Ratings based on 840 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great hotel find

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: No changes just keep doing what you are doing first class!
Location: Location fantastic in a quiet area but close to transport and services
From a friendly welcome which continued throughout our 3 night stay. Will be my first choice when returning to the beautiful city of Lisbon. Location was first class, as well as the staff and hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Classy and classic hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Style of the hotel.
Location: Good central location close to shops and restaurants. Handy for airport bus too.
Very elegant and stylish hotel with history. Rooms really comfortable. Staff unfailingly helpful. Good location. Pretty much perfect in all respects.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

Elegant hotel in quiet location

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Wonderful Art Deco design and the small number of rooms made the Britania feel more like a private club than a hotel. We stayed for 5 nights and returning after a days sightseeing felt like coming home, assisted no doubt by the very relaxed atmosphere and excellent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Very well appointed hotel,stayed 7 nights could not fault anything,room was great housekeeping was excellent Would recommend this hotel to anybody staff and facilities were wonderful Definitely will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Couldn't be better. It is a professionally run friendly hotel. Anyone would enjoy staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maxville, on

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Hotel staff were super helpful. Quiet location but close to everything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Beautiful decor

Posted Oct 28, 2017
A charming, small hotel with friendly, attentive staff. Quiet, relaxing atmosphere with complementary tea, pastries and port each evening. The Art Deco decor is beautiful and adds to the luxurious feel. Breakfast is rather expensive but included if you are over 55.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts, USA

Exceptional boutique hotel at the heart of Lisbon!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Great location, highly professional and helpful staff, exceptionally clean and elegant.
Location: This hotel is just one block away from Avenida de Liberdades, one of Lisbon's most elegant avenues.
We stayed 9 nights in this extraordinary hotel in the heart of Lisbon. First, this 35 room hotel has been entirely restored to its original Art Deco form, including cork floors in the room, beautiful marquetry floors in the lobby, elegant furniture and art work in the lobby and bar. Also the sleek, elegant Art Deco door handles (that are beautiful but not so easily grasped). There is a spectacular breakfast every morning, including traditional Portuguese staples like sardines in olive oil and Portuguese breads and pastries, which I would recommend highly over the usual eggs and cereal fare. Especially noteworthy was the very attentive and nice staff at breakfast, to whom we are grateful for making our stay so enjoyable. The wonderful port, in the lobby and also in our room, was a great way to cap a busy day in Lisbon. This is a very small hotel, only 35 rooms, and the only reason we were able to get it is because we booked our trip almost 6 full months in advance. I think the quality of our stay at the Hotel Britania was due primarily to the extreme professionalism and dedication of the staff. This hotel is just one block away from Avenida de Liberdades, one of Lisbon's most elegant avenues. A 10 minute uphill walk leads to the Marques de Pombal park, with spectacular views of the city and river and where all the tour buses stop. A 15 minute walk in the opposite direction leads to the river and the Praca de Comerco, with many tourist restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stevenage

Great hotel for city break

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Everyone was so welcoming.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good restaurants. Lots of shops. Metro link nearby and not too far from the open top buses
Lovely hotel in quiet location but close to shops, restaurants and transport. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Nice breakfast too. We are already planning to return as so much still to see in this great city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Beautifully maintained hotel. Great location. Superb staff. Excellent breakfast. Would recommend it without hesitatioin.