Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Charming Hotel in DT Austin

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Great beds, spacious bathroom.
Location: Location was pretty good, but, most of the restaurants are not walking distance.
Hotel Ella is wonderful. Spacious rooms, very comfortable beds, I even had a private balcony off of my room. Staff was very courteous and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, England

Lovely hotel close to University area.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of all staff. Breakfast seemed expensive but excellent. Freshly squeezed orange was great as was anything cooked.
Cons: A bath rather than a shower, but in Texas water is more precious than in the U.K. Otherwise perfect for us. Small and more intimate than major chains.
Location: The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the Capitol building and about 25 minutes from the river. Great cheap bus service to get around or just back.
We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. The hotel has a beautiful Greek style front block and modern wings which were refurbished about 4 years ago so things still seem in a very good state of decoration. Accommodation blocks are based around the pool which creates a pleasant focus. Bed was large and extremely comfortable so we slept well. Room was generously proportioned with good sized shower and toilet, separate wash basin area. Generous wardrobe too. Rooms seemed well insulated so quiet for a city hotel. AC was efficient and controllable and not too noisy. Pool was not Olympic sized but great to lounge around, extra towels etc. provided for this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

1st visit to Austin

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Lovely historic hotel, with easy access to local sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Looking forward to our next visit!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This is a great hotel! The hotel was easy to find and easy to check-in. Since we were Expedia clients they upgraded us to a room with king size bed and a view of the courtyard and swimming pool. We loved everything about this hotel! Great contemporary art on the walls in the bedroom and all throughout the hotel. Bathroom was large and spacious. We slept like royalty and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We parked the car with valet and were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go or the hotel was willing to drop us off within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. The best part was that the hotel was a short walk from the UT campus so we walked back to the hotel after our campus tour. We look forward to staying there again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great historic Austin hotel!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Historic hotel in great downtown location
Cons: If possible..look into installing heater for pool to be able to swim at night.
Location: University of Texas, The Ransom Center and Several Museum within a 10 min walk. Nearby Botanical Gardens at Barton Springs is lovely.
Wonderful stay. Hotel staff were exceptional. Restaurant served great meals with great wait staff. Valet parking was helpful and convenient. Room service was great. Loved that the hotel was quiet even in the middle of the city. Truly loved my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Super place. Old school class with modern amenities!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Very Good will recommend to others who vist Austin TX
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to everything.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The rooms have a historical feel in a good way. Awesome pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Helpful staff, so friendly, beautiful room . Small, but cool pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel close to Government offices.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Its beauty and its historic character. All the staff is friendly and welcoming. Great service too and even better food!
Cons: Better service at the bar.
Location: This hotel has a cozy bar with great ambiance. Nice historic bars/barbeque in the area within walking distance.
From the moment you approach the hotel to the time you open the door, you travel to the past with all the modern comforts.