Ratings based on 1,843 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Excellent!!! Every thing was wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your kind Driskill Review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Driskill!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Sound insulation for room beside elevator
Location: Shopping, dining, ,bar scene
Great Location Walking to restaurants, the bar scene, shopping Great bar in the Hotel with live music. Nice place for a drink One very poor experience was the room. They have renovated and forgot to put in sound insulation between our bedroom and the elevator. Very loud noise constantly. We should have complained but we got in so late on a flight we just didn't Make sure your room is no where near an elevator
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with fellow travelers. We are so grateful you chose to stay with us and that you took the time to share your thoughts. Please accept our deepest apologies for the excessive noise you experienced from the elevator while you stayed with us. We will share your words with our engineering team so they may know and look into this to avoid it in the future. Our goal is to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable and tranquil stay and are very disappointed we fell short of this with you. We will share your thoughts with our leadership team for their review. We hope you will return for another stay in the future so we may provide you with a positively unforgettable stay from arrival to departure. It would be our pleasure to have you with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful, elegant, historic hotel near capital.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
This is a beautiful place to stay. First class elegance, service, and comfort. Short walk to the Texas capital building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughtful review with fellow travelers. We are delighted to hear of your experience and appreciate your kind words. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to The Driskill again, soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great Downtown Hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Great energy throughout hotel. In room coffee maker nice. White noise machine provided but our room was quiet.
Cons: This is just a personal preference, but the sheets could have been a little better quality (don't like sateen sheets). More coffee for coffee maker.
Location: Great location for visiting the Capitol and 6th Street.
Our stay was great. Loved the bar. The rooms and halls are lovely. We stayed in a Petite Queen which was very well appointed. We had everything we needed. The room was very quiet even though the hotel is right on 6th Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Chelsi C., Hotel Management
Hello & thank you for sharing your kind words about The Driskill on Expedia! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed every part of your stay - from the newly revitalized guestrooms to the legendary Driskill Bar and the hotel's historic halls. We appreciate your feedback regarding your preferences & will share them with our team. We hope to welcome you back to The Driskill again. It would be our pleasure to have you with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017
High quality hotel would definitely go back. Wonderful stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Chelsi C., Hotel Management
Hello & thank you for sharing your feedback on Expedia! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience for other travelers. We hope to welcome you back to The Driskill in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Driscoll Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Great location, great lobby, great bar, and very good spot to have a nice breakfast or lunch. In this regard, the Driskill bears the Four Seasons.
Cons: Elevators in the tower are way too slow. Valet parking was a bit of a mess. Seems to need a more organized system and structure.
Location: Excellent. Perfect location for many great restaurants and Capitol is a reasonable walk.
Except for a few complaints that could easily be addressed, this hotel seems to be a better alternative, at a much better price, than the Four Seasons.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Chelsi C., Hotel Management
Hello & thank you for your kind review on Expedia! It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your experiences in several areas of the hotel - from our 1886 Cafe & Bakery, to the legendary Driskill Bar and in our public spaces. On behalf of our management team, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences at valet & in our elevators. I will share your thoughts with our engineering & arrival teams so we may avoid issues in the future. We are grateful for your choice in staying with The Driskill & hope to welcome you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Old time charm with tons of character.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location, modern rooms and charming decor.
Cons: Speed of elevator.
Location: Great for visiting UT students. Concert venues within walking distance.
Great location. Charming yet modern. Friendly staff. Breakfast was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for sharing your thoughts with fellow travelers! We are so grateful you chose to stay at The Driskill and that you enjoyed the hotel from the location, to the guestrooms, to the decor and beyond! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Driskill!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Downtown Austin

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Great staff, comfortable bed, terrific common spaces, bar food in restaurant (hangover burger!)
Cons: Elevators were a little sketchy
Location: Walk, eat and drink on 6th St. take a tour of the Capital
Awesome hotel with lots of character, charm and creature comforts. As grand as it is it feels comfortable from the moment you walk in. The location couldn't be better: the bars and music of 6th St on one side and a few blocks from the capital on the other. Just great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay from the staff interactions, to the food and beverage, to the location and beyond! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Driskill!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Right on 6th street.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Old hotel in need of some minor updating. Hotel staff was excellent. Rooms are very small and Hotel is a little hard to navigate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by J. Williams, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers! We are so happy you enjoyed the service you received while you were here. We are equally grateful to know your sentiments regarding the presentation of the hotel and guestrooms and we will share that with our leadership team for their review. We hope to have the good fortune of welcoming you back for another stay, soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Longview, TX

Beautiful vintage hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
This hotel is so beautiful! They were working on the outside so we didn't get to see how beautiful it was but the inside was magnificent. Our room had high ceilings and it was gorgeous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by PR Manager , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and would love the opportunity to welcome you back soon so that you may experience the beauty of The Driskill again!