Ratings based on 1,963 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Use your dead bolt!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Central location to things to do in the city.
Cons: Low ceiling and little to no ventilation in the bath.
Location: Location is very good. Was given a room on the lake side which offered a nice view of the lake & bridge.
With the exception of the day we arrived, we had a nice stay. However, the day we arrived scared us! We had a king suite and were resting in bed, when I thought I heard something. Two men had entered our room using their room key. One was in the living area the other noticed us after using the bath. They became angry that we were in their room. We explained that we had recently checked in and showed them our paper work. It appears the hotel did not change the key code from the people that had used the room before us. We all went to the front desk. The front desk confirmed it was our room, so we returned to it. They returned to the room shortly after with two hotel employees. They looked in the safe and left. I went back to the front desk to express my concern. The men were still there and very angry. The hotel stated they didn't have any other rooms to offer us. I asked if the door lock could be re-keyed with a new code which they said they did and re-handed me the room keys. From that point forward, the dead bolt was used when in the room!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from farnham, uk

noisy renovations

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Work noise, drilling and banging at 830 in the morning. Surly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Radisson Austin Downtown, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for the construction noise, Sarah. We are replacing our windows in order to mitigate interior traffic noise. All work is scheduled 9-6 Monday-Friday and 11-7 on Saturdays, when the majority of our guests are out of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Convention Center --- That's about it

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Location (proximity to the convention center) Wifi worked
Cons: The Business Center Breakfast The pillows The outdated bathrooms
I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the convention center. The hotel is conveniently located in the sense that it is a 2 minute walk to the convention center. During my stay, I needed to use the business center. I was travelling with my tablet and had to do minor editing of a word document. Neither of the two computers would connect to the internet at first. I called in for help. The person who came to help and I worked on the computers a bit, trying to install updates and restart the computers. Finally we managed to get online. However, the computer kept giving error messages which indicated that the Microsoft word program installed on the computers were unlicensed. It would not allow me to edit my document even when I managed to open it. When I relayed the information to the front desk, the receptionist shrugged and said he would pass it on. He almost seemed dismayed that I had a problem. I could go on and on: The pillow were lumpy which I thought indicated decades of wear, the bathroom was cleaned everyday, but it was so old no amount of cleaning would make it seem clean. Be careful about the free breakfast! The spread includes continental and hot breakfast. Both are miserly. And you are charged for hot breakfast. It says so in a tiny sign right where you enter the restaurant. If you miss it, you pay. We did and we did not even object, because we don't look for free rides. However, that didn't take away the disappointment of being scammed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Radisson Austin Downtown, Hotel Management
We're very sorry about the negative experience that you had at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the business center malfunction and uncomfortable pillow. We're sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Under construction

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Hotel is under construction and constant banging and sawing makes it unpleasant. The room was not serviced until 6pm one day Expedia should have warned prior to booking as this construction had been going on for months. Room is shabby. Many other options in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Radisson Austin Downtown , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you were not sufficiently made aware of our current renovations. We are replacing our windows in order to mitigate interior traffic noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Nice digs close to the river...

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Nice room, really comfy sleep number beds.
Location: Close to downtown and the river....
Great staff, attentive service, room service was totally acceptable and view of the river was a bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Radisson Austin Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Murph. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with our location, rooms, Sleep number Beds, and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Great location. Nice hotel. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Radisson Austin Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be our guest again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen, Denmark

Good location next to the river

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Average hotel, but the complementary breakfast is really poor - Airplanes make a more varied breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Radisson Austin Downtown , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry you were disappointed with our complimentary breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The lobby is nice but after that it's disappointing. The pool was closed and their was very loud construction going on from 8-5 daily. Notification about this was not mentioned till you got into your room and there was a note on the table. Many other great hotels in Austin to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Radisson Austin Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. Please accept our apologies for the disruptions our construction caused your. We are in the process of replacing our windows in order to mitigate interior traffic noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the staff!!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Renovations caused a terrible smell in the room but the staff did everything to make our stay enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Radisson Austin Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and received great service from our staff. Please accept our apologies for the odor caused by the caulk used in our current window replacement. We are doing what we can to mitigate the odor. We hope you'll visit us again next time you're in Austin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Great hotel, close to everything. Just wish we knew there would loud noise from the window replacement project and that the pool would be closed during the day because of it. Specifically picked the hotel because it had a pool. (That we couldn't use at the time.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Radisson Austin Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're sorry our renovations negatively impacted your stay. Please accept our apologies.