Ratings based on 1,308 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Room has an amazing view of the ocean and the balcony had a great view of the hillside it looked like we were in Italy would definitely recommend it anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Clemente, CA

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Staff was super nice
Cons: room
Location: Good spot, nice views
Room was out dated, old carpet, old curtains, n old looking bathroom
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gardena, Ca.

Beautiful Victorian Style Nostalgic Hotel w/Ocean

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Our bed was comfortable, there was a bit of an ocean view, and my wife and I slept fairly decent.
Cons: The curtains were very old, dirty, and torn as well as the antique style furniture was also dirty, needing refinishing and reupholstering, carpet clng
Location: It is conveniently located.
There really is much room for rehabbing, cleaning up, in room coffee instead of having to go downstairs to get it and they should offer continental breakfast. Furniture looks dirty, needs refinishing & reupholstering, room carpeting needs replacement or at least shampooing, windows are very dirty, curtains are old very dirty and torn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice view to the ocean on the roof patio!

Posted Nov 25, 2017
We got the family room, which had 2 queen beds and surprisingly had 2 bathrooms. Room was dated but clean. Hotel staffs were very friendly and helpful. It is located just couple blocks from Vons grocery and 3 minutes walk to the main beach area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Near the beach.. During a remodel..?

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The room was not as specified, when I booked I was told it had a Jacuzzi tub seperate from the bathroom...Not... Room was not clean dirty dusty curtains and worn upholstery on chairs. It was a total seedy dive. And the price was also ridiculous considering the hotels current condition. Please stay away from this place, total dissatisfaction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hacienda heights, ca

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Perfect location close to everything. Staff was very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent views from the balcony!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
This was a relaxing get away from the mainland! Great food, nice people and just fun! Love escaping to Catalina and accommodations were a nice surprise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT LEAVE YOUR BAGS

Posted Nov 6, 2017
We got to the hotel around 1:30 and couldn’t check in until 3 pm, so they told us to put our bags in their storage room. The storage room is just an unlocked closet underneath the stairs where anyone can go in and out. I left our suitcase there and went out to explore for a while. When we came back at 4:30 to check in, our bag was gone. It was so easy for another guest to take it. We were lucky that it was a guest who was still in the hotel and brought it back an hour later. The hotel seemed shocked this would happen and said it wasn’t their fault. We then saw that for some people and some bags they kept a them behind the counter, locked up with tags on them. When I asked if they would keep our bags back there when we checked out the next morning, they said they couldn’t guarantee that. We will not be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RIVERSIDE CA

Nice hotel prefect view of beach.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Love the stay, the staff are really nice there. Would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2017
It's an old hotel but it does have an elevator and air conditioning. It's off the main street area so it's quiet. The view from the outdoor, rooftop patio is spectacular!