Ratings based on 1,254 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful as always

Posted May 22, 2017
Will stay here again and again. The entire staff is what makes this property the best in Austin.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Nice breakfast and wifi.
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms.
Location: Easy access to freeway. Many food locations in the area.
The room had not been cleaned well because somebody had left things behind that were still in the room. When we stayed there a couple of years ago they were doing renovations and it still looked like they needed to do more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

BED BUGS!! Do not stay here!!

Posted May 16, 2017
BED BUGS galore!! NEVER STAY HERE. The most horrible experience I've ever had. I booked it for 2 nights (couldnt' get anything in town.) Checked out the next day, because the hotel seemed very unsafe. Dirty and smelly. It looks like it's abandoned from the exterior. Sketchy people, I didn't want to park at night. BUT the clencher - BED BUGS. It's been a month now. Still cannot wear skirts because I have at least 100 bites all over my legs, mid drift, arms, and neck. Besides being embarrasing because it's so visible, I am truly traumatized. Did not get a full refund and the Manager never returned my phone calls. Their customer service is a large helping of bed bugs that you get to experience in a seedy hotel run by the worst management. Sleep here at your own risk!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good except for roaches in the refrigerator!!!!

Posted May 15, 2017
Everything was good except for the roaches! Staff was good decent breakfast room comfortable but dead roaches in the refrigerator!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to downtown Austin.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Love the breakfast!
Only stayed one night, but was impressed for the price, how clean the room was, very comfortable. Nice breakfast in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, close to downtown Austin n freeway

Posted May 13, 2017
It is 3 minutes away from the freeway (I-35). They have great breakfast. It's quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PHX, AZ

Value ok, 3 stars (or a bit less) is about right

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Value
Cons: Those making reservations should not assume that this is a $150 experience for only $50. You are getting what you pay for.
For the price this hotel is a fair value. But to rate to entire experience as more than 3 stars would be deceptive. Older facility near the freeway. Façade is currently being upgraded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Excellent value, clean and well managed hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Greatly enjoyed my stay at the Orangewood Inn. Arrived late in the evening and the clerk was pleasant and accomodating. Room had been recently updated and was clean, modern and well furbished. Remarkable value. Will be my go to choice from now on Highly recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Not sure why it's described as "midtown".

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: I liked its reasonable rates.
Location: Located more toward the northeast side of the city.
The hotel was generally pleasant. The staff was courteous and the housekeeping was great. My only problem was that I was farther away from the state capitol than I anticipated and, not knowing Austin at the time, I largely made my hotel choice based on the "midtown" description (and I really should've googled the street address). Several friends asked me why I was staying in a "bad neighborhood". I didn't perceive Orangewood's neighborhood as bad (it was quiet and pleasant).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 5, 2017
This hotel is a hidden gem located at the heart of Austin. The staff are wonderful when you ask for anything. Even when they don't have the exact answer, they'll always point you in the right direction.