Ratings based on 940 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Location: Gran Via, Plaza Major
The best things about this hotel were that it's very close to many main attractions of Madrid and the hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. Every person at the front desk I spoke to know both English and Spanish. Breakfast was pretty good and included an assortment of ham (it's Spain, of course), fruits, eggs, pastries, and cold cereals. As for the rooms, it was pretty basic. The bed was very firm, which I didn't mind as much as the very flat pillows. The bed also didn't come with a duvet/comforter, but only a thin, wool-like blanket that I found stashed in the closet. I don't tend to use coffee makers, but there wasn't one in my room. The room and bathroom were at least clean and spacious enough for one person. The only other issue that I had was that there were tons of ants in my room. Everyday, I would find a few on the bed and the bathroom always had more. Another thing to note is that you may have to use different entrances depending on where your room is. Mine required me to go through an entrance about two doors down from the main entrance and after a certain time at night, required a special code to unlock the door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Staff is helpful. The internet access is tricky.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Post Camino Stay

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Stayed for 3 nights after walking the Camino. It is a nice hotel for the price in Madrid. My room was small and old but clean. If you are used to business travel in America, then this hotel will seem old and a bit shabby. It grew on me and I liked it better at the end than at the beginning. A couple of things that are odd. Some of the rooms are accessed from the building next door. I was very tired when I arrived after walking 15km that morning and then a long train ride, so I didn't quite get it. You go outside and then into the building next door which has no sign that indicates it belongs to the Coloso hotel...confusing. Then there is a thing near the door in which you stick your keycard that allows the lights to work. I have never seen this in America and again confusing. These things could be explained better by the staff which all spoke reasonably good English. On the bright side you are very close to two Metro lines including one that gets you to Barajas with just one line change. It is also in a mini Asia town that includes some cheap markets and Chinese, Vietnamese, and a very good Sushi restaurant within a few blocks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at El Coloso

Posted Aug 31, 2017
It isvey well located and near to Santo Domingo subway station. Hotel facilities are fine except for the room halls are quite old cause carpet is in bad conditions and gives s bad aspect. The breakfast is very good and complete: hotel located two or three blocks from La Gran via.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Easy to reach via metro very close to city center Spacious room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Location is only positive thing about this hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
No elevator between ground level and check in desk - set of 15 stairs- then another set of 10 stairs to elevator Room - beds like army cots, hard mattress with only fitted & top sheet - no blanket unless you request - single pillow Room - AC control had flimsy hard plastic cover that fell off if you touched to adjust temperature Room - austere with one desk, small fridge (did not use, it had drinks in it) with very small TV on top, plastic chair, love seat sofa that was stained and hard as a rock Bathroom- tiny, single sink with limited counter space, provided gel shower wash and bar of soap (no shampoo) ...when our room was cleaned day 1 they took our washcloth that we brought (always bring your own in Europe they rarely provide) and did not replace it, took the bar of soap but left the gel shower wash...the toilet and bidet face each other with less than a foot between them and you have to pass between them in order to climb into the tub/shower Hair dryer did not work unless you jiggled the cord and then only for less than a minute Shower water would shock you with boiling hot water for like a 10 second burst ...then resume at steady temp for 2-3 minutes then you'd get blasted again...this would burn a child...not sure if this was from others flushing toilets or bad valve Breakfast was great and the staff were very nice with quick smiles Overall this felt like what I'd imagine an hourly hotel would be, or an apartment complex that hadn't been updated in 40 years.
4 out of 5
by Ismail

Good

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
The location was very good and near the centre and many many things. The only point ☝️ is bad smells looks like a toilet pipe leeking or breaks.
3 out of 5
by Julius

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
The locations is very good near the central area close to sites and a subway metro station . There are many restaurants and coffee shops in the immediate area. The hotel is rated as a 4 star but in my opinion the most I would rate it as a 3 star but more like a 2 star. The bed squeaks like crazy, front desk told me that all the beds in the hotel are the same. Which doesn't make sense. The bathroom is outdated I had to purchase plastic vacuum hooks to hang towels. The breakfast is very good with lots of variety of cheese cold cuts breads and cookies and good coffee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Not so good for a 4**** hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The location. Even though it is located in a not super beautiful street, it is still safe, and right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
Cons: WiFi signal was not good at all. Breakfast buffet could improve the quality of the cold meats, and they should have real eggs.
Location: Conveniently located behind the Gran Via and 5 min. away from Puerta del Sol.
The hotel consists of two buildings right next to each other. The first night I was placed on the 4th floor of the adjacent building and my first impression was terrible: dirty walls and carpet in the hallways, dark room with no natural light, outdated room. The adjacent building has not direct connection to the reception and breakfast room so you have to go outside and enter through the main building. This adjacent building needs some serious upgrade and in its current state does not correspond to 4**** quality. I asked to be moved to the main building for the remaining two nights. The main building has been updated more recently and I was quite satisfied with my room on the first floor.