Ratings based on 2,747 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LC Tx

Good downtown hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Used this hotel for a night out in Austin. Easy walking distance to 6th street and the Capitol. Nice place for breakfast just up the street at the Blue Dahlia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Angelo, Texas

Great location and newly renovated.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel. Great location.
Cons: Room comfort and elevators need to be working.
Location: Perfect location right on 35 and 11th. Easy access to lots of restaurants and bars and the Capitol. Town lake is closeby as well as Rainey St.
It could've been a great stay being in such a great location, but the hotel has a few glitches. Our room was not completely stocked with towels. No wash cloths at all, only 1 hand towel and 2 bath towels. The pillows were very lumpy and uncomfortable. Also, only two of the three elevators were working. We may try it again and hope somethings are improved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by SAUGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed our great locations, but we’re very sorry you didn’t enjoy your overall stay. We apologize for the inconveniences you were caused as a result of our escalator being down: our Engineering team has since rectified the issue. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Warm Regards, SAUGuestRelations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: i love the new renovations with the bar downstairs .....the entire hotel is fresh, modern and inviting. loved the hot tub and swimming pools.
Cons: Ordered a late nite bread pudding and cheesecake and they had run out of both. Sad. So ordered the Pecan Chunk dessert and it was delicious, awesome!
great experience, Front desk very friendly, tasty breakfast in restaurant with healthy menu choices. All parking was discounted for the summer, and very quick taxi arrival. Self parking was a breeze. Bed was perfectly firm and very quiet night for fabulous sleep. i requested an upgrade upon my arrival for a King bed, no problem .....there was one available for me. Happy Happy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Tired property near the Capitol

Posted Jul 22, 2016
This hotel is just a bit tired. The room was not very comfortable. I could hear my neighbor's entire conversation to her boyfriend/husband, which was really uncomfortable (I finally left the room). Additionally, in a two-night stay, housekeeping neglected to clean my room, from which I was not in for twelve hours that day. I mentioned it, and the staff just said that they would make sure to let housekeeping know. How this might have been able help me at this point, I have no idea. Anyway, it is less expensive than area hotels like the W or Intercontinental, but next time I spend the extra amount.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by SAUGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Dear Andy, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent hotel stay. We are so sorry to hear that your room was not cleaned during your stay. We have shared your valuable feedback with our Housekeeping team for their review and follow up. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to gain your trust and show you the outstanding service we normally provide. Warm Regards, SAUGuestRelations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Perfect location Great service . Everything was clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plano Tx

Urine Soaked Mattress

Posted Jun 30, 2016
We were digusted to find a fresh urine mess that had soaked itself into the mattress. When we first checked into the room, we smelled something foul. My wife called housekeeping to come change the linens...they came up 30 minutes later to change the sheets. Later that afternoon, my wife kept smelling something foul. We searched the room and finally tore off the sheets and mattress pad to find the urine...fresh! We called down to front desk and demanded to be moved; again the staff dragged their feet and it took some time to get a bellman up to move us. What was most disappointing was the adjustment of our bill. IMO, the room should have been comped 100% including all fees, taxes, and parking. The staff blamed it on Expedia and could only issue a partial credit to my credit card. The hotel lobby is beautiful but the rooms are so dated. This place seems to be in some sort of transition. We wont be back ever again...stay away folks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by SAUGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Dear Coach, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very concerned about your comments as this completely unacceptable and highly unusual. We have followed up with our Housekeeping and Front Office leadership so they may provide the proper training to ensure this type of thing does not happen again. We sincerely apologize and do hope we are able to host you again if you are ever in Austin again. Warm Regards, SAUGuestRelations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Very good hotel. Close to 6th street and its entertainment, and the Capitol area. Valet parking a little expensive. Breakfast should be included though. Very nice and comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice staff, near capital

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, clean, and quiet
Cons: Queen beds instead of double size.
Location: Capital is close by plus the Teacher Retirement building is across the street.
I just wish there were queen size beds in the double rooms. Double beds are awfully small.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to campus

Posted Jun 23, 2016
I did not like the fact that they charged for wifi. For the one hour a day that I needed wifi, it should have been complementary.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Nice hotel in downtown Austin; cool bar!

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Enjoyed the downtown location - hotel has recently been renovated with a nice bar and restaurant. Indoor pool was nice for a morning swim. Nice rooms - good rate - will stay there again!