Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA, USA

Lovely hotel, Great Restaurant, Terrible pillows.

Posted Mar 12, 2018
Pros: Location, atmosphere, historical background, restaurant. I loved the old, historic wing, even though the rooms didn't have terraces.
Cons: Pillows, pillows, pillow.
Location: All the major attractions in Avignon are within walking distance. Be sure to explore the charming side streets and pedestrian only area.
The Hotel Le Cloitre St Louis is a wonderful hotel (except for the pillows) and in a perfect location to explore Avignon and beyond. Housed in a a 16th-century Jesuit seminary, and the wide halls and high ceilings of the old wing retain a medieval atmosphere. I didn't realize the front desk had access to the former church that adjoins the hotel so I missed it. The location, at the south end of the old city, is perfect for exploring and day trips. It is very close to the Gare d'Avignon Centre train station. (Note that the Avignon TGV train station is about 10 minutes outside of the city.) The Cours Jean Jaures, steps away from the hotel, runs the length of the walled city and take you close to many of the major. It is a lovely walk up to the Palais des Papes and the Pont d'Avignon. I had dinner one evening in the restaurant, and it was one of the best meals I had in my two week trip in France. The breakfast buffet is fine. I only had one complaint, the pillows. All four of the pillows in my room were so lumpy that it was hard to sleep on them. I didn't complain (yes, that is my fault) because I figured there was no way the worst four pillows could have ended up in one room. But for a 4 star hotel, the pillows were 1 star. Would I stay here again and recommend it, yes. Even with bad pillows.
4 out of 5
by Catharine

Historical stay

Posted Dec 3, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely stay in a historical building. Comfortable sleep Nice shower fantastic dinner. Such a memorable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you again. With our Best Regards, Heather Service Reception
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Inside walled city

Posted Nov 6, 2017
From moment of arrival was cheerful and helpful. The central location makes it easy to walk to major sights. They staff gave us great tourist advice avoiding tourists traps and good local restaurants. Steve was a super helpful with our limited French.
5 out of 5
by Denise

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central Hotel but disappointed us

Posted Oct 6, 2017
At first glance good location and beautiful courtyard BUT over three days the kettle in our room did not work, a light did not work and in room fridge did not work and was smelly. Spent lot of time reporting faults to various staff but mostly at reception. On leaving expected a simple sorry for all the problems except left only with an arrogant female member of staff who simply did not care nor had the grace to say sorry for all that was wrong. Never again!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Allis

Helpful staff

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Perfect location for walking Avignon. Staff was very helpful in making dinner reservations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great holiday in Avignon

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed our recent stay very much. Staff on the desk were very pleasant and helpful.Hotel is on a good situation within easy walking distance of most things..The only criticism I would have would be the cost of car parking at the hotel..
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from notts uk

Birthday break

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We had a fabulous stay in Avignon at this lovely hotel. Staff were extremely helpful. I upgraded our room as it was a big birthday for my husband. We were given a beautiful room. The only downside was service at dinner on the last day. The rest was perfect.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire UK

Nice hotel close to all tourists want to see.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Unusual decor and old building.
Cons: The hotel needs to improve on the facilities in room, better tea and coffee choice and mugs and teaspoons not cardboard ones and sticks for stirring,
Location: Good location
Nice experience. Comfortable bed need to improve tea coffee facilities.