Ratings based on 1,564 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful historic hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: all around beautiful hotel
Location: location is perfect for Austin night life
love the driskill. great location and service and food the best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room with no view!

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Disappointed with the room. It looked out onto a flat roof between 2 walls, and we saw nothing except a wall.....especially annoying as we stayed on a beautiful sunny day. The Driskill was expensive, and all in all a classy venue, but the view from the window spoilt it .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Round Rock, TX

Amazing hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: We loved the history attached to the hotel. The artwork on the 4th and 5th floors was outstanding. It felt like we were in a museum.
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: We booked a walking tour with www.austinghosttours.com and would highly recommend it to locals and visitors alike.
A group of us stayed at the Driskill for a birthday celebration. Everything was just perfect. Hotel is beautiful, the rooms were nice and comfortable and everything was as we expected it to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the café was also clean with courteous staff.
Cons: The layout of the in room bathroom was very bad. I stayed in room 425 and honestly I dreaded whenever it was time to take a shower or the sink.
Location: Very centrally located. I was there on business and there was only a 5 minute walk to the office. There were many different restaurants near by.
I was in Austin for a week on business. I chose this hotel because it seemed to be close to the office I would be working out of for the week. I enjoyed everything about the hotel except for the bathroom. The bathroom seemed to be an after thought when the room was being built. The access to the shower and sink was very awkward. There are many choices for food within a short walk. The night life seem to be thriving, lots of pubs, bars with live music.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Downtown hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Staff helpful, location in center of entertainment district
Cons: Older rooms and soft goods
Location: All close by
6th Street, Capitol and dining all withing walking distance. Historic hotel charming yet a bit tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Millbrook, ON

Good customer service, excellent location.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: A boutique hotel - charming open areas, great location for downtown, close to UT
Cons: Buyer beware! there are sub-standard rooms in the hotel - target rooms in newer tower.
Location: Downtown, close to UT, great biking trails in and around the city, many bike rental facilites/
I checked into this hotel for a five day stay having arrived from the airport after my luggage had been lost. The hotel roomI had been booked for me, prepaid by Expedia and the receptionist immediately tried to persuade me to upgrade my room which I thought was a little strange - until I arrived at the room. The room was dark and cramped, there was no desk, and the view from the window was of a brick wall six feet from the ledge which blocked out any natural light - there was garbage strewn over the area immediately below the window. I had a dinner engagement so when I returned, I complained vigorously to the desk staff - they explained that the room to which I'd been allocated was converted servant's quarters, they had some euphemism to describe this category of room that I do not recall. However, they did respond and had my room changed to one in their main tower after the first night. My ratings therefore apply to the second room I occupied during my stay. The open areas of this hotel have plenty of charm and it's location is optimum in Austin. I ate in the coffee shop (bakery) a couple of times (one excellent meal/ one mediocre) and in the main restaurant as part of a group - service and food were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great locatiom

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Great location and full of history. Wonderful accommodating staff. Would stay there again without hesitation . The central location allows you to walk almost anywhere. Our room was not real big, but it is a historic hotel and I find that to be typical of older hotels. The room was clean, well furnished and the space more than adequate. There is a nice bakery, Café, and grill. The hotel registration staff gave us some great recommendations for restaurants close to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel, great location

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Great hotel, friendly & helpful staff. Centrally located but quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Center of downtown and eadily assessable to I-35

Posted Jan 14, 2016
I Was in Austin to have a medical procedure done and our stay at the Driskill made it all so much easier, having our vehicle there when needed, wheelchair when needed, nice restaurants in building so I didn't have to walk far to eat and the restaurants had many vegetarian options to accommodate my diet preferences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Super friendly staff and historic hotel building. would definitely return. no parking but valet service