Ratings based on 927 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Staff is helpful. The internet access is tricky.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Post Camino Stay

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Stayed for 3 nights after walking the Camino. It is a nice hotel for the price in Madrid. My room was small and old but clean. If you are used to business travel in America, then this hotel will seem old and a bit shabby. It grew on me and I liked it better at the end than at the beginning. A couple of things that are odd. Some of the rooms are accessed from the building next door. I was very tired when I arrived after walking 15km that morning and then a long train ride, so I didn't quite get it. You go outside and then into the building next door which has no sign that indicates it belongs to the Coloso hotel...confusing. Then there is a thing near the door in which you stick your keycard that allows the lights to work. I have never seen this in America and again confusing. These things could be explained better by the staff which all spoke reasonably good English. On the bright side you are very close to two Metro lines including one that gets you to Barajas with just one line change. It is also in a mini Asia town that includes some cheap markets and Chinese, Vietnamese, and a very good Sushi restaurant within a few blocks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at El Coloso

Posted Aug 31, 2017
It isvey well located and near to Santo Domingo subway station. Hotel facilities are fine except for the room halls are quite old cause carpet is in bad conditions and gives s bad aspect. The breakfast is very good and complete: hotel located two or three blocks from La Gran via.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Easy to reach via metro very close to city center Spacious room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Location is only positive thing about this hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
No elevator between ground level and check in desk - set of 15 stairs- then another set of 10 stairs to elevator Room - beds like army cots, hard mattress with only fitted & top sheet - no blanket unless you request - single pillow Room - AC control had flimsy hard plastic cover that fell off if you touched to adjust temperature Room - austere with one desk, small fridge (did not use, it had drinks in it) with very small TV on top, plastic chair, love seat sofa that was stained and hard as a rock Bathroom- tiny, single sink with limited counter space, provided gel shower wash and bar of soap (no shampoo) ...when our room was cleaned day 1 they took our washcloth that we brought (always bring your own in Europe they rarely provide) and did not replace it, took the bar of soap but left the gel shower wash...the toilet and bidet face each other with less than a foot between them and you have to pass between them in order to climb into the tub/shower Hair dryer did not work unless you jiggled the cord and then only for less than a minute Shower water would shock you with boiling hot water for like a 10 second burst ...then resume at steady temp for 2-3 minutes then you'd get blasted again...this would burn a child...not sure if this was from others flushing toilets or bad valve Breakfast was great and the staff were very nice with quick smiles Overall this felt like what I'd imagine an hourly hotel would be, or an apartment complex that hadn't been updated in 40 years.
3 out of 5
by Julius

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
The locations is very good near the central area close to sites and a subway metro station . There are many restaurants and coffee shops in the immediate area. The hotel is rated as a 4 star but in my opinion the most I would rate it as a 3 star but more like a 2 star. The bed squeaks like crazy, front desk told me that all the beds in the hotel are the same. Which doesn't make sense. The bathroom is outdated I had to purchase plastic vacuum hooks to hang towels. The breakfast is very good with lots of variety of cheese cold cuts breads and cookies and good coffee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Not so good for a 4**** hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The location. Even though it is located in a not super beautiful street, it is still safe, and right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
Cons: WiFi signal was not good at all. Breakfast buffet could improve the quality of the cold meats, and they should have real eggs.
Location: Conveniently located behind the Gran Via and 5 min. away from Puerta del Sol.
The hotel consists of two buildings right next to each other. The first night I was placed on the 4th floor of the adjacent building and my first impression was terrible: dirty walls and carpet in the hallways, dark room with no natural light, outdated room. The adjacent building has not direct connection to the reception and breakfast room so you have to go outside and enter through the main building. This adjacent building needs some serious upgrade and in its current state does not correspond to 4**** quality. I asked to be moved to the main building for the remaining two nights. The main building has been updated more recently and I was quite satisfied with my room on the first floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 19, 2017
Staff was very polite and helpful. Good location to everything
3 out of 5
by Lill from Australia

Exe el Coloso

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good time in Madrid. Easy to get around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Old Hotel In A Very Poor Location

Posted May 9, 2017
Cons: Enforce "No Smoking". Repair the shower doors. Make concessions when guests cannot sleep due to smoking.
Location: Location is close to Gran Via, which is a plus. But the hotel is located in a terrible street, surrounded by motorcycles and chain-smoking cops.
The staff were generally responsive, but always acted rushed. The garage was terrible to get in and out - extremely small and awkward. A!so very overpriced at $23 per night. When the hotel key which turns on the lights in the room is removed, it also shut off the electricity to all the receptical. Very inconvenient. Although they claim "no smoking rooms", the first night the smoke from other rooms leaked into the hallway and into our room. It was so bad that they had to move us to another room. The new also had some residue of smoke. The shower door in both rooms had the rubber sealant which keeps the water from leaking out missing. Everytime we took a shower, the bathroom floors got flooded. We reported the problem, but they were never repaired! The street where the hotel is located is next to the police station. At any given time we would see 5 or 6 cops outside next to the hotel smoking. We had to sign bunch of papers so the cops allow us to drive in that street to our parking space. When attempted to park our car in front so we could drop off the room key, a police with cigarette in his hand approached us and rudley ordered us to move. We had to drive around many narrow streets to get back to the front of the hotel, which wasted about 15 minutes. All because the rude officer refused to give us less than 5 seconds to run the keys inside. If you are considering this hotel, you may be better off to keep looking.