Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel close to Government offices.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Its beauty and its historic character. All the staff is friendly and welcoming. Great service too and even better food!
Cons: Better service at the bar.
Location: This hotel has a cozy bar with great ambiance. Nice historic bars/barbeque in the area within walking distance.
From the moment you approach the hotel to the time you open the door, you travel to the past with all the modern comforts.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretentious and depressing

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing. In a service industry the manager's people skills are sub par to put it kindly.
Location: Better to stay downtown.
Manager was rude and insulting and beyond unwelcoming. Sad empty little restaurant. Not walking distance to downtown. Depression meets pretentious here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

A gentle and well curated hotel experience .

Posted Feb 10, 2017
A very calm and comfortable bolt hole in the busy capital of Texas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Wonderful, helpful staff, great facility. restaurant is very good and location is great. Thanks to all the staff, every question we asked, they had an answer, or found one. Superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel near downtown and campus

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: The service and the historic check-in, bar and restaurant. The pool looked beautiful but I stayed in January.
Enjoyed my stay at Hotel Ella very much. The staff go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. Attractive, large, modern room, very clean, bath a little dated but clean and with upscale personal care amenities. Mattress not as comfortable as mine at home, but the linens and pillows were super comfortable. Room service dinner and breakfast was excellent!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Great for the price

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: I liked the art, very Austin weird. The location was good.
Cons: The service needs a major overhaul.
Location: Location is good, walked downtown easily in about 20 minutes.
Very over rated hotel. Nothing seemed to function properly. No ice machine. Valet service was overpriced and a pain. The room was not cleaned before 3:00pm even after asking for service repeatedly. The location is great but it did not feel like a hotel because there was no service. Felt more like staying in a really nice dorm room than staying at a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Love this hotel..

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I loved staying at this hotel. The room was extremely comfortable, the staff incredibly friendly and accommodating, and the restaurant served up delicious food. I loved that the staff were proud of the history of the hotel and did not miss a chance to share the background of its creation. They offer a car service to anywhere in the downtown core so staying a bit away isn't an inconvenience. I would happily stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from marble falls, tx

Just OK

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Outside sitting areas and inside sitting areas. Valets were quick.
The hotel itself is very nice - nice sitting areas inside and out, bar with happy hour, lovely restaurant. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was small with one small sink in the bedroom area and small bath area. We had no view. The room is much too small to rate 4 or more stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Best Hotel off Congress

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Service, facilities, location, and Ella1!
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Close to Congress Avenue, fine dining, and easy access to main thoroughfares.
Service, service, service. I'm a frequent business traveler to Austin and need to be close to downtown. I found this gem of a hotel that's close enough but far from the noise and bustle of downtown. The staff always pays attention to the details, and that's what makes this a prime spot for lodging.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels