, broken bed springs, walls, and even chipped porcelain in the toilet. And the refrigerator...when I opened it I gagged and almost threw up. It smelled like a corpse. On top of that it was broken. This hotel also advertises a cafe and a bar that's open until 10pm. There is no cafe. There is a bar but I was told "they can't keep a bartender on staff." Not a shocker in this dump. The lady at the front desk is rude and indifferent. Zero customer service. The elevator was actually the worst part...completely filthy. It honestly looked like dozens of people had either sneezed, peed, puked, or worse inside the elevator. I am not exaggerating. I could go on. We pre-paid with no refund and actually left the hotel early because it was so bad. We got a much better hotel closer to the city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 2 star hotel pretending to be 3 1/2 stars.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
I am not from Austin and so I relied in Expedia photos and reviews. This hotel came up as a special rate. They claimed to be a 3 1/2 star hotel that looked great in the photos and had a 3.9 out of 5.0 rating. What a con! The entry and parking lot had trash. The landscaping looked like it had not been kept up. The entry had rusty. exposed steel beams which looked unfinished and ghetto. The exteriior was recently painted white with paint spatters all over the already dirty windows. The front lobby looked worn and tired, with outdated decor and furniture mixed with some remodeling updates that looked like a do-it yourself project done by unskilled workers. I asked to see the room before I checked in. The room looked as if it might have been a very nice room at one point, but the furniture was old, the carpet worn and buckled, the chair was worn with torn fabric ravelings hanging down the side. I told the front desk receptionist it didn't meet my expectations and asked if I had already been charged for the room. She told me no. I had booked it on Expedia as a pay later option. I had not given the hotel my credit card info, so I left and rented a hotel at a hotel brand I knew. However, Casulo still charged my credit card the full price of the room and put me down as a no show. I called Expedia and even after they called the hotel, they refused to refund any or all of the charge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Smelly, filthy lifts, musty rooms. Good location though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor cleaning, construction site

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Very expensive, poor hygiene throughout the hotel and dirty guestroom.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Hotel is old and under renovations or just completed some of them. It smells very musty trim in bathrooms is old and rotten. They have dressed it up with light fixtures and artwork in the halls but I was not impressed. I would rate this a B-
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

This was my second visit. I rated my first a 5.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing. Looks run down.
Cons: Bring back better breakfast. It just looks run down.
Location: Trying to exit parking is dangerous at rush hour. Our plan was sight seeing in Austin after returning from Dallas, then back to San Antonio.
My first visit was very impressive. I rated it a "5". Much cleaner. Breakfast was great with made-to-order omlettes and fresh fruit. So different this time. I would rate breakfast a "1". Almost slipped twice in bathtub while showering. No grid surface in tub. VERY SLIPPERY!!!. Noisy hallway. No business center to print boarding pass for flight. I rated it a "2". I think I paid too much for my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Perfect

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Everything was perfect especially for mine and my boyfriends Valentines weekend together. I highly recommend this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Potential to be a great Hotel!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
For starters, our Hotel room was not ready when we arrived which was at 4pm. The staff check us in and asked if we could wait in the lobby and they would let us know when ready.. 45 mins later no one had bothered to check on us so I asked about the room and was told it was ready! We proceeded to the room which still had a door open with all cleaning supplies and cart with no attendant in sight! I then went back to the front desk and ask what the problem was? By this time it's almost 5 o'clock in the afternoon and we have no room! I was beyond patient and the hotel staff didn't seem to care we still didn't have a room. It seemed that we were a burden by the tone of her voice and her mannerisms! She then found us another room which was not what I had requested.. all in all the rooms are subpar... mattress not comfortable, dim lighting, half finished projects/remodeled items.. bathroom shower/oversized tubs are awesome and very close to downtown.. it's a shame there is horrible customer service and low maintenance ti this place! I Will not be staying here again in the near future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hated it!!!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
As well pulled up it looked like a dirty white jail building. Window stained, spider webs ever where. The water in the bathroom was horrible. We couldnt wash the soap off our sink or faces. The water seemed slimy. The front desk lady wouldnt refund my money so i couldnt cancel my stay. I would of lost all my miney on top of paying a fee. They made us call expida to see if there was a fee. Expida said no but the lady told expida that they will charge us and what not. There was a smell as you walked into the hotel. The cleaning lady were awesome.