Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Overall decent hotel. Could do with a revamp in certain areas, slightly run down. Very good swimming pool. Our kids loved their stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arbroath, angus

Comfy beds but a tad over priced !

Posted Oct 5, 2017
The house keeping lady cleaning the rooms when we left was one the friendliest member of staff we met. Breakfast was tasty and the chef was lovely - table staff seemed as though they rather be anywhere else but serving in the restaurant. Rather pricey for bed and breakfast !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambs

Nice hotel on Aviemore resort

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Very good value for money.
Cons: More pub style restaurants on resort site.
Location: Right in the middle of Aviemore with swimming pool and children's play area on site.
Nice hotel on Aviemore resort with swimming pool, children's play facilities. Clean helpful staff. Very good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Susie, Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. If you are returning you would enjoy Aspects restaurant located in the Highlands Hotel, this is our formal dining restaurant. Kind regards Christo Botha General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
No timings info for breakfast Staff pleasant but very quiet Phones not working in room staff informed Felt this hotel wasn't as up to date as the others However we enjoyed the experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your phone was not working in the room and that you were not given the breakfast times at check in, I will raise this with the team. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience none the less. Kind regards Christo Botha General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Ideal location, close to restaurants and shops

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Great experience, you can walk to shops, good breakfast, comfortable beds
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Cholliday, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Christo Botha General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Very dated hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The decor
Location: a great base for outdoor activities being so close to the Cairngorm mountains
The corridors look like a prison block with painted brick wall and the doors slam shut every time someone walks through them. This was very disruptive through the night and early morning. The staff weren't very sympathetic when this was highlighted. The rooms were clean and comfortable but look dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the location, we are indeed very lucky to be in the heart in of the Cairngorm National Park. I will raise your comments about the corridors with the team and we will address this. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the resort. Kind regards Christo Botha General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel with a gr8 breakfast

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Great hotel + we had a quiet room with a lovely view, Had a 9 year old with me so there were plenty of activities,great pool with a slide + wave machine, sauna + steam room for us adults + a relaxing area where I could read my book. When the weather gets bad an indoor play area for boys + girls + something for this big girl! A excellent buffet breakfast with attentive Staff. I hope to go back again soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Christo Botha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we managed to keep everybody busy with all our activities. I will pass on your kind comments about the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Christo Botha General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great facilities and well located

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and bedroom
Cons: Common areas, hall ways etc are very tired and need decoration.
Location: Lots to do locally, particularly water sports and restaurants.
Nice hotel but common areas are tired and never a four star hotel. Rooms were good and the breakfast was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Christo Botha, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear that you liked your room and breakfast, along with all the activities. I will pick up on your comments about the public areas with the team. Kind regards Christo Botha General Manager
5 out of 5
by Jill

Tour of Scotland

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Room was great enjoyed the pool and spa
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017
Dear Jill, Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Christo Botha General Manager
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Great stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Lots to do for kids, great time