Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Room was small but fine for 2 people. Very friendly staff and breakfast was very good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Andy Z., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We’re thrilled to hear you had such an overall great stay with us here at The Residence Inn Downtown and that you enjoyed not only our friendly staff but also the good food. We look forward to when you return to Austin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Downtown

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The hotel room was of good value, had a small kitchen and dining area, had cable and was within walking distance to many local spots. There seemed to be a large homeless population downtown and the hotel is a little close to a shelter, but otherwise fine. The bathroom could have been cleaner or refreshed a little more recently, but also fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Andy Zinni, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We know that you have many lodging options and we are thrilled you chose us. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Marriott always takes care of the guest

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Outstanding
Location: Metrolink train steps away as well as curbside bikes for rent with hike and bike trail also steps away. 5 Royal Blue Grocery locations
I arrived in the early a.m. off the Amtrak train where I had slept horribly. I didn't ask to check in. I just needed a place to check my bag, and not only did they check me in, but they also upgraded my room, and informed me I still had time for a free Sunday Brunch. Marriott always does it better!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Andy Zinni, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the kind words about the staff and our facilities. My team truly cares about helping create a memorable time here in Austin. They make all the difference in your stay. Friendly, helpful, and eager to please. I am proud to have such a great team. I am delighted to hear of your great stay. We look forward to seeing you on a return trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite a nice hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Would recommend this place to a friend. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable. Just be aware that the parking is overpriced. We chose to park somewhere cheaper. The breakfast was nice with lots of options.
2 out of 5
by Christina

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Heater blowing cold air. Sent someone to check and said heating element gets over heated and turns off. Too tired to switch rooms so I waited til next day to transfer. Inconvenience. Not offered any type of discount for it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
A/C was broken on arrival for me and my two other friends staying here, but was fixed quickly. I had to call every morning to ask for more shampoo/conditioner, as they only left one of each after cleaning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from AUBURN, United States of America

Very nice hotel great location

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Big rooms , more like small suites. Kitchen fold out couch, eating area, all the amenities. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was top notch even left a towel animal like a cruise ship. Great location. Walk-able to lots of fun. Oh, the breakfast buffet is fantastic also!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A few (small) mistakes greatly impacted my stay

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
We had ordered a three-man room, but they had forgotten to do the sofa bed (which was really uncomfortable) for the third person when we first got there. After asking for bedding once, we only got a blanket. After asking again, we finally got the bedding that was needed, but we had to do the bed ourselves as they could not for some reason. After the unfortunate start, everything proceeded on well. The room was clean and quiet, and it had everything we needed. The location was really, really good. Then at our last night, someone delivered a bill to our room at three in the morning... The bill was for parking, but seeing we did not bring a car, we promptly complained. The staff apologised and let us know that we of course would not be charged, but upon check out the next morning, we quickly discovered that they had of course charged us anyway. Once again, we complained, and they refunded the amount charged - however, they did this in a worse exchange rate than I had paid, so I ended up losing money anyways; not a lot, but situations like this are still really annoying. Our short stay was close to being perfect, but small (and honestly stupid) mistakes made us leave kind of annoyed. In other words: This is a perfectly fine hotel, but the experience could have been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Ideal location central Austin

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, size of apartment
Cons: Outside window cleaning, eggs at breakfast, I do not know why but scrambled eggs were not good, snady like as if they were using powdered eggs.
Location: Hit 6th street at night for live music and comedy show, a lot of fun. Try a breakfast at Driskill Hotel, nice coffee room.
Location is perfect, close to restaurents, Capitol and nightlife. Also close to all main highways enable quick exit if you want to visit out of town location. Hôtel itself is very clean and bed comfortable. Two negative things to note, outside window really needs to be cleaned and bed while indicated as a Queen was more a large double. Other than this, perfect 5 day vacation! We had a corner appartment, perfect view on 2 sides!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels