Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Love this hotel..

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I loved staying at this hotel. The room was extremely comfortable, the staff incredibly friendly and accommodating, and the restaurant served up delicious food. I loved that the staff were proud of the history of the hotel and did not miss a chance to share the background of its creation. They offer a car service to anywhere in the downtown core so staying a bit away isn't an inconvenience. I would happily stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from marble falls, tx

Just OK

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Outside sitting areas and inside sitting areas. Valets were quick.
The hotel itself is very nice - nice sitting areas inside and out, bar with happy hour, lovely restaurant. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was small with one small sink in the bedroom area and small bath area. We had no view. The room is much too small to rate 4 or more stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Best Hotel off Congress

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Service, facilities, location, and Ella1!
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Close to Congress Avenue, fine dining, and easy access to main thoroughfares.
Service, service, service. I'm a frequent business traveler to Austin and need to be close to downtown. I found this gem of a hotel that's close enough but far from the noise and bustle of downtown. The staff always pays attention to the details, and that's what makes this a prime spot for lodging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Good location, nice facilities. Also providing with hotel car to drop you off or pick you up around city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Charming Time Capsule

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Sandwiched between Austin's warp speed building boon is boutique Hotel Ella, a charming throwback to the best of southern hospitality. High ceilings, sweeping veranda, great staff, lovely amenities. The in-house restaurant Goodall's Restaurant is outstanding!
Cons: Because there has been so much development in the area, there are essentially no views unless you have a room toward the courtyard.
Location: Hotel Bella is within walking distance to all of Austin's best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Nothing but first class all the way, from valet to checking out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Great location for events at The University of Texas.
The Hotel Ella has a great bar with good happy hour prices. We also enjoyed learning about the history of the hotel from the staff. King bed was super comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Not really much nearby and not an easy walk to better restaurants. Staff was very nice and helpful.
Very nice hotel but really not an easy walk to the Capital as advertised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Excellent service. Beautiful room.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Three blocks from Univ of Texas. Lots of fast foods close by. We travel to eat at excellent restaurants and had to catch the bus to go downtown to eat
Great swimming pool. Very quiet. Down side. We stayed a week. No place to unpack and store items. Couch and chair were so uncomfortable we had to sit on bed and read. Or go outside and sit by pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Snoqualmie, WA

Great Boutique Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: History
Charming hotel in Austin. Right next door to the university. Loved having food and drinks on the Veranda. Service was outstanding. I didn't get the chance to use the pool. Looked nice. I will stay at Hotel Ella again if I return to Austin.