Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
7% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, Disgusting, Stinky

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Just needed a hotel for the night. Pros was that it was super cheap. Cons, you get what you pay for. The hotel was old, stinky, and disgusting. The place is very old and needs to be renovated. You can tell it was family owned and the poor girl at the counter did not really know what she was doing. We saw her mom in and out of the front office. The ceiling was falling apart and stains all over the walls.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Newly renovated?? Hardly. Bathroom door didn't line up at all and could not close, main room door was loose and had hole in door near lock. Wifi coverage in room terrible, 42" tv's in room? Nada. Is this a hotel or under the table stretched hummer 'limo' rental service, hard to say as the parking lot tended to look like a casting call for a rap video shoot. Best thing was easy access to 183 if that's your freeway you needed. The fridge was decent size which was probably the best thing overall. When the first thing which greets you at the front desk is a sign which reads that NO REFUNDS will be given within 15 minutes of checking in, you can guess what the University Inn is mostly used for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

3 day weekend for a festival

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Mostly the porch and nice space in the hotel, TV and channels. A/C might need maintenance.
Cons: Pool. This would make the hotel almost a 3 star hotel, and especially for the amount I payed each night.
Location: Everything really, food, mall, even the festival was 10 minutes away. Great location.
I got attended ASAP, and was always welcomed every time I arrived. The hotel has a very "neighborhood" feel to it, with the porch facing outside and not enclosed. The no pool water in pool, which really made me sad. Other than that, staff was very pleasant and the rooms were really neat, very nice tv with fridge and microwave. It would be nice to have a toaster out in the lobby (maybe I didn't see it, only coffee).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Wasn't bad for the price. Not what the picture on the internet depicted, but it's tolerable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Orbitz
Oh man. The pictures lied. Regret booking this, no Matter what I paid
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin Tx

Dirty hotel that looks nice..

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Front desk was ok but kinda didn't know how to do their job.. We made a reservation and the front desk was oblivious to what we were talking about.. Lol.. We got there at nite so we fell asleep pretty quickly and in the morning we were stunned at the condition of the room.. Walls were filthy with what looked like blood and shoe marks and God knows what else..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Less than I paid for

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Large screen tv, refrigerator, microwave, easily accessible and free, high-speed wireless internet.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: A reasonably convenient location near the intersection of I-35 and 183; but, in a high-traffic area of a high-traffic city.
I was looking for a safe, budget location with a quality slightly above a Day's Inn near the university area. The hotel did not meet these expectations. There were questionable people hanging around the hotel, so I was wary. I stayed two days and the room was not cleaned, the bed was not made, and apparently no cleaning staff ever checked the room. The room was large and the bed was adequate; however, there were no extra blankets in the room. The desk chair was hard and uncomfortable. There was no phone in the room. The lavatory faucet had been changed out with no control for the stopper which was in a down position. Fortunately, I have replaced faucets before myself, so I knew how to raise the stopper from below. The room had a musty smell and the carpet looked dirty. The soap and shampoo provided were of the cheapest possible quality. I have experienced worse, so I am not giving it the lowest rating, but this place is among the worst.
1 out of 5
by Roberto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by daniel from san antonio texas

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
Good
3 out of 5
by Daniel J

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was older, the room was clean, the beds comfortable, the linens clean, air conditioner-microwave-refrigerator worked well. There was a vanity inside and outside the bathroom. Saturday night, I was able to hear the music playing for a party(the sound wasn't loud, but it was discernible) coming from a room down the hall from my room.