Ratings based on 1,572 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Very nice hotel. Close enough to walk to the 6th Street area but far enough away to be quiet also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are glad to hear the positive feedback regarding your five star trip to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Secure place to stay in downtown Austin

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: I can tell it is well kept and it is in a good location.
Cons: Parking was pricey. I parked down the street in another garage that was $10 for special events, and the $10 was good until 10 a.m. the next morning.
Location: The Capitol is about a mile walk, and if you are into night life, 6th street is only four blocks away. I was visiting friends and attending a rally.
I usually don't stay at places this plush, but it was a bargain on Expedia and it was close to where I was going for the weekend. I was only there on Saturday for breakfast and to sleep (Friday night I was only there to eat and sleep), and it was a nice hotel and a pleasant stay. It's close to downtown, and being a few blocks away from 6th street I appreciated the quiet at night. If you like to walk to the Capitol and some other places downtown, it's a good place to stay. If you have a family, there's a fairly nice indoor pool and a workout room. Breakfast was great - a breakfast like that would have been at least $10-$15 outside of the hotel, and there were healthy choices like oatmeal (had two bowls), fruit, breads, and decaf coffee. Service was friendly. Had dinner there Friday night, and the menu was comparable to a casual dining restaurant, with similar prices. Actually, I think the turkey and bacon sandwich I had was better than the one at Chili's, and I would have paid about the same for a sandwich, chips, and a soda. Yes, I would stay there again in downtown Austin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
David, Thank you very much for staying with us, and for sharing the details of your stay. Our culture is to ensure that we exceed our guests expectations and truly personalize their visit. We appreciate you letting us know that we met if not exceeded your expectations with the price and value that we provided. We are committed to doing so consistently for all our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and make your future stays five stars!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel in downtown Austin

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Second time staying here, hotel staff are very friendly, conveniently located and much preferred to bigger hotel chains in Austin
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are glad to hear the positive feedback regarding your five star trip to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

bad management

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast
there was no house keeping the day after my stay, when I requested for why there was no house keeping at my room, they said if I hang the do not disturb sign, but I did not. and they said sorry , and I was very disappointed and not counted as a guest to the hotel whom has to be treated professionally and respectfully . So I asked for house keeping and then stayed at the lobby for 1.5 Hr. when got back to the room the room was not vacuumed. and there was no clean towels .I called again for the same reason ! so the very young unprofessional front desk lady said that : "sorry that you dislike that they did not clean the room". Wow, Me disliking has noting to do with Hotel policy and level of customer service and the the most important one doing their JOB RIGHT to begin with . what a bad experience , what a bad service, what a bad policy to have a few unprofessional staff to take care Hyatt Hotel guests. a few boys and girls that singing loud and being very silly and unprofessional at the front desk is not what I am coming back to Hyatt Hotel !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused you during your recent visit to Austin. We take service very seriously and that is a big reason why we are ranked in the Top 5% of all Hyatt Place hotels in the country. So to hear your experience was less than satisfying is certainly disappointing and not how we want to operate. We have a Manager on Duty 7 days a week 24 hours a day that is always willing to discuss any concerns and allow us the opportunity to follow up on any issues that may arise. Please feel free to give us a call anytime to discuss further. Thank you again for providing this feedback.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Great location with nice staff

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
The location was great, within walking distance of most of downtown Austin. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The room was nice, but the bathroom door is a sliding glass door, so not much privacy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jennifer, Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you and you enjoyed your stay and the location. We are proud of our staff for taking good care of you. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
3 out of 5
by Jake

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
To expensive for what you get. For a bill over $200 I would have thought the room would have been nicer. It looked like the standard room you would see at any other hotel or even motel for that matter. I guess I will just have to take my business somewhere else
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Jake, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We certainly regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope that you give us another try the next time you stay downtown Austin. All the best, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
5 out of 5
by Laury

All Needs Fulfilled

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is in a good location and was perfect for friends to gather for the Women's March. Quiet bar area for visiting!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Laury, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. I thank you for this great review and am glad to read of your wonderful experience. Please come back and visit us soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and rating!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, good location

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on CheapTickets
Hotel stay was great. The location in downtown Austin is close to all attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Acceptable hotel in downtown Austin

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean room, friendly staff and central location.
Cons: The hotel is becoming dated and needs upgrades, see wifi and television remote issues above.
We have stayed at the Hyatt Place in the past, but this time the hotel did not meet expectations. The wifi did not work on the floor, we called the front desk but they were not able to successfully resolve the issue over 3 days. The wifi worked fine in the lobby, but not the room. The remote for the TV did not work well, so we needed to use the controls on the side of the screen. While we could have contacted the front desk, who wants to have someone come up to the room when you are lying around in your PJs just relaxing a bit before falling asleep?