Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A mixed experience

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly, access from car park was easy, the swimming pool was excellent and cafe/bar/ Evening restaurant provided good quality food drink at a reasonable price by helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was good pity about the coffee from the machine, ended buying instant coffee in sachets from supermarket Unfortunately the high quality of the modern foyer, breakfast room and lounge were not carried through to the bedrooms which needed some refurbishment and improvement in storage space. Appliances needed replacement. Television was archaic and wifi was unreliable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Good hotel, few minutes from the beach.

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Big swimming pool
Cons: maintenance
Size of the room is great. Easy to sleep with whole family. Friendly personel
5 out of 5
by Dildora from Ireland

Service staff helpfull

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
Location very good staff very friendly and helpfull
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Not deluxe but close to everything and more than satisfactory for our visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fred from england

Great low key hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Excellent staff, location good, didn't use the dinning room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Santiago from Braga, Portugal

Good hotel for a groups

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Location: we went out for dinner on a saturday night, around 9:00 p.m. and the downtown was desert!
The service in general was ok, the thing is that the pictures shown on the web page were from another hotel, so I felt quite fooled.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Sotto Mayor, Rua Dos Lusiadas

Posted Mar 19, 2010 on Hotels
Stayed here March '10. Hotel & restuarant in the grounds were good. Room large tho a little dated. Prob because of time of the year we stayed found bedrooms a little damp and restuarant closed on a whim as not enough guests! Did have a prob finding good one open on a Sunday night. Overall would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Imperial, PA

Friendless Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2010
Everything was extremely great. everyone was courtious and friendly. Couldn't do enough for us. We had a slight problem with the plumbing and it was fixed asap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Fantastic!!

Posted Sep 25, 2009
This is the second time that we have stayed at this hotel and just love it. There is lots of space and the roms are huge and very modern. Breakfast is extensive and delicious and whats more it has a lovely pool and garden area. We cannot fault the Sotto Mayor in any way and will return over and over.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basel Switzerland

Just don't go.

Posted Jun 26, 2009
I would NOT recommend the hotel Sotto Mayor in Figueira da Foz. The hotel staff are unhelpful; the rooms are in need of both a good clean and a major overhaul. And the bar area and staff are just a joke. On the opposite side of the coin the resultant attached to the hotel is excellent. Good food, good service and a fairly varied menu.