Featured Image

Reviews of Bellanca Hotel

3 out of 5
Bellanca Hotel
111 Crescent Ave, Avalon, CA
4.3
Excellent
Rating 5 - Excellent. 181 out of 357 reviews
5 - Excellent 51%
Rating 4 - Good. 120 out of 357 reviews
4 - Good 34%
Rating 3 - Okay. 35 out of 357 reviews
3 - Okay 10%
Rating 2 - Poor. 18 out of 357 reviews
2 - Poor 5%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 3 out of 357 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.4/5

Cleanliness

4.5/5

Staff & service

4.0/5

Amenities

4.1/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice place.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Zula H. on Jun 17, 2021
Thank you for staying with us!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
loved the soft bed and pillows, did not like you can hear everything that's going on around you.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Zula H. on Jun 12, 2021
Thank you for staying with us!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
The staff was friendly. I did not like that there wasn’t any room service due to covid still. The coffee machine did not brew hot coffee. And there was a smell to the room that is probably from the carpet or the water from the Ac unit.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from Zula H. on Jun 4, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We use it to continually improve our property & guest experience.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Staff was very courteous and helpful. Room 201 is very small but in excellent condition. However, mattress was very bad. We had sore back sleeping on it. Need to change mattress. Adding a small refrigerator would be great.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Zula H. on May 31, 2021
We appreciate you honest feedback. We will use it to continually upgrade our property. And thank you so much for staying with us.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I liked that the staff was VERY nice. There's currently no daily housekeeping, buy if you need more toilet paper or towels, the front desk will gladly assist you. I traveled alone (female) and felt very safe. The sun deck was nice but at night I would have liked more light there and the heaters ti be on BUT* I also didnt go ask for them to be turned on, Im sure the staff would have done that if asked. The place seemed like a cute place, though not necessarily luxurious. I did not take advantage of the bikes, but that was a cute touch. I enjoyed my experience
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Zula H. on May 27, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to know you had an enjoyable stay & look forward to welcoming you back soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Lovw the Deck on the roof. Had great views of the ocean/bay while you relax.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Zula H. on May 22, 2021
Thank you for staying with us!!!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Our stay was great, staff was awesome and hotel was really clean.
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Zula H. on May 17, 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us! Great to hear you had a wonderful time.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The rooftop patio is a game changer when comparing to other properties.Can't beat the view.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from Zula H. on May 16, 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us! Sounds like you had a blast & took in those fantastic views from our sundeck.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Zula H. on May 22, 2021
Thank you for choosing us as your vacation spot.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Max on May 13, 2021
Thank you for staying with us!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Max on May 6, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location, wish had a better view then the street
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 23, 2021
Thank you for staying with us!!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Perfect location! Loved the free cruiser bikes that we took out every day to explore the island. Super friendly staff and very accommodating. The rooftop is great when the bar has no seating available and you can take your drink up there to overlook the harbor and watch people walking by. Definitely recommend the hotel.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 18, 2021
Thank you so much for this glowing review!!! We are happy to know you loved every minute of your stay with us. Cannot wait to welcome you back soon!

