Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverside, ca

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Walk to this hotel is uphill. About 1/2 mile from town. It is secluded from all the gas golf cart noises. Staff are awesome! Hotel shuttle will take you into town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Nice hotel, a good distance from downtown. Seaport Bistro has some management issues. One of their employees has a customer service grievance not allowing criticism and unprofessional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Msrs. O, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn on Santa Catalina Island. I apologize for the inconveniences you faced at the Seaport Bistro. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to improve the guest experience. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide you better experience. Sincerely, Mrs. Ophelia de Casillas Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location, terrible conditions

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: The hotel restaurant was good.
Cons: Clean! The rooms aren't the cleanest and the showers don't drain properly.
Location: Tucked into the mountainside. About a mile from all of the activities in town.
I'll start with the pros. Great location on the island, away from the town & as close to nature as you can get without camping; we saw 4 deer! The onsite restaurant is surprisingly good, don't let the looks fool you. The staff at the restaurant is very friendly & relaxed. Now the cons...I booked this hotel as a getaway for our 23rd anniversary. I saw reviews on Yelp that said the hotel wasn't clean but those reviews were from months ago & I assumed Holiday Inn would have fixed their problems to try to get reviews to improve. Apparently they don't monitor their reviews. Our trip started with a massage at the onsite Spa at Catalina (not affiliated) which was great. After that the stay went downhill. The room wasn't the cleanest I've ever stayed in. The walls & doors seemed paper thin as we heard our neighbors on both sides of us at all hours of the day. The major complaint is that the shower didn't drain properly. We would turn on the water to get wet then turn it off before the shower filled up, then scrub & wash with no water running, then rinse off quickly. Not my favorite part of the trip. I've had better showers at the public showers in Yosemite. Also, Expedia says the card won't get charged until you arrive at the hotel & that's wrong. The card was charged as soon as the cancellation window closed, two days before our stay. I definitely would not pay to stay here again. I'm sure for as much as we paid we can stay somewhere in town that is cleaner with working showers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Mrs.O, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Nicole, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Catalina Island. I apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide you better experience. Sincerely, Mrs. Ophelia de Casillas Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Never use holiday inn again

Posted Jan 10, 2018
We stayed for 1 night during the christmas break. After checking in our room (112) we were welcomed with a disgusting smell. The carpet was soaked. And after calling the frontdesk the only thing they could do was give us a 50 dollar discount (on a 250 bill). 45 minutes later they call to tell us another room was available (all of a sudden) and we could come to the front desk, pick up a key and move ourselves. Fortunaly this room was better (not very clean) so we moved our stuff, spend the night and left early morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Mrs. O , Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Danielle, Thank you for taking the time to speak with me the other day on the phone. I would like to apologize again for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide you better experience. Sincerely, Mrs. Ophelia de Casillas Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Quiet location, away from the town

Posted Jan 5, 2018
The grounds are beautiful, shuttle service excellent. The room, ok. Door weather stripping was hanging from the frame and our shower didn't drain (they fixed it immediately on request). Very friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Mrs.O, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Lisa, Thank-you for taking the time to tell us how your stay was at the Holiday Inn on Avalon. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Mrs. Ophelia de Casillas Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Quiet & Comfy Avalon hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Avalon’s Holiday Inn is great place to stay on Catalina Island. Located just up hill from town, this is the perfect place to spend the night after a day touring or golf cart riding. Hotel has a regular shuttle to town and nice pool area. This is a charming hotel with friendly staff and far enough from town to get a good night sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2017 by Mrs. O, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Diva, Thank-you for taking the time to tell us how your stay was with us here at the Holiday Inn on Avalon. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us .A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mrs. Ophelia de Casillas Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Socal

No Noise Control of Loud Rambunctious Drunks in Sp

Posted Dec 17, 2017
For the most part the staff was courteous and friendly. Bit after spending a day on the town in Avalon and looking forward to coming back to the hotel for some peace and quiet at 8:30 PM. Turns out there was a crowd of rambunctious drunks yelling and laughing right outside our window in the pool area. When I inquired about noise control at the front desk they told me they wouldn't do anything about curbing the noise until after 10:00 PM. That Sucks! Hence, I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone, not to mention it is over-rated and run down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2017 by Mrs.O, Hotel Management
Dear TB, Thank-you for sharing your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn on Avalon. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. I apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide all of you better experience. Sincerely, Mrs. Ophelia de Casillas Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Dec 12, 2017
We had issues with the cleanliness of our room. It was pretty gross. Made a review on a website and received a response from the hotel's manager. She was very helpful and resolved the matter. They have a pool and jacuzzi. Free transportation to and from the shore. TAKE THE TRANSPORTATION--walking up to the hotel is rough with luggage and it's an incline the whole way. Internet is garbage. Shower with no tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Mrs.O, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Sara, Thank-you for sharing your experience with us here at the Holiday Inn on Avalon. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. I apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide all of you better experience. Sincerely, Mrs. Ophelia de Casillas Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Love this hotel. It is only 7 minutes walk to town, but they have free shuttle service if we don't feel like walking. The room setup was very tasteful. Love the coffee and microwave in the room as well. We'll definitely recommend it to our friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Mrs.O, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn on Santa Catalina Island. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Mrs. Ophelia de Casillas Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
It was pleasant stay in hotel. Complimentary shuttle service helped a lot to commute b/w hotel and beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Mrs.O, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn on Santa Catalina Island. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Mrs. Ophelia de Casillas Front Office Manager