Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Steps from Plaza Mayor

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location!
Cons: No suggestions for improvement. This is a good, clean, but very basic hotel. No amenities to speak of, but you get what you pay for.
Location: Just a 60-second walk to the Mercado de San Miguel (tapas, yum) and the Plaza Mayor.
GREAT location in the heart of old Madrid. Accommodations are very basic, but spotlessly clean. No problems, would definitely stay there again when I'm on a tight budget.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very small rooms. Not like the pictures.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Very small rooms, window to a wall. Shower very small and the shampoo comes in a bag like a wet towel. It does not look like the pictures. The only good thing about it is the location. Very central and close to everything. The power is very low, the phone takes hours to charge. Next time I would spend $20 more dollars a night and go somewhere better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west Midlands

Excellent location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Would have liked a room with a view. , only had internal view
Location: Right adjacent to the square and 10 minutes walk to the palace
Weekend with friends. Would have preferred front room as very hot in Madrid that weekend but ok for the time we were in it. Lovely staff. Clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockland, NY

Great location

Posted May 12, 2017
We were at the center of the city, across the street and up the stairs we were in Plaza Mayor. Up the block & we were at the Mercado de Miguel. The rooms and bathroom were very clean. The hotel managers were very informative and nice. would stay there again and highly recommend
5 out of 5
by Creative

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

handy over night stop

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Handiness.
Cons: Double bed
Staff very helpful. a handy , cheap place to stay in the city.
5 out of 5
by Al

La Macarena is my home in Madrid.

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Hostal La Macarena is a small, comfortable, affordable hotel in a beautiful old building in Madrid. Personal service and old world charm along with modern services and location, location, location make it my preferred hotel in madrid since 1988.
5 out of 5
by Urszula

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Good location and great staff.