Ratings based on 1,650 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Historic Downtown Gem

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Location, food and bar area
Cons: the counter space in the bathroom
Location: we walked to 2nd street and all the shopping and bars
Beautiful hotel on the outside and inside! We loved the lobby/bar area and the restaurant. The staff was extremely nice and very accommodating. My only complaint is the sink area in the bathroom was sooooo small even for one person - no countertop space or room for your toiletries. But otherwise it was a great hotel - loved the location. We walked everywhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Historic Hotel.

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Lots of character, wonderfully appointed rooms with luxurious bedding. Really liked that they has a restaurant, full bar with menu and live music every night and the 1886 Bakery.. What can I say but you must try the croissant!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

6:00 AM WAKEUP

Posted Apr 12, 2016
yeah, bought a hotel room to sleep in, and they did not inform me that there would be construction starting outside my room @ 6:00am.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Posted Apr 10, 2016
We had a great stay in this classic Austin hotel. Staff was great and facilities were well kept. Staying here will give you a true appreciation for the hotel's history.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dalls TX

Construction catastrophe averted

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Originally booked the cityscape room- construction right out our window- we asked to move- no other room w/out construction- upgraded to suite instead! What a class act and we are super grateful! Breakfast at the cafe was delicious. The grill was fun and perfect for a night cap. All in all the best experience to date!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Great location Beautiful hotel Fantastic food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

The Driskill SXSW 2016

Posted Mar 22, 2016
My stay at the Driskill was amazing. The rooms and accommodations were inviting, comfortable and clean. The staff was beyond wonderful, especially Anthony. He made sure we had everything we needed and was more than happy to take care of us. Overnight room service was fast and delicious as well, even in the wee hours of the night. Anytime I'm in Austin, the Driskill is my go to place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Lobby absolutely magnificent as were hallways! Had room in old part and that was a mistake. A/C rattled and bed squeaked. A bit too authentic ! Food great and wonderful bar!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right on 6th Street, close to everything!

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: Ambiance, location, staff
Location: Right on 6th Street, so all of the bars, restaurants and great music are steps away. You HAVE to try Gourdough's Donuts... unique and delicious.
We only stayed one night at the Driskill, but it was over the top. First off, walking into the hotel is an experience itself. It has all of the same charm and grandeur it must have had when it opened in the late 1800's. The lobby is beautiful, clean and the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Our room was a corner room, bright and cheery. The hotel was right on 6th street, so if you are interested in the nightlife you will not be disappointed. Our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel and rooms are well kept.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Clean and nice rooms. The bed was very comfortable. The staff is friendly, and knowledgeble. Best experience is Austin. Better than the W hotel by far!!