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Staff is very nice and helpful. Remodeling is still in progress. Lower floor room is not quiet. Walls and floor are paper thin can hear doors open and close foot steps. Great location and they have bikes that are free to use for guests. Hotel restaurant is only open on weekends. Rooftop lounge is awesome! Would return to this hotel on next visit.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 18, 2021
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed fantastic views from our sundeck & took advantage of complimentary bikes.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
This hotel has two wings. The old one and the newer one. When we booked our standard room we booked it based on the pictures posted which did not reflect the actual condition of the old wing, nor was there a mention that the room is in the old part of the hotel which looked like a hostel or a motel. Just walking up to the room made my skin crawl. Dirty old carpets, old furniture left in the hallway ( we barely squeezed through with our suitcase), floors cracking. Once we got to the room , the smell was really bad so we decided to go and tell them. We’re told the only room left on the new side needed an upgrade of 100 per night. We had already paid 300 rate for the horrible room we were placed in. We did not want to ruin our gateway and paid the extra to be able to move. When I told the staff about the misleading advertisement and suggested they posted some “real” pictures, they just shrugged it off. No feedback or explanation whatsoever. Would never book this hotel again.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 18, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We try to be as accommodating as possible as we work on a few updates around the hotel.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Terrace view is fantastic! Free bikes really great! Staff is super friendly and helpful.
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 10, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to know you loved your stay & hope to SEA you back soon.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 23, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 16, 2021
Thank you!! Looking forward to welcoming you back.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 15, 2021
Thank you!!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Very clean and renovated room!!
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 5, 2021
Thank you!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Great location, and the entire hotel has been recently updated.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 3, 2021
Thank you for staying with us!!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bellanca Hotel after a four day backpacking trip on Catalina. We needed a clean place with a nice shower to pamper ourselves for a night in Avalon after our adventure! The lovely front desk staff let us check in a bit early which was so sweet, especially after we had been carrying our backpacking gear for so long. We loved our stay, particularly the rooftop deck with plenty of cool chairs and a spectacular view of the beach! We will definitely be staying at Bellanca if we find ourselves in Avalon again!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Zula H. on Mar 31, 2021
We are so glad to have made your Avalon stay amazing! Hope to welcome you back in the future!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was such a cute hotel! Located just minutes from everything! Super clean and had a great rooftop!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Zula H. on Mar 31, 2021
Thank you for this great review! We are happy to know you loved your stay!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Zula H. on Apr 10, 2021
Thank you for staying with us!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice remodel
Great location - beach views - bar and restaurant in site - and free bikes to use - nice staff very friendly
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Zula H. on Mar 21, 2021
Thank you for this glowing review. Looking forward to welcoming you back, Cathy!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We loved this hotel! While looking for a hotel on Catalina Island a lot of them look run down but Bellanca exceeded our expectations! The only thing is there wasn’t an option to rent a movie at night so we had to watch cable (which wasn’t awful) we would for sure stay here again!
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Zula H. on Mar 18, 2021
Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful hotel! Very easy check in. Loved that we were able to check in early. The top deck is amazing! Great location...walking distance to all great destinations. Definitely recommend.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Zula H. on Mar 8, 2021
Thank you for this fantastic review! We are so happy to know you loved your stay.

2/5 Poor

Liked: Room comfort
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Place is rundown Pics are misleading Overpriced Bed is good and that is about it Nice view of stairwell as shown in picture
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Zula H. on Mar 8, 2021
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, James. I hope we get an opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

5/5 Excellent

Amazing Staff, Cozy Room, Free Bikes!
Zula and Jackie were amazingly kind and helpful! The room was sweet and cozy and felt very clean and recently updated! There were free bikes to check out and ride around, and there was a lovely sundeck that we sat on a lot! If you're headed to Avalon and like to keep it simple, this place is a great value!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice location.. right on the Main Street.. The staff was very friendly and helpful.. room was very clean. It’s a little small but nice.. I had regular room with no view from my room. However they offer a nice sun deck for all guest to use.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from Zula H. on Dec 3, 2020
Thank you Devetta for such a nice review! Happy Holidays & hoping to see you soon again.

