Ratings based on 1,632 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Paper thin walls, get ready to hear everyone

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The hotel is in a good location of Austin, it's within walking distance to 6th Street and the Capitol building is right around the corner. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The valet guys are also very quick and efficient at moving the cars around. But...this hotel's walls are so thin! Everytime someone went by with a luggage bag on wheels it sounded like a thunderstorm was right around the corner. You can also hear everyone's conversation outside. That includes every drunk moron coming home at 2am. Also the shower head is only equipped for someone who is 5ft tall to comfortably stand under it, so any guy is going to have to hunch over. There is also no mini fridge in the rooms, so don't bring back anything you need to keep cold. Like I said the staff was great, but the hotel is just poorly constructed. I would not recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location for Texas Capitol visit. That's all

Posted Feb 18, 2017
if you want a bed close to Texas Capitol, this place is most reasonable available but high daily parking fee somewhat cuts into that price advantage. If that location isn't essential or cost is less a concern, book elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for recently staying with us and letting us know how your experience was. I do want to apologize that the only positive thing was the location. I would like to request if you can contact me so I may inquire about your other challenges you have encountered and get those addressed. As for the valet parking, we are the most priced sensitive hotel in the downtown market as all of our neighbor hotels charge excessively more in the $30s, $40s, and even $50s. I don't want to lose your business and I look forward to speaking with you about the other challenges you encountered. I also wish to invite you back knowing our parking is the best to offer in town and knowing your stay at the hotel will be much more enjoyable. Thank you. Jason H. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not feel safe. Outside doors in a busy city

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Fabulous staff.
Location: Renovation. Interior corridors.
Staff were great. Room was clean. Property sorely in need of update/renovation. Don't like outside doors. Noisy !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and letting us know how your experience was. I am pleased to hear that the staff was wonderful, however, I do want to apologize that we were not the kind of hotel you were wanting from an interior standpoint. Although half of our rooms are interior and the other half are exterior, we don't want to lose your business and I wish to invite you back next time with a request for interior room to accommodate your needs better. I will work with my staff on this to better accommodate those requests in the future. Thank you again for the review and we will see you next time. Jason H. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Great location downtown for a reasonable price

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Cons: Add mini refrigerators.
Walk to the Capitol and 5 blocks to 6th street. You will need the exercise. What more do you want. Valet parking is $25 per day, same as the downtown lots and garages for 24 hours. OK breakfast and pool if you have time. No mini fridges in rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello David, Thank you for the recent business you gave us and we appreciate the feedback about your stay. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay and I will share this with my team. Although this was not a 5 star rating, I will share this with my team as we strive to exceed expectations. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again in the near future should you return to the downtown Austin area. Thank you again for the review. Jason H. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Murrieta, CA.

Only hotel available down town

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Run down and old, could use a hefty renovation! No soap or shampoo in my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by Eric A., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback both positive and negative as we are continuously working to improve the guest experience. I want to apologize for the lack and soap and shampoo in your room. It is La Quinta's standard to provide our guests with the necessary amenities needed to have a seamless stay and we have fallen short on this standard. I will be sure to address this with the housekeeping staff so something like this will not happen again in the future and if your travel needs should bring you back to the Austin area I hope you choose to stay with us again knowing your concerns have been addressed. Yours in Hospitality, Eric Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hanover MA

nice hotel within walking distance to everything

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: When we noticed there was no fridge in the room the front desk moved us to a room that had one.
Location: The Location was handy to everything there is to do in Austin.
We enjoyed our stay at La Quinta. The staff was very nice and the Breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know how your stay was. We appreciate the kind words that you have shared and I will celebrate this review with my team. I am happy that we were able to accommodate you needs with a fridge and the location of the hotel as well. We strive hard each and every day to deliver on those great experiences and I am glad that we were able to do another one. We appreciate your business and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Jason H. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Outdated somewhat. Bath stayed clogged. To noisy. Night staff very good, day staff not so much. You have to pay for parking. To high price for what you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I do want to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and I will address these concerns with my engineering team about the bathtub clogged. I do also want to apologize for the poor service you referenced with my team during the day. I don't want to lose your business over this and I wish to invite you back knowing we have corrected these challenges. Thank you again for the review and we will see you next time. Jason H. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Completely overpriced!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
This is Motel 6 at the Omni price! A run down hotel with no amenities. If the price was hundreds less, then I'd take a the hotel for a quick nite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I do want to apologize that our hotel was not what you were looking for price range. Although we are an older hotel, we are well maintained and clean. We are one of the most priced sensitive hotels in the downtown Austin market which drives a lot of demand such as Times Square in New York, however, you did not get the experience you were expect and I apologize for that. I will share this review with my team and we wish to invite you back knowing that your stay next time will be more enjoyable. Thank you again for the review and we will see you next time. Regards, Jason H. General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near downtown scene

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The staff does not acknowledge you. When the party goers return, they are extremely loud in the hallways with no security to tell them to behave differently. There is a dumpster that slams each morning at 5am. The maid service is par. I would never stay here again. Or recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and the extremely unpleasant stay you had. I will address these service issues with the team and the noise concerns with our security team. I don't want to lose your business or your recommendation to others as this is not how we operate a hotel. We dropped the ball and I take full ownership of that as the General Manager of the hotel. I would like to invite you back knowing these challenges will get addressed and fixed. We look forward to seeing you again next time you return to Austin. Thank you again for the review. Jason H. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

2 blocks from the capitol!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
I was in Austin for the Women's March. This was a great location to everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Greetings Hollie, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. We appreciate your business and the wonderful compliments you shared with us. This will put a smile on my team's face knowing that we have delivered on that experience we want our guests to have. Thank you again for the review and we will see you next time you return to Austin. Jason H. General Manager