Ratings based on 508 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stanton ca

Great staff and super accommodations

Posted Nov 30, 2017
The staff was Very helpful in all the questions that I had. Front desk was very helpful and very attentive. Housekeeping was great, they always paid attention to our needs. Continental breakfast was good and the staff was very accommodating To our needs and requests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saudi arabia

Nice hotel in central location

Posted Nov 29, 2017
This is centrally located hotel, however this does not mean the hotel is in the center of city. It is tucked away enough to have the calm and 5 min away from the action. The breakfast offered is excellent compared to European standard. The staff is helpful and communicates well. The rooms are small and may have some sound proofing issues with next door rooms. Overall great budget hotel. You can find places to eat and grocery stores close by. Metro stations are a easy walk, actually 3 metro stations are walkable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Nice and cozy room. Central locations. Short walking distances to iconic places
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coral Springs, FL

Nice hotel with excellent buffet breakfast

Posted Nov 26, 2017
I had a wonderful stay here at Hotel Principe Pio. The staff were very helpful with locating tour meeting places and offering suggestions. They also also spoke enough English to understand me and for me to understand them. My room was very clean and spacious, but the wi-fi didn’t work well for most of my stay, the hallway carpets need to be cleaned (there were stains on my floor), and it would be helpful if the rooms had Kleenex and foot grips in the bathtub. The bathtub was a little slippery. Overall, wonderful experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Smelly, noisy and outdated rooms

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Maybe I just didn't get lucky, but the room was smelly - something from sewerage. I was proposed to change the room next morning. And since I was tired, I agreed. Next day I received room without smell. But it was outdated and noisy. I heard people walking down the stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Located across from the Royal Palace. Beds were comfortble, staff were helpful and breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great location; helpful staff

Posted Nov 17, 2017
My stay was very good and was a great value for the price. I was able to get an early check-in and the staff was very helpful. It's obviously not a 4-star hotel, but I was very happy for the value and it was walking distance to almost everywhere and the metro was also close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, CA

Best attribute: 5 min walk to Royal Palace

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Hotel itself is acceptable. Clean and organized overall, our room even had a little balcony. Bedding was ok, pillows were too soft and squishy though. Shower had a weird glass door about one third the necessary length to block shower water. Meaning, you're showering and there's water splashing everywhere, the so-called shower door was more of a little plate of glass that did nothing. BUT, the proximity to Gran Via, subway stations and the royal palace was really excellent! I could walk for 5 minutes in any direction, and I was at a tourist attraction. Couldn't be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Hotel is within walking distance of the Palacio Real and the main plaza. Many small restaurants on the way for a little flavor of the real Madrid. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Good location, traditional Spanish hotel . Opposite lovely park which is in front of the Royal palace.