Ratings based on 869 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Not a very safe location ,too close to IH 35 and heavy street traffic. Hotel very used and in need of an update
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing La Quinta during your visit to Austin. I was disappointed to read that you hand less then a great experience. I will be sharing your feedback with the team in hopes of making the necessary changes needed to avoid a similar situation in the future. We appreciate your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not what I was expecting from a La Quinta

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The young lady at the front desk was incredibly polite.
Cons: It is in desperate need of updating. Also, the cleaning personnel need to do a better job in the bathrooms.
I usually choose La Quinta because they are consistently low priced but have good quality accommodations. This one did not. Everything was old and worn down, and the hallway and room were not very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the La Quinta Inn Austin, Oltorf. I was happy to hear you felt our front desk personnel was polite but disheartened to read the over perception of the hotel. I will be addressing your concerns with my housekeeping team in hopes of another guest having a similar experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope should your travels bring you back to Austin you consider La Quinta Oltorf.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay.

Posted May 4, 2017
Staff was extremely friendly & helpful! The room was clean. The condition of the bathroom was old , worn & in need of repair & replacement. The toilet seat had black marks in it from some kind of tool, the handle was falling apart , there was a huge chip out of the tub about the size of a silver dollar. The location was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn Austin Oltorf. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I will be addressing your concerns with the maintenance staff to ensure this areas given more attention to detail as this is not the experience we would like our guest having. Again, thank you for letting us know your experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay in again.

Posted May 2, 2017
The shower barely worked and the toilet constantly ran. Smelled of sewage the first day. The beds are smaller than I anticipated.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Olga M., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We regret the issues you experienced during your stay. We have shared your comments with our staff. Thank you once again and we hope you have a wonderful day
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Not good review

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Property old and nasty. Non-smoking room had many cigarette burns on carpet. Had to beg for room cleaning at 4:00 pm. Finally just accepted clean towels. Expected much more for the money. Poor value...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Olga M., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We sincerely regret the issues you had with us during your stay. We will share your comments with our housekeeping staff so that we may be better able to serve our guests. Thank you once again Tom and we hope you have a wonderful day. Olga M. Assistant General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Mar 29, 2017
When I arrived at the hotel at 10:30 at night I had to wait 15 minutes for somebody to show up at the front desk in order to be checked in. Then they had to charge my credit card $75 for incidentals in case I smoked in my room. That on top of that they didn't have my room offered me a smoking room which is a non-smoker I Did not want so they ended up putting me into a room with two beds. The room was filthy and full of flies and fruit flies it was gross.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Olga M., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We regret any inconvenience we may have caused you during your stay. We will share these comments with our staff in order to help improve ourselves. Thank you once again and we hope to see you in your future travels. Olga M. Assistant General Manager Lq0522gm@LQReviews.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Del Rio, Texas

Close to airport and we got a pretty big room.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We got a pretty big room with a comfy bed and space. No issues and room was clean!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dated facility

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Very out dated facilities. Both exterior and interior of this location are old and wore down. No amendities such as Jacuzzi or fitness center and room only come with a frige and microwave for an upgraded few. Some of our group members found dead bugs in bed and showers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
We are disappointed to learn that our service fell short of exceeding your lodging expectations. Your feedback is immensely important to us. We appreciate your candor. It is our sincerest hope that you allow us another opportunity to provide you a memorable guest experience should your travels bring you back to the area. Respectfully, LQ Customer Care
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just ok

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Sort of clean- near the freeway, which was convenient, but dirty hallway to my room, and the curtains were dirty. Bathroom smelled funny, and everytime I walked out, someone was smoking
2 out of 5
by adelina

Not clean, but if you must...

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
This place isn't clean. It good for a shower and sleep, the showers are dirty (lay a towel down in the shower before showering); I didn't get bit by any bed bugs so that was good. Stayed one night, don't really recommend if you are interested in lounging and being comfortable, paid 106 for a night...and will look around next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Cleanliness is an important standard of service at LaQuinta. Please accept our sincerest apology for not meeting your or our own expectations during your visit. Your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping team to ensure this is not a recurrence. We appreciate your business and vow to serve you much better in the future.