Ratings based on 3,066 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place near 6th street

Posted May 25, 2017
Felt like a luxury hotel. Loved the free breakfast and complimentary snacks during the day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city center

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The valet "Michael", went above and beyond to make what had been a very stressful day of long time on the road driving and hotel search better!
Cons: Cleanliness: When we entered the room for the first time, there was hair on one of the pillows.
Location: The location was central to some activities we had planned.
My daughter, Mother and I had a long drive to Texas from our hometown in Mississippi, we arrived at a hotel we had booked online prior to arriving in Texas, not knowing anything about the town. Upon arrival to said hotel, it was not in the location we needed to be and had to cancel that reservation. We then searched on line and drove around more to find another hotel. We had plans that started at 7:00 pm for Mother's Day. It was now after 6:00 We were very tired, stressed out and nearing panic as most hotels were way out of our budget and/or sold out! The staff at the Sheraton recognized my distress and made our stay less stressful! The valet, Michael went above and beyond to help ease my stress and panic. Unfortunately we were only able to stay at the Sheraton for one night, we needed multiple nights, but the rates went up the next night by several hundred dollars and we could not afford to stay for the duration of our trip, so we were once again hotel searching...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business stay

Posted May 18, 2017
I probably should have paid more attention to the amenities. Wifi is extra, breakfast is extra, and no shuttle service. Isn't very convenient when you are on a business trip. The rooms were fairly small but very clean. I had a nice view except that all the windows were very dirty. Not a bad place but next time I am in Austin for business I will definitely stay somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Stunning hotel and friendly staff

Posted May 9, 2017
Incredibly comfortable beds, pillows, and soft sheets. At the check in, Ken was excellent at giving my dad and I directions, and offering tips about local attractions. The rooms were clean, and modern. The bed, pillows, and sheets were very soft and comfortable. Had late dinner downstairs at the hotel, it was tasty, and the bartender and waitress were very kind and attentive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Ok value in an expensive area.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Staff were good.
Location: A bit off the beaten path - have to walk through a bit of seediness to get anywhere - but walkable to the Strip, Capital, UT, and water.
A bit off the beaten path, but OK if you don't mind walking (which is more tolerable in early May when we were there). 10 min from 6th St strip, 15 from Capital Building, 25 from Congress St Bridge for bat viewing. Couldn't find our Expedia reservation when we arrived - took an hour to straighten that out - but comp'd us some food in the lounge during the wait and didn't charge us for either of parking or Internet. Earplugs by the bedside were a clue to noise from outdoor party venues nearby - would have been needed for any early-to-bed types. Good workout facilities and pool set-up. Easy access to/from the freeway. Overall, decent value in what is an expensive downtown for accommodations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, CO

Some mishaps - but a great location & comfortable

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Comfortable and clean beds.
Cons: Staff that are more accommodating.
Location: We toured the Harry Ransom museum at the University of Texas and really enjoyed it. The bat-viewing cruise was also wonderful!
We arrived at the hotel from the airport at check-in time (3pm) and were told that no rooms were ready. We had a very packed schedule, so I wish we had been notified of this beforehand rather than wasting the time it took to get to the hotel. They predicted a room would be ready in an hour, so we hopped in a cab to head downtown. Only 15 minutes later, we got a call that our room was ready, so we got into another cab and reversed back to the hotel. We only had about 48 hours to enjoy Austin so this inconvenience was a bummer. After some prodding, the concierge was able to offer me a $25 room credit for the inconvenience, but when I checked out it appeared that the credit was never applied. To make matters worse, the concierge blamed Housekeeping for the rooms not being ready. She actually said something like, "Well it's because of housekeeping, it isn't really our fault." The room itself was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom could have used a remodel but was adequate. The hot tub and indoor/outdoor pool were a nice addition. I just think the hotel staff needs to work on their people skills!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted May 2, 2017
Rooms were nit ready. Given was roombut was occupied!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a friendly staff and very good fac

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Workout area, pool and staff
Cons: The hallways were a little dark and could be more appealing
Location: Short walk to Congress Street and there are restaurants and bars around the corner.
Stayed during the week for some business meetings. Staff was very friendly and the workout and pool facilities were in great shape. The beds were comfortable and room service was actually quite good. The hallways are a little on the dark side and could use some updating but that was a minor drawback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Good Location but don't be misled

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The location was good and the room was comfortable.
My only gripe is that we paid extra for the "club room" package which, among other things, was supposed to include hors d'oeuvres and free drinks. At check-in, I was told they would send up a voucher for the free drinks. None arrived. I spoke to a supervisor at the desk who apologized and assured me that I would receive the voucher for the next night. None arrived. I called the front desk the next afternoon and was first told that vouchers would be sent up. I then received a call back from a manager who advised that there were no vouchers and there was never free wine or beer. The free "drinks" were sodas or juices. My understanding from Expedia was that the wine and beer were to be included. They never were.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Congress visit

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly people
Cons: Cleaning at the common bathrooms
Location: Great, restaurants, UT stadium, congress etc...
Visiting Austin with my family.... Mom, sisters, brothers in law, nices and nephews. Location was great to walking places near by. Congress, 6th street restaurants etccc