Ratings based on 919 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Easy to reach via metro very close to city center Spacious room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Location is only positive thing about this hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
No elevator between ground level and check in desk - set of 15 stairs- then another set of 10 stairs to elevator Room - beds like army cots, hard mattress with only fitted & top sheet - no blanket unless you request - single pillow Room - AC control had flimsy hard plastic cover that fell off if you touched to adjust temperature Room - austere with one desk, small fridge (did not use, it had drinks in it) with very small TV on top, plastic chair, love seat sofa that was stained and hard as a rock Bathroom- tiny, single sink with limited counter space, provided gel shower wash and bar of soap (no shampoo) ...when our room was cleaned day 1 they took our washcloth that we brought (always bring your own in Europe they rarely provide) and did not replace it, took the bar of soap but left the gel shower wash...the toilet and bidet face each other with less than a foot between them and you have to pass between them in order to climb into the tub/shower Hair dryer did not work unless you jiggled the cord and then only for less than a minute Shower water would shock you with boiling hot water for like a 10 second burst ...then resume at steady temp for 2-3 minutes then you'd get blasted again...this would burn a child...not sure if this was from others flushing toilets or bad valve Breakfast was great and the staff were very nice with quick smiles Overall this felt like what I'd imagine an hourly hotel would be, or an apartment complex that hadn't been updated in 40 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 19, 2017
Staff was very polite and helpful. Good location to everything
3 out of 5
by Lill from Australia

Exe el Coloso

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good time in Madrid. Easy to get around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Old Hotel In A Very Poor Location

Posted May 9, 2017
Cons: Enforce "No Smoking". Repair the shower doors. Make concessions when guests cannot sleep due to smoking.
Location: Location is close to Gran Via, which is a plus. But the hotel is located in a terrible street, surrounded by motorcycles and chain-smoking cops.
The staff were generally responsive, but always acted rushed. The garage was terrible to get in and out - extremely small and awkward. A!so very overpriced at $23 per night. When the hotel key which turns on the lights in the room is removed, it also shut off the electricity to all the receptical. Very inconvenient. Although they claim "no smoking rooms", the first night the smoke from other rooms leaked into the hallway and into our room. It was so bad that they had to move us to another room. The new also had some residue of smoke. The shower door in both rooms had the rubber sealant which keeps the water from leaking out missing. Everytime we took a shower, the bathroom floors got flooded. We reported the problem, but they were never repaired! The street where the hotel is located is next to the police station. At any given time we would see 5 or 6 cops outside next to the hotel smoking. We had to sign bunch of papers so the cops allow us to drive in that street to our parking space. When attempted to park our car in front so we could drop off the room key, a police with cigarette in his hand approached us and rudley ordered us to move. We had to drive around many narrow streets to get back to the front of the hotel, which wasted about 15 minutes. All because the rude officer refused to give us less than 5 seconds to run the keys inside. If you are considering this hotel, you may be better off to keep looking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location, great seamless service, very good breakfast. Minutes from central areas.
4 out of 5
by Anne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito

Good location, rational comfort and good breakfas

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Good location near central Madrid. Great breakfast. Room was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv

Great location and quiet surroundings

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: quiet room, service of front desk, and breakfast.
Cons: towels
Location: it is off the Gran Via, with all the restaurants, cinemas and theaters, but none of the noise.
I had a nice room, with good connection to wifi, very clean, very quiet room, and I had an excellent breakfast
4 out of 5
by MARIO

Good stay, excelent location

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
People in the front desk were friendly and helpful. The unique complaint was I that the mini bar in the room was broken and was reported twice and never fixed or replaced.