Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Looking forward to our next visit!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This is a great hotel! The hotel was easy to find and easy to check-in. Since we were Expedia clients they upgraded us to a room with king size bed and a view of the courtyard and swimming pool. We loved everything about this hotel! Great contemporary art on the walls in the bedroom and all throughout the hotel. Bathroom was large and spacious. We slept like royalty and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We parked the car with valet and were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go or the hotel was willing to drop us off within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. The best part was that the hotel was a short walk from the UT campus so we walked back to the hotel after our campus tour. We look forward to staying there again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great historic Austin hotel!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Historic hotel in great downtown location
Cons: If possible..look into installing heater for pool to be able to swim at night.
Location: University of Texas, The Ransom Center and Several Museum within a 10 min walk. Nearby Botanical Gardens at Barton Springs is lovely.
Wonderful stay. Hotel staff were exceptional. Restaurant served great meals with great wait staff. Valet parking was helpful and convenient. Room service was great. Loved that the hotel was quiet even in the middle of the city. Truly loved my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Super place. Old school class with modern amenities!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Very Good will recommend to others who vist Austin TX
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to everything.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The rooms have a historical feel in a good way. Awesome pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Helpful staff, so friendly, beautiful room . Small, but cool pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel close to Government offices.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Its beauty and its historic character. All the staff is friendly and welcoming. Great service too and even better food!
Cons: Better service at the bar.
Location: This hotel has a cozy bar with great ambiance. Nice historic bars/barbeque in the area within walking distance.
From the moment you approach the hotel to the time you open the door, you travel to the past with all the modern comforts.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretentious and depressing

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing. In a service industry the manager's people skills are sub par to put it kindly.
Location: Better to stay downtown.
Manager was rude and insulting and beyond unwelcoming. Sad empty little restaurant. Not walking distance to downtown. Depression meets pretentious here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

A gentle and well curated hotel experience .

Posted Feb 10, 2017
A very calm and comfortable bolt hole in the busy capital of Texas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Wonderful, helpful staff, great facility. restaurant is very good and location is great. Thanks to all the staff, every question we asked, they had an answer, or found one. Superb.