Ratings based on 1,671 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Don't stay here

Posted Apr 23, 2017
When I arrived, I was advised that the hotel was overbooked and there was no room for me. The front desk staff had said they had tried to call, but there was no call, (misstatement 1), Then I was told that I was put at a place that was 7 minutes away (more like 7 miles and 30 minutes(another misstatement). Then the place I was put, had no elevator, no assistance with my baggage, and an air conditioner which was virtually inoperative. There was no excuse for putting me in a dump. Then on one of the two nights I actually had a room, the internet was out. No sympathy or acknowledgement of a problem from the staff. The facility may be marginally adequate, but the staff (other than housekeeping) was just totally inadequate whether by training or otherwise. At the rates charged for the room, there was no excuse for the way; I was treated. Do not book this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Apr 22, 2017
That hotel is falling apart. Humid, smell, dirty and uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Christina, Thank you for staying with us and letting us know how your experience was. I do want to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the hotel and I would like to request if you can contact me about you challenges you had so I may address these concerns with more information. I want to correct these challenges you encountered and I don't want to lose your business because the hotel was falling apart. Rest assured I would like to invite you back in the near future as well because we will ensure that your next time with us will be much more enjoyable. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Thank you again for the review and we will use this as an opportunity to fix and correct these challenges. Jason H. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown, Austin charm

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location of the hotel was great
Our hotel room was very clean and decorated, cozy . My 2 grown daughters and I have not had a weekend together in a very long time. It was a fantastic time out on the town for food, drinks and good music. We found all that and more, There is something for everyone. Austin I'll be back, Joann Ross, Orlando, Florida
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and letting us know how your experience was. I am happy to hear that everything was good. We appreciate the compliments about the hotel and the staff; I will share this with my team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you. Jason H. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

If booking through expedia, read the fine print.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The wifi in my room was strong enough for me to do work related emails and downloads.
Cons: The breakfast station was not replenished the first morning of my stay. Waffles ran out and was not replenished the 10 mins I was there.
Overall, a comfortable stay. The only drawback was my own mistake. I overlooked the fine print and missed some fees that would be added later. There was no parking available unless you used the valet service. So with that $25 fee and the additional $11 a night parking fee plus the tips for valet every time they retrieved your car, it added up. I was here for a business trip, but if I was simply sightseeing, the location of this Hotel is great! Its walking distance to the Capitol and not far from convention center. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and I had no trouble with the wifi in my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Whistle, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I am happy to see that your overall stay while a guest in our hotel was good. Although we do charge $25.00 a night for valet parking, we are the most priced sensitive hotel in the downtown market while all our neighbor hotels charge excessively more in the $30s, $40s, and $50s per night. I will share this review with my team and we look forward to seeing you next time you return to Austin. Thank you again for the review. Jason H. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate,but walls are thin.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The location is a great walking distance from the capital, congress street, 6th street. Bring your own noise making, we were woken up both nights by either outside or inside guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us recently and we appreciate your business. We also appreciate the wonderful review you have given us. I am happy that your enjoyed your stay despite the minor inconveniences you encountered with the other inconsiderate guests that woke you up. I will share this with our security team and address the concern. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you next time you return. Jason H. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No recycling!

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Cons: A nice place to stay, and reasonably priced, but I won't stay in a La Quinta again until they start recycling. No recycling bins in the rooms or appar
A nice place to stay, and reasonably priced, but I won't stay in a La Quinta again until they start recycling. No recycling bins in the rooms or apparently anywhere on the premises, And there's not option to re-use towels to save energy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I do appreciate your feedback and I will share this with my team. We would like to invite you back when you return to Austin. Thank you again. Jason H. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Llano, TX

Convenient

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Location: Visit and tour the Texas Capital. UT is close by, too.
We were attending an event at the Texas State Capital and this was the most convenient and economical hotel available. It was comfortable and clean. I was not happy though to spend$25 to park my car, but I guess, tht comes with being in the big city. Parking, should be included in your fees and not an add on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Llano Nana, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I am happy to hear that the room was clean, location was perfect for your needs for UT, and that it was overall comfortable. For the parking we are the most priced sensitive hotel in the downtown market as our competitors charge excessively more in the $30s, $40s, and $50s per night. Rest assured I will share this with my team as we strive for 5 star experiences. We would also like to invite you back knowing this concerns have been addressed. Thank you again for the review and we will see you next time. Jason H. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HOUSTON

Nice hotel and easy access to downtown .

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Wonderful hotel , nice staff and easy/ walkable to downtown , l am highly recommend to stay on this hotel , not to expensive , not to cheap just perfect .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello Arturo, Thank you for the wonderful review you have given us. I am extremely pleased that my team was able to deliver on this 5 star experience and we appreciate you sharing you compliments with not only us, but the world as well. I will share this with my team and celebrate and we look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future. Thank you again. Jason H. General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: If you are looking for an affordable place to lay your head while you are touring, this is for you.
Cons: See "Experience" described above.
Location: Close to Texas State Capital, close to 6th Street, Rainey Street, and a nice walk to the Colorado River cycle/run/walk path
The hotel is well located to points of interest. The staff are helpful, courteous, and very professional. Once you've cleared reception, the first thing you notice are the hotel corridor floor carpets, which are extremely worn and/or dirty. Once in the room you are greeted with an overpowering aroma of whatever product was used by housekeeping to clean the room(s). The walls in the room are paper thin and you can hear entire conversations in neighboring rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for sharing your review and giving us feedback about your stay. This is not the experience we want from any of our guest especially when you have concerns with the cleanliness of the carpets and the odor that was strong upon entering the room. I would like to request if you can contact me at your earliest convenience so I may get some more information about your stay. I don't want to lose your business over this and I take full responsibility for the challenges. I wish to invite you back because this type of experience will not continue and rest assured will be corrected. I look forward to speaking to you soon and also to see you next time with a guaranteed better experience than this time around. Yours in hospitality, Jason H. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Never before

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: A lot. Needs a good contractor to clean it up and paint it and make it look presentable. Needs a manager to ensure maids do a good job.
Location: Not great unless you're just visiting the Capitol. Downtown amenities are too far to walk. Some undesirable city areas are very close.
The exterior is in bad shape. Regretted booking when we walked in lobby. Lobby and grounds in disrepair. Need a lot of basic attention like paint and stucco repair and general cleaning. The room surprising much cleaner than the building. However, the maid service only replaced dirtied towels. We did no need the sheets changed, but I've never stayed anywhere where they did not make up the beds even if you don't want them changed. Could not tell maids had been there until I looked in bath. For Pete's sake, I make my own bed at home everyday...can't believe housekeepers would not do that minimum tidy up job.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, I want to thank you for your recent stay with us and letting us know how your experience was. I do want to apologize for the unpleasantness from the location, the age of the building, and the cleanliness of the housekeeping team. I take full responsibility for this and I will get this corrected immediately. I don't want to lose your business over this and rest assured it will be corrected. The buck stops with my and I am ultimately responsible. Please contact me should you have any further questions. Thank you. Jason H. General Manager