Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

didn't get what I expected

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The staff would be the best thing about this hotel. They were very nice and welcoming. Very apologetic and tried to help out.
Cons: The hotel rooms need some work....
Location: We chose this location because it is right off the exit. There are gas stations and food locations nearby. 55 miles from cleveland OH.
We arrived to a very pleasing and clean lobby. The front desk person was very kind and welcoming. He couldn't find our reservation in their system. We booked two weeks prior through Expedia. After speaking to a manager, she was able to log into Expedia and find the reservation. He put us in a room on the 1st floor and then per managers request moved us to the 3rd floor. I grabbed the rest of us (hubby and 4 kids) along with our bags and hauled it up to the 3rd floor. Entered the room to find the beds stripped and overflowing trash - basically our room wasn't ready for guests. Went back to front desk with everyone and all our stuff and with many apologies were given the original room on the 1st floor. That room was ready to stay in, however needed much repair - safety door lock broken, shower nob fell off, wallpaper peeling off in bathroom, stains on ceiling and walls, sink cabinet seperating from frame. It was late and we were passing through and since we had already moved rooms before we just wanted to crash. The staff were nice and welcoming. Very apologetic for our inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Place to crash

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Needed a room for the night close to work due to annual inventory, comfortable bed and quiet.
Cons: Bathroom sink was very slow draining, going to be clogged soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napanee, Ontario Canada

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Staff was very friendly and courteous upon our late arrival. Manager made a point of asking us if our stay was satisfactory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by gm.oh218@choicehotels.com, Hotel Management
Thank you very much posting a review, we sincerely hope that you did enjoy your stay. and wish to return when you are in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Bad Security

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Location: Close to Lake Erie with all you can do by a Lake.
Anybody can walk into Hotel. No locks on outside doors. Doors to your room had a 1/4 in space when shut. Pool was filthy. Broken ice makers or not enough ice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I sincerely apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations, and want to assure you that I will work diligently to correct any issues neccessary. We do hope that you will consider staying with us in the future, so you can see that our hotel staff take pride in a great hotel and giving the guests a great experience at Sleep Inn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Navarre, Ohio

We like it!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Sleep Inn Austinberg is a very well kept up hotel for a good price! Breakfast is wonderful and rooms are very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
THANK YOU!!! On behalf of our team, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you not only encourage others to stay when they are in the area, but that you also wish to stay at Sleep Inn and Suites of Austinburg, when you are in need of lodging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.E. PA

This hotel met all of our needs & was easy to find

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Easy to find, friendly staff & comfortable bed. We wish we had time to use the pool. It looked very inviting.
Cons: The carpet in front of the sink had either stains or burn marks, but that didn't interfere with our comfort.
Location: We were attending the D- D reenactment in a nearby town, Conneaut.
The room was very comfortable. The staff was very efficient and friendly. The night shift front desk attendant, Joshua, was especially helpful and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Pamela Jenkins, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review, we love getting feedback, we use all suggestions and concerns to improve, and all positive feedback to continue in the same direction that we are in so our guests will want to stay with us each time they are int eh area. I hope you enjoyed the hotel and the reenactment that brought you here. See you next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Gillett, PA.

Staff know their restaurants

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Rooms were clean and neat
Location: Wineries, Beautiful Lake Erie and Geneva State Park
The young man who was working the desk referred us to a restaurant near the hotel and told us he had never been, but the food was excellant. Well, he wasn't lying. The Clay diner did have wonderful food. We informed him when we returned that he wasn't lying!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Pamela Jenkins, General Manager, Hotel Management
We are thrilled that our staff was able to asist in you have a great meal while you were staying at Sleep Inn of Austinburg, and hope that the Clay Street Grill and our hotel will bring you back to the area to stay in hte future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massillon

Vintage

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Staff was wonderful breakfast was amazing. The only complaint is they need full size pillows
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Right of interstate and easy to find. The breakfast nook is small; there's a second room they use but it's not obvious. The indoor pool area isn't vented and was sweltering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Right off highway

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Nice place to rest for the night. Comfy beds but pillows were awful. Nice breakfast as well. Would stay here again if in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by Pamela Jenkins, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.