Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Unique Experience

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful. The rooms needed attention. The bed was terrible. I don't regret staying and was a great experience. Being in the national park, hiking and the common areas made up for any discomfort. The staff was fantastic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A true palace!

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Staying at this beautiful hotel was one of the highlights of our trip. Exploring the grounds around the hotel was fantastic as well as exploring the hotel itself with its beautiful decoration
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary,

Pamper yourself and stay here!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Read above
Cons: Mattress
Bussaco Palace Hotel was recommended by friends who stayed there previously some years ago and we weren't disappointed. A beautiful old building, 100+ years, and with old buildings showing some age spots. In the bathroom of our room, someone had dropped the shower head and the enamel in the tub was chipped. Also, being the end of the season, it is time to change out the mattress... worn and uncomfortable. The carpet also showed "cleaning" spots. However, to stay here is a lovely experience and we thourougly enjoyed it. The Bussaco wine is excellent, the dinner well presented and served and the wait staff very attentive to food allergies. The breakfast was very good value for the money. We would definitely stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, UK

This is not a 5* hotel.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The best part was leaving it! I think they need to have a good look at the service and staff
Cons: Everything in need of update. Not 5*, apart from dining room and grounds
Location: Location stunning but not much to do around the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful journey back in time

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Exceptional service, amazing architecture, lovely to walk in the forest and enjoy peace and beauty and opulent surroundings. ANTONIO, HORACIO, ROSA, and all other staff and waitpersons were excellent. Sumptuous breakfast. Caveat..not modern or renovated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waikanae

Beautiful interesting castle in calming forest.

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: I especially appreciated its historical significance and grandure. Beautiful tiled art work portraying their unique Portuguese story.
Cons: Having rooms ready on time. Food at dinnner overall not five star quality additionally delay in serving all guests at our table at the same time.
Location: Beautiful tranquil location with forest and garden walks. Also a historic mulitary museum nearby.
A refreshing location high up in the hills about a 45min drive from Coimbra. Despite having had to wait for our rooms we were well looked after by the genial bar staff. A place to experience the feeling of tranquility and good service. A walk up to the top of the nearby hill is must the amazing number of superbly made terracotta figures housed in the small houses beside the cobblestone walkway make it a spiritual experience indeed. Loved to have stayed longer. Graham Heslop
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing one of the best location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very unique place to stay for a day or two

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere
It is a proper old castle and you allowed to walk anywhere and feel yourself wherever you want. Huge parkland around as well - can spend whole day walking there. Don't expect luxury rooms here, they are very basic, but price tag is not real 5 stars ether. Diner was a bit disappointing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Real Treat

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
The palace is a real treat. The breakfast was great. The room was not updated, but it was clean and any problem with the room are made up for staying in the amazing palace and gardens. The large doors in the room and bathroom walk out onto a stone balcony with gargoyles overhead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hadas

The location beautiful

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The rooms are not so attractive as the tapes looks too old, the dining room is beautiful, the food good