Ratings based on 731 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Leisure facilities. Dinner in the evening was very good. Entertainment in the evening was good.
Cons: I think the hotel needs a lift as although there is only two floors, the steps are quite steep and there are quite a lot of steps to climb.
We enjoyed our stay. Rooms are a bit tired but fine. Heating needs to be turned on as we found the room a bit cool, didn't need to ask for heater but the room could have done with being a bit warmer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aberdeenshire

Mostly good

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Staff, rooms
Cons: Evening meals
Location: Lots to discover
Rooms good, staff very good. Food could do with an overhaul. We had wooden boards for our dinner, they are awful. Breakfast lots of choice, brilliant. Evening meal not so.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't match the word Hilton

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Very dated room, felt very impersonal and I but of a conveyor belt. Not quite a Hilton Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from whitley bay

Lovely location, friendly staff, great food.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Location and space within it.
Location: Too many to mention. Lots of walks and activities.
We arrived late at the hotel but the staff were efficient and helpful. The variety of food for vegetarians was good and breakfast too was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Staff were very friendly and efficient. Food was excellent with a large choice at the buffet.
Cons: Rooms need some tlc. Our room was initially over the room with the noisy wedding disco. There were also some noisy extractor fans outside.
Location: Loads of activities nearby, mostly of the outdoor healthy type.
We had a weekend break here. Room was noisy on the first night but we got it changed ok for the second. Staff were superb. Hotel has a nice bustle to it but rooms need an update.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good family hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly and spotless
Cons: Maybe a better ventilation system. I did find my room very hot during the night despite the window being open
Location: I didn't take part in any outdoor activities but there is certainly plenty to do in the area for all interests.
Stayed overnight. Room was very comfortable and spotless, if a little dated. Staff exceptionally friendly. I was here on my own and despite beIng a 'family' hotel all children's activities were well planned. Great hotel for exploring the beautiful outdoors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Motherwell

Chance booking

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Booked for last minute business trip and found a gem.Will be back for a leisure trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dumbarton

Hotel disappointment

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Hotel old and tired no tHilton standard very few trained staff particularly at bar exorbitant prices of drink.poor excuse for jacuzzi with was a part of main pool which had bubbles.sauna difficult to get in and out of without touching sauna unit itself no safety features to prevent contact with unit also door handle extremely hot to touch almost burning skin on contact .main restaurant staff unable to answer questions on food being served as to what foods were or what they contained exorbitant price for Internet use in rooms a lot of staff didn't understand English staff in bistro excellent bar staff that were trained were very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great for children

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We brought our grandson to this hotel and had a great time .Hotel staff were great bathroom could do with a overhaul .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from halifax, nova scotia canada

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Loved the lobby very welcoming and a great gathering space. Kids play area for adults Arcade was popular with our crew. Bistro restaurant was very good and our waitress from Manchester was incredible. Would come back.