Ratings based on 1,570 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great locatiom

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Great location and full of history. Wonderful accommodating staff. Would stay there again without hesitation . The central location allows you to walk almost anywhere. Our room was not real big, but it is a historic hotel and I find that to be typical of older hotels. The room was clean, well furnished and the space more than adequate. There is a nice bakery, Café, and grill. The hotel registration staff gave us some great recommendations for restaurants close to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel, great location

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Great hotel, friendly & helpful staff. Centrally located but quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Center of downtown and eadily assessable to I-35

Posted Jan 14, 2016
I Was in Austin to have a medical procedure done and our stay at the Driskill made it all so much easier, having our vehicle there when needed, wheelchair when needed, nice restaurants in building so I didn't have to walk far to eat and the restaurants had many vegetarian options to accommodate my diet preferences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Super friendly staff and historic hotel building. would definitely return. no parking but valet service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2016
It was ok but I prefer a more modern hotel with bigger rooms and bathrooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
beautiful hotel. breakfast at 1886 bar was wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to downtown shops and music scene

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Wonderful stay in austin. Convenient to expressway and airport. The Driskill was very nice. Comparable to The Peabody in Memphis. So nice that it was walking distance to The Moody Theatre to see Willie Nelson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Wonderful stay as always

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Loved every bit of our stay!!! The hotel looked beautiful decorated in for the Holidays!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Accommodating in all areas aside from Bathroom

Posted Dec 20, 2015
I've visited the Driskell lounge before, very luxurious detail in lobby and lounge. Originally designed as a luxury hotel representative of Texas hospitality circa 1880s shortly after Austin was named TX capital (History can be read bedside in the hotel room) This was my first time ever staying there, and I was impressed.Jasmine took great care at check in, just so kind and polite and walked every single guest to the elevator in turn. The elevator was old but not rickety like most, and when I arrived to the floor I enjoyed the musuem-esque hallways lined with beautiful impressionist and still-life art with thick ostentatious gold frames. To enter, key simply needed to be scanned by the door pad for quick and easy access without swiping through a device, a very nice tech upgrade feature. Once inside you immediately admire the high ceilings, (with a ceiling fan!) Beautiful accent wall of silver painting, nice lighting and nice furniture with decorative pillows. Bed was super comfortable and down pillows are my favorite. Walls thick enough to where we never heard another guest. This is where I get to the bathroom. The single complaint I have is the bathroom was very small, cramped even. The shower took one corner, sink another corner and toilet a third corner with no distance in between. No counter space to put anything. This should have been compensated with a large mirror above spacious desk, but there was only a small mirror high above head board. For that 4* instead of 5*
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Easily the most comfortable hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. Smallish, well-appointed room, luxurious silky sheets, fabulous public areas. Very well located. Courteous staff. Couldn't ask for more.