5/5 Excellent

Great stay
It wasn’t the same room that was in the pictures when we booked but very nice place with a great restaurant and helpful staff. The room didn’t have a ocean view but it doesn’t matter what room you stay in because there is a beautiful deck that looks right over the water for everyone to enjoy.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020
Response from Zula H. on Nov 24, 2020
Thank you for staying with us!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Location was awesome! Rooms newly renovated, bright and modern. Lobby and restaurant were great not to mention free bikes- water for room etc were nice adds.Only thing that was less than expected was the outdoor carpets and walkway rails made the place look less chic and more shabby, and though assuming it may just be the last thing to be renovated- once brought up to the standard of the rest of hotel this place will be a real gem! Loved loved loved the rooftop patio to watch the sunset!
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2020
Response from Zula H. on Nov 24, 2020
Thank you TerraL for this fantastic feedback. Yes, outdoor carpets are on the list of final construction steps & we are thrilled to be almost finished. Hoping to welcome you back in the future.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020
Response from Zula H. on Nov 24, 2020
Thank you for this great review!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Clean, comfy, modern. Excellent hotel.
We had a great experience at Bellanca. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to get into our room early at 11:00. Room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The in-room fridge was handy and we really enjoyed the rooftop deck. It was chilly and the staff brought an extra blanket within 10 minutes of request. We didn't get a chance to use the free bikes but they looked nice. It was a relief to keep our luggage in the lobby before ferry departure. Overall an amazing stay and already planning to return!
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020
Response from Zula H. on Nov 16, 2020
Thank you, Caron for this glowing review! We are so happy you loved your stay & cannot wait to welcome you back for more fun & relaxation!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Loved the roof top terrace, would go again for that alone. We really loved the convince of the location and being able to walk to everything by us.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020
Response from Zula H. on Nov 7, 2020
Thank you Kaura for this amazing feedback. Glad to know you loved your stay & hoping to welcome you back soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020
Response from Zula H. on Nov 3, 2020
Thank you for this fantastic feedback!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Zula H. on Nov 3, 2020
Thank you!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice, clean, cozy rooms but very small which I understand for Catalina Island. The hotel provides free beach cruiser bikes, a very good location.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Zula H. on Oct 29, 2020
Thank you Jason for this glowing review! So glad you loved your stay & we hope to see you soon again.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Bellanca is still under renovations and this was most evident to us when our room lost power on one wall thanks to the construction in the room next door. The room was nice with a super comfy bed, great water pressure in the shower, and a TV. The highlight would have to be the roof top deck and use of the beach cruisers. Not sure why they charged my card $80.. will call in the morning.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2020
Response from Zula H. on Oct 21, 2020
Thank you Achsha for this nice review! Glad you enjoyed the room. Every check-in gets an $80 hold (not charge) placed on their credit card for the duration of their stay, which gets released at check-out.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Zula H. on Oct 20, 2020
Thank you, Henrique, for this fantastic feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Our room was recently remodeled. It was super nice and clean. The exterior of the building needs some updating but the room and the staff were great. It was a great location. And the patio deck is spectacular. I will definitely stay there again.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2020
Response from Zula H. on Oct 17, 2020
Thank you for this fantastic review, Steve. Cannot wait to welcome you guys back to BELLANCA!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2020
Response from Zula H. on Oct 28, 2020
Thank you Mary!!

5/5 Excellent

Bellanca
Great location, steps from the ocean and city center. Nice community upper deck patio with wonderful views.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities
It was a nice room in size, decor and location. However, management took away several amenities including a late checkout blaming covid 19 for extra cleaning time. When seated for a meal at their cafe, however, they put us less than a foot from another person..
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Zula H. on Oct 12, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! I apologize for not being able to extend a late check out as we sanitize each guest room between stays. Guests' and employees' safety is our priority. I relayed your concern to our restaurant as well.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020
Response from Zula H. on Oct 7, 2020
Thank you for staying with us!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Associated restaurant, The Naughty Fox, was superb. The insulation in the building is not the greatest, leading to more noise than usual inside the rooms.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2020
Response from Zula H. on Oct 2, 2020
Thank you for your nice review! We're glad you treated yourselves to yummy food & drinks with us, too!

2/5 Poor

Traveled with group
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice interior, nasty layout
The place looks like a converted old apartment complex. While they probably have nicer rooms avail for a greater cost, our room on a Monday night was almost $300 out the door. The interior was a small but nicely remodeled unit, but the guest noise from adjoining rooms was horrible and the cheap apartment layout had a cheap feel to it. I would never stay again and don’t recommend to anyone.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2020
Response from Zula H. on Sep 29, 2020
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We strive for every guest to enjoy their stay to the fullest & I apologize we fell short of that goal this time.

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
DO NOT RECOMMEND!
Staff was friendly, but the hotel was way smaller than what I was anticipating. No closet or dresser available to put clothes. Amenities were minimal. We felt like we were staying in a motel. Also, the walls were super thin, so we slept horribly due to the loud noises of people staying around us. I called the front desk to complain about the noise and they couldn't get it to stop. Sounded like club music playing until 3:00 in the morning. I would definitely not recommend staying here!!
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2020
Response from Zula H. on Sep 21, 2020
Dear Jillian, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay! We strive for guests to have an absolutely amazing time & I apologize we fell this short in your case! If you do change your mind, please reach to me directly & I will be happy to arrange something for you guys. I want to change your mind about us! Zula Harring GM @Bellanca Hotel.

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Sep 2020
Response from Zula H. on Sep 21, 2020
Thank you for your feedback!