Ratings based on 1,487 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

You're On Your Own if There's Ever an Emergency

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness Location Excellent valet service
Cons: Putting the safety of the guests first Front desk friendliness/politeness Lowering the price on the buffet breakfast
On Sunday morning around 3:00 a.m., we were suddenly awakened by a disturbing announcement telling us to evacuate our rooms immediately and proceed to the nearest stairwell (we were on the 12th floor). My husband and I (both in our 60s) with our 11 year old granddaughter, grabbed our shoes and hotel key and hurried down 12 flights of stairs. Fortunately we were able to get down on our own, but we saw other elderly people and couples carrying sleeping children struggling to get down the stairs. When we got to the bottom and exited the hotel, we found ourselves at the back of the hotel on the lake shore. It was very dark, grassy, and there was NO hotel employee to meet us and direct us where to go to a safe place. We walked around the hotel to the front where we saw 2 fire engines. There were other hotel guests gathered outside. We were out there about 35 minutes. Finally, we saw other guests re-enter the hotel, and we did too. During this time or after, NO ONE from the hotel came out to tell us what was happening. There was a total lack of concern for the safety of the hotel guests and absolutely NO communication. The next morning, we got a half baked apology for the "disturbance" of the early morning. No explanation was given as to what happened. Not even the slightest compensation was given to the guests for the inconvenience. Due to safety reasons, I will not stay in this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

I liked the location. The staff was RUDE!!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Rude staff, great location. Nice rooms. Very fun town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Hyatt Regency, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I would like to deeply apologize that you had a negative experience with our staff. Please note that this is not the norm at Hyatt and matters like these are taken very seriously. Please feel free to provide specific feedback on the area that you received less than perfect service. We would like to investigate the situation. I hope that you had a safe and pleasant trip home. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano, Texas

Nice hotel off of Lake.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Checkin was easy and bell hop was quick. Clean room with a nice patio. The view was beautiful from the patio. The restaurant was good. There was a Starbucks in the hotel. The location was perfect to enjoy downtown Austin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Hyatt Regency, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience! It's wonderful to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Another visit to Austin

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Close to great restaurants and downtown, you can walk to Congress or Zilker, just steps from the bats and super views of the lake and downtown.
Cons: Breakfast buffet was disappointing -- eggs and other items were cold.
We've visited Austin many times and have stayed at the Hyatt Regency several times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Hyatt Regency, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience! I would like to deeply apologize that you weren't satisfied with our buffet. I have communicated your feedback with our Food and Beverage Director so that they can make improvements. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Round Rock, Texas

Perfect for 4th of July firework show!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Loved the hotel! Food, service, cleanliness, overall it was excellent! We'll be back next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Chanelle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It's wonderful to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for vacation and work

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We were there for 1 week. The location is great and the staff are very accommodating. They also made it easy to get some work done in their business office.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Chanelle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience! It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of Lady Bird Lake from our room

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Great location and great views of city
Cons: Ate in restaurant once for breakfast, not so good
Had a great time kayaking just outside of hotel. Pool was nice but a bit small for all the guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Chanelle, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I would like to deeply apologize that you weren't satisfied with our breakfast and size of our pool. We are always looking for opportunities to improve our products and services so we greatly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view!

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, fast elevators and good food in the restaurant/bar!
We love this hotel and choose it whenever we head to Austin! Lake views, jogging paths and exceptional food make this a must do for Austin visits!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Chanelle, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us! We hope to see you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Family get away.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Parking some times but really nothing was that bad.
Location: Well you can watch the bats that live right at the bridge by the hotel come out at night. So many places are close by to eat to even list.
Everyone loved the location. The view of the Lady Bird lake and Downtown Austin is wonderful. The staff was friendly and attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Chanelle, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your recent stay with us! I would like to deeply apologize that you encountered minor inconveniences with our parking. It's wonderful to hear that you had an enjoyable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted May 10, 2017
The Hyatt Regency Austin was a great place to stay while I attended a Conference. The staff were very friendly and helpful, everything seemed to be recently remodeled, and the room was spotless. It was a very pleasant stay. I even got an upgrade which was a nice surprise.