Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distant to the Coliseum

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Very quaint hotel in a quiet neighborhood, close to the Coliseum. The person that checked us in could not have been nicer. He arranged to have a local taxi driver help us return a car to the airport, offered to arrange a tour, suggested a super restaurant for dinner and gave us directions for how to spend our afternoon in Rome. The room was comfortable and breakfast was plentiful with options for everyone in our party.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East sussex UK

Nice hotel in a quiet are of Rome.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: The Italian décor was lovely. Beautiful old and very ornate pieces of furniture on the landings and in reception. Scrumptious breakfasts.
Cons: What would have been nice would have been a tea/coffee making facility in the room. Also proper single beds.
Location: It was about 15minutes walk to Circus Maximus and probably 25 mins to the Coliseum. Restaurants down on the main road about 10 mins away.
On arrival at the Aventino we were told that there was a problem with our room so we had been upgraded to their sister hotel, Villa San Pio which was just a short distance downhill. We found the hotel very nice, the staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, very ornate and Italian. We had specified single beds but they were two singles pushed together to make a double. The towels and bedding were changed daily. The breakfast was plentiful and very nice. The hotel grounds were very pretty. This was a lovely hotel away from the manic traffic of Rome. A real oasis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful and tranquil hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Very pretty hotel and very well run, Slightly out of the way from the centre of Rome but that does keep it peaceful. Room was very nice and spacious. Rustic/classiic without looking tired. Takes about 20 mins walk to get in to the heart of Rome.
5 out of 5
by Kristi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice, helpful friendly staff. Nice breakfast. I would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BristolEngland

Very convenient for the attractions of Rome

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Convenient,clean,nicely decorated
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to the Forum and the Colesium and the hop-on and hop-off bus.
Excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

A tranquil getaway

Posted Jul 6, 2017
A peaceful location away from the city centre rush, but within walking distance (30mins). Beautiful gardens and view located just around the corner. With the experience enhanced by brilliant staff, both helpful and friendly. We would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen,Scotland

Nice Hotel,well worth it.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Peaceful,clean and friendly.
Cons: Only criticism was being told at 10.00pm that the bar was closed and if we wanted a coffee/drink we should go to the sister hotel around the corner.
Location: Location is peaceful and quite- nice park nearby and 'keyhole' view of St Peter's a couple of minutes away.Don't expect exciting nightlife.
Overall a very nice hotel with a good atmosphere in a quiet location.The staff were friendly and helpful,particularly the young girl concierge(forget her name). The breakfast lady and cleaners were always happy, smiling and willing to help.The garden was nice to sit in of an evening.Room had everything required and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was perfectly adequate although maybe a choice of cold meats and cheese might be a possibility. Lovely location but if you want public transport be prepared for a bit of a hike uphill on your return. If that's not a problem then metro and trams are a ten minute walk away.In the immediate vicinity there are no coffee bars, trattoria or shops- see above comments for those.
5 out of 5
by Ian

Superb Aventine Hideaway.

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful elegant hotel. Super friendly staff. Very happy with this choice. Great Base for sight seeing. Close to all historic attractions and shopping.
4 out of 5
by Maxim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels