Ratings based on 1,177 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Keep Looking

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Location. Staff was friendly.
Cons: Beds and Bedding (the most important thing)
Location: Close to town lake and Threadgills
We booked the room through Expedia and paid for a two queen bed room. When we got there we were told they only had one king bed and a pull out cot. We were so tired we just took it. The cot was the cheapest mattress they could buy. We both had to take a sleeping pill, even as tired as we were to go to sleep. Everything else was OK, clean and comfortable. My disappointment is that I ordered and paid for a two bed suite, and the bedding was not good quality. The hotel itself was under construction. The hallway had the rug taken up, so it looked pretty bad. No ice machine. No pool. Good location. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
James, please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered while here and regret the inconvenience it caused. We can assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable by our standards, and we will be reviewing our guidelines to provide a much better experience. Thanks for your candid feedback as this helps us to improve our hotel. I truly hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to make it up to you on another visit. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Cheap hotel with Terible service

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The hotel is renovating and there is no carpet ini the alley Abdul breakfast is nothing to eat and veryl slow wifi
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Andrie, thank you for posting a review of your stay. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to our ongoing renovation and the service. We have regular training in place for our team so we regret your unpleasant experience. We would love for you to experience our updated look and hope you will come back and see us. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Nice staff but horrible hotel conditions

Posted May 29, 2017
My wife were visiting the city for the weekend. For the price-point, this was the lowest rate I was able to get through Expedia but the service did not resonate for what you're paying for. Anything you want will be additional to what you had already paid on Expedia. In the criteria says breakfast meal which they didn't have anything but oatsmeal and coffee. That's not a breakfast meal!! Plus the sheets are not clean I woke up with bug bites the next day!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Don, please accept our apologies, as we never mean to disappoint our guests in any way, and we definitely failed in this attempt. We can assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable by our standards, and we will be reviewing and altering our guidelines to provide a wonderful experience for all our guests. Please visit us again so we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent, inexpensive hotel near downtown

Posted May 25, 2017
Generally speaking a decent hotel. It was cheap but clean, accommodating staff, but the mattresses and pillows desperately need replacing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to know you liked our attentive staff, clean facilities and that you also found us to be a reasonable price in the area. We appreciate your observation and concerns in regard to our mattresses and regret that you did not get good night’s sleep. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakehills, Tex.

front entrance doors filthy. Floors in room filth

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The bed was OK and the TV and refrigerator were good.
Cons: See above
Location: Location was good for my purpose, it was near the things I had to do.
Floor in bathroom had urine spots by toilet. Floor in room appears to need mopping. I wish I had stayed elsewhere. Visited a friend at another hotel and it was really cared for and clean. I don't believe I could stay at Extended Stay again. Also the A/C needed servicing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Marvin, thank you for your feedback and for letting us know that our location was perfect for your needs. However, I am very disappointed to see that your review referenced the description of our hotel as "filthy". Our promise to our guest includes a commitment to providing a clean, fresh environment and I apologize that did not happen when you were here. I am very concerned about your experience and have immediately brought this to the attention of my housekeeping team for review and action. Please know this is not usual for us, and we hope you give us another chance in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Ice

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: 5 minute walk to Palmer Events Center
Cons: Evaluate and remedy any unwelcome sound in any unit
Location: Not much within walking distance other than the events center, a Wataburger, and Sandy's burgers (which had lines so I guess they had decent burgers.
Good basic lodging if you come prepared. The biggest inconvenience was the lack of ice machines and only one tray in the freezer compartment that took 24 hours to freeze solid. A minor convenience was that you had to go to the front desk and ask for every single kitchen item you needed. No extra charge. Just inconvenient. Of course, this keeps costs down so weight that in. My particular room had a noisy AC and fridge And the gap under the door to the room allowed hallway racket. Bring earplugs. No oven but you can check out toasters. Microwave instructions were hard to understand so i made do with "high" for everything. Otherwise, it was clean and comfy and economical, particularly for a longer stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you being our guest. It’s our pleasure knowing you loved our affordable rates and the cleanliness of our property. However, we are sorry for the noise issue you experienced during your stay. Our front desk is staffed to assist your needs, so we would have been happy to address this issue if you had alerted us. Your comments will help us as we continually improve our amenities and service going forward. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a

Not good

Posted Apr 21, 2017
TV not working, thin walls. Very loud!! They let me check in early. That was nice. But the TV didn't work. They said it would be the next day before they could do anything. I really just needed it to drowned out the noise. It's in a good location. That's about it. I checked in at 2pm and checked out at 10pm, on the same day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We sincerely apologize for the noise and maintenance issues you encountered in your suite. I am concerned about your feedback and have shared it with the appropriate individuals in our organization to make sure that future guests do not experience the same. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and hope to have the opportunity to make your next stay perfect in every respect. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over charge hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
No parking. Don't walk around at night . I thought they would have a better breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations, and for failing to maintain our high standards. We are also sorry that our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast didn't live up to your expectations. Your feedback will share with our food and beverage team. I hope we have the opportunity to make a much better impression on a future stay. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
From the outside, it looks ok, but inside, this hotel is drab and dingy and old. The countertop in the room was dirty, and room was not vacuumed. Power went out four times the next morning, with no explanation from the desk. Coffee was supposed to be available but when I went down at 8:30 they were out and no more was offered. I checked out after one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept my personal apologies for the issues you encountered which led to your disappointment. We strive to deliver a flawless experience, but sometimes we fall short. We take this opportunity to ensure we deliver the best facilities and service that our guests should expect from us. I hope you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest. I am confident we can replace this experience with a more positive memory! Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and affordable hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017
I was looking for a hotel close to the convention center but affordable. This hotel provided a fridge which was helpful to store food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the nice comments regarding your stay at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake. We are so happy to know our location was perfect for your needs and that you liked your well-equipped room. We appreciate you mentioning the great value we offer and hope to be your hotel of choice whenever you are in this area. Sincerely, General Manager