Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Wonderful right in the heart of UT

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Size: it is not a large hotel. looks like a capital building. Clean and large rooms.
Cons: A coffeemaker in the room would be great. People like to make their own coffee and tea sometimes especially when the restaurant is closed.
Location: Right in the heart of UT and close to all kind of entertainment
First time at this hotel. It was lovely. Very helpful staff. Very helpful. Offered to give us rides. Large rooms. Two large queen beds. Large bathroom. Very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Staff was available and efficient for check in, questions about traffic/construction, directions and getting car valeted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tucked on the edge of West Campus

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: super friendly
Perfect for the visiting parent of a student, I walked to many of the UT hotspots. My daughter joined me for breakfast and dinner at the lovely Goodall's Kitchen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool concept with poor execution.

Posted Nov 23, 2015
From the pictures you'd think that you're staying in this marvelous boutique hotel but in fact the main house has a restaurant and bar and that's all. The rooms are behind the main home in what's best described as remodeled apartments. Small and poorly laid out rooms mixed with hit or miss staff and again a few upgraded decor items slapped onto an what looks like old apartments and voila...an overpriced and underwhelming experience. Only plus is the valet staff are all very nice and well informed. They will also shuttle you around in their X5 until 10 pm which works perfectly if you're over 65.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice vintage hotel.

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Cool hip hotel to stay at. Hotel staff is pleasant. The rooms could use a little updating. Wifi is very slow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denton, TX

It's beautiful but pretty yuppy

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Lots of miscommunication between staff, wasn't given my room for an hour and a half after being told I'd need a credit card for incidentals only then being charged an amount that was not okayed. Don't expect them to have faxing capabilities. I was offered a free meal by two different staff members that wasn't honored by the manager, Mickey. Junior Suite I booked was supposed to have a patio, I was told that a sliding glass door with no balcony was a patio. Way too expensive, could have stayed at the Driskill for the same price and had free breakfast and parking. Really sweet staff, but all that matters is management in cases like these I'm afraid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT AND Original Hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: DEcoration and service
Cons: Maybe a desk in the room.
Decoration is beautiful, full of little details in the bathroom. Everything is high quality. The employees are great ! Super clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by suneil from London

Very smart hotel, bit of a walk away from Downtown

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our stay at the Ella, staff were really friendly and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daniel from phoenix

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
great boutique hotel. neighborhood close to the university
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015
hotel is off the beaten path. bell men and staff were excellent. Room in the back is quiet (great!) but overlooking a parking lot. Gym was awful and unusable. Ella is not a 4.2 out of 5 rating, but a 3. Sorry.