Ratings based on 498 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Super convenient

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Being on Congress Avenue, the hotel is a convenient walking distance to the Capitol, library, and many eateries and shops. Beds were firm, and there's a $40 a day valet only parking garage (as the only means of parking) that they don't tell you about until you arrive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown Austin. We apologize for not making you aware of the charge for valet parking and will be trying to find ways to ensure all guests booking with us are aware of the fee. We hope that the next time you are in town again you choose to stay with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Staff could not have been nicer. They were attentive, caring and provided an excellent experience overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know that our staff was attentive, caring and provided excellent experience for you. Next time you are in town we look forward to having you stay with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Classy hotel with Character

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: I like a hotel that has some "bones," meaning that the architecture, furnishings and history of the hotel helps create a better feel and experience.
Cons: Our room was next to the elevator and the dinging in the morning was annoying when we wanted to sleep in.
Location: On Congress St (things happening all up and down the street), one block from 6th Street (bars and music), and walking distance to the river and Capito
The staff was fantastic, the decor scrumptous, the room very comfortable (especially the fold out couch!), the location fantastic and the bathroom huge. The upstairs bar with balcony was great and had a great feel. The concirege went above and beyond to create a package of brochures and maps based on our interests. My son used the business office to get a college paper in on time. And last, but not least, the staff helped us get out the door (wake up call, schedule taxi) for our very early flight home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our the "bones" of our hotel, we strive to keep ourselves fresh while maintaining our historic atmosphere in the midst of all the new growth in Austin. We are also thrilled to know you enjoyed our fantastic staff, comfortable room, Stephen F. Bar and terrace, multiple amenities and our concierge service as well. We apologize that we did not have a room further from the elevator for you. It would be our pleasure to get you a room further away from the elevator the next time you stay with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice, but small rooms and tiny bathrooms

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The location of this hotel was great, rooms were clean and its restaurants were first class.
Cons: The rooms were a bit small and cramped, but the tiny bathrooms were difficult. I would not like to have an extended stay here, but overnight - it was fine.
Location: location great - in the center of Austin and convenient to all state government , the central business district and other venues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our great location, clean rooms, and first class restaurant. We apologize for the size of our Traditional rooms, they were not originally designed with modern amenities in mind but we have done our best to provide all the features you expect. We hope that the next time you are in town again you choose to stay with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, United States of America

This hotel is a gem!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: An easy walk to 6th street, but this is not a party hotel like others in the area. Easy access to the capital, Congress street bridge, and great food
Top notch service, high quality rooms and facilities. Great location, in the heart of Austin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Austin, top notch service, and high quality rooms and facilities. Next time you are in town we look forward to having you stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice place,Good Location but value isn't there.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Location. The Hotel is right downtown and an easy walk to 6th street.
Cons: Tiny room, High cost. Their was no view of anything except air conditioners on rooftops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We a pleased to know that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown Austin. We apologize for the small room size and not being able to give you a better view during your stay. It would be our pleasure if next time you are in town you stayed with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bad Experience

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Cons: The valet service needs to be improved.
A night stay at a hotel is an experiential product. The customer determines whether the product is good or bad based on his/her experience. My experience at the hotel was awful. The hotel was great but the valet service I received was terrible. I was shocked that this hotel would provide bad valet service. I will more than likely not be visiting again because of the valet service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by mike.crane@ihg.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. I can see your experience with our valet department was not up to our usual standard of service. I am sorry. We have already taken action from your initial report regarding the shift handle of your vehicle coming off to ensure this does not happen again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Round Top, TX

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location and overall comfort of our room. We were most impressed with the valet service. Very prompt and friendly staff.
My husband and I came to Austin to celebrate Parents Weekend at UT with our daughter. We had a deluxe king room facing Congress Ave. The room was lush, spacious and very comfortable. Each of the staff members were nice and professional. We truly enjoyed every minute of our two night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by mike.crane@ihg.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our service from the moment you arrived at the hotel starting with our impressive valet service, prompt friendly staff, and lush spacious room. We are proud to know that we could make every minute of your stay truly enjoyable. We hope to see you again the next time you come back to Austin.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Expensive view of a construction site

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: ACL is a 35 minute walk to Zilker Park. Congress Street has plenty of fun bars, restaurants and clubs. The Capitol and University of Texas are close.
The bed was comfortable and I was visiting ACL so I wasn't spending a whole lot of time in the room. But for the amount I was paying a night I'd expect better service. Front desk staff were young, friendly but inexperienced. On check-in, the lady asked the one next to her, should we move another customer to accommodate them. Great, I thought, an upgrade. No such luck. I was given a room on the south side overlooking a new building site. Open the curtains in the morning to construction workers and dirty windows. Not a huge deal (I suppose I should have asked for an immediate change) but they should have lower rates for lesser rooms. On check-out, I never said anything but I was also never asked "How was your stay?" That's weak. I had such a great time at ACL and enjoying all the other great things Austin has to offer so this wasn't going to spoil my trip. But there's way too much competition out there for a top hotel to provide such mediocre service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by mike.crane@ihg.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that our location in the heart of downtown Austin was conveniently located, made it much easier to get around during ACL, the bed was comfortable, and staff was friendly. We apologize that Expedia did not make us aware it was your 25th anniversary, unfortunately they do not pass along such comments to us when you book through them, and that you were given a room facing the construction. Downtown Austin has been growing at such a rapid pace it has become a challenge to find an area without construction going. We are sincerely sorry that we were given the opportunity to correct the issue while you were with us. We hope you enjoyed your time at ACL and that you might give us a second chance once the construction in Austin is completed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Great classic hotel in downtown Austin

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Great location, easy walk to many attractions. Beautiful 2nd floor patio with views of Congress Ave. and Statehouse. Classic amenities and service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by mike.crane@ihg.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at our historic downtown hotel and for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know that we could be part of your wonderful experience of Austin. It is our pleasure to provide you with first class amenities and service along with our famous 2nd floor terrace with a beautiful view of Congress Ave. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Austin and that you will stay with us again next time you visit Austin.