Ratings based on 1,041 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great place for longer stays.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The location is great. It's a short walk to go see the bats, the capital, or the 6th street attractions, and it has plenty of restaurants and shops.
Cons: The AC seemed to work better in the day than at night, and it would get a little warm when we tried to sleep.
Location: The hotel is on 6th Street, so that has many bars and restaurants, and it's around the corner from the Congress Street bat bridge.
We had stayed here before and liked the idea of a small kitchen in the room, which helps with all the nearby restaurants, if you actually have left overs, which I often do. We also wanted the fact that it was walking distance from a lot of nightlife, but not in the middle of it, so it was quiet. We did ask for a late check-out because our flight didn't leave until the evening and it was denied (the first time that has ever happened to me) due to expected guests. They did allow us to stay parked in the parking lot (which doubles as paid public parking) for free for the rest of the day, so we didn't have to move the car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay again at Extended Stay America Austin - Downtown - 6th St. We value your nice comments about our convenient location close to the Congress Street bat bridge and a variety of restaurants and shopping options. It is also nice to read that you liked your in-room kitchenette. However, we regret that you weren’t happy with the air conditioner in your room, and we have shared your concerns with our maintenance department. We apologize that we could not provide you with a late check-out this time. We appreciate your business and would love to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great location but...

Posted Jul 18, 2016
I don't believe the bed was made because it look as though someone laid in the middle without straighten the sheets. We asked for new sheets because there was a lot hair on the sheets and there was hair on every towel in the room. If you stay here, bring your own sheets, towels and disinfectant. Poor cleaning overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize that there were housekeeping issues in your suite. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable and well-maintained suites for our guests, and we obviously fell short in this case. However, we are happy that you liked our convenient location. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay experience. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, 15 min walk to convention center.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
It is a good one,good enough for me, simple breakfast provided, no need to look for food outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your exceptional stay at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. We are happy you loved our convenient location which was perfect for your needs and that you were impressed with our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast. It was great to have you here, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good hotel in Austin

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. Nice staff members.
Went to Ausin for 6th street and restaurant actives. The hotel was walking distance to the bars but the parking at the hotel is not the best. Do not leave your parking spot and expect to come back at night with a spot available (at least not on a weekend)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for posting your amazing remarks! We are so glad we lived up to your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to provide an exceptional experience for each guest, so your comments about our immaculate property, comfy beds and courteous associates were a pleasure to read. We are also delighted to hear that you loved our location which was perfect for your needs. Thanks again, and we hope you will choose Extended Stay America Austin - Downtown - 6th St. soon! Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heart of downtown

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Cons: Cleanliness
Not as clean as I had hoped though location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We value you staying at our hotel and providing a review. Our team is committed to providing comfortable and well-maintained suites for our guests, and we apologize this was not the case during your stay. Please know your feedback has been shared with the housekeeping team to ensure a review of our processes. However, we are happy to read that our location was convenient for your stay. Thank you for your feedback, and we would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accommodating hotel on 6th street

Posted May 20, 2016
The staff was great and communicative. The safety that I like about this hotel is that their entrance doors close at 10:45 I believe and guests can come in and out with their room key when swiped.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay America- Austin - Downtown - 6th St. Our goal is to provide a great experience for our guests with clean, comfortable and well maintained suites and excellent service, all in a safe environment, so we are happy this was your experience. We appreciate your great review and look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Nice hotel with a very good front desk staff

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Location is perfect for austin visitors who's ready to partythe night. Staff are very friendly.
Cons: Cleanliness of the room especially the bed & bathrppm
Location: Great location. Bars & restaurants & Wholefoods is just a walking distance. If they can just clean the room well!
I really like its location. Walking distance to party center of Austin & good restaurants. I just didn't like the fact that the beddings & pillows looks like they were not fresh. There was a used face towel hanging off the shower curtain rod which the housekeeper may have missed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at our hotel. We are glad you liked our friendly associates and that you were impressed with our convenient location which was perfect for your needs. However, please accept our sincere apologies for the housekeeping issues in your suite. Your comments have been shared with our housekeeping team to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for your feedback, and we would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted May 3, 2016
Not clean and made us wait 2 hours to have room cleaned after 3pm. Made my family wait without any apologies.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

easy walk to the capitol

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Location was good, and it was an easy walk to the capitol
Cons: They should do something about the smell. It's like walking into an old people's home or smelly college dorm.
Location: see the bats go to the capitol
They advertise their "breakfast." This consisted of hot beverages, granola bar, banana and/or dry oatmeal packages. This was far below my expectation. No pool or sauna area. And like other reviewers have mentioned, there is a smell issue. We ran the a/c unit in order to became nose blind to it. Also they have no pack & plays or cribs for little ones.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Austin main attractions

Posted Apr 30, 2016
The hotel is very close to the main nightlife and city attractions. Breakfast is terrible, stuff is terrible as well. The lobby is simple, no sofa, only 2 chairs and a small table.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. Please accept our apologies that our grab-and-go breakfast was not to your expectations. In response to your feedback, I will be sure to share your comments with our corporate office. Still, I am glad to read that our location was convenient for your needs. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.