Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Perfect perfect Perfect

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The staff were so pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and the bathroom spacious - far more then we have had in other European hotels The location is great for exporing the city
5 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Margaret

Enjoy Avignon from a great base.

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
We really like Avignon. The Bristol Hotel is well placed within the city walls to enjoy the old town and is near the train and bus station so that travelling to other paces in Provence and that part of Southern France is easy. It's a very comfortable base whose staff are welcoming and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

served its purpose

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice location, helpful front desk, iffy wifi, small charmless room. Plenty of restaurants and historic sites nearby. Five minutes to the train.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awkward Stay, Outdated Rooms, Good Location

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
The room was ok, but I would expect more for the (or any) price. The room is very out-dated. The hair dryer is from the 70s (maybe) and doesn't do much. The shower curtain is so light water went through it and the towels are thin and old and we used most of them on the floor due to the water that ended up there. The pictures are much nicer than what we got. That said it was fine- clean, no view, but a bed for the night. There are a few things that were particularly off-putting for us. 1) The hotel lights and front close at night. You have to ring the bell to get in. 2) You must return a heavy key to the front desk when you go out so they 'can keep track of you.' 3) Although they should know who is in and who is out, housekeeping knocked both days around 7am. We also had the do not disturb sign up. 4) Some staff was very nice (one man was very jovial letting us in when we locked in the key) and others very rude (the check in lady who was angry I gave her a drivers license instead of a passport, the housekeeper who literally shoved past me). The location is near the train, which was nice for us. It's just a 10 minute walk to the Pope's palace. There were also nice soaps to but in the lobby. Notably, none of these were in the rooms; that was all purpose discount body wash/shampoo. Overall, I doubt I'll be a repeat visitor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hants

Close to centre of old town

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location - close to main sights and festival events.
Location: July festival - hundreds of events, street entertainment.
Helpful staff, kept us well informed in advance about vehicle access restrictions during the festival so arrival went smoothly. Able to park outside to unload and then valet parked.
3 out of 5
by Vicki

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Wi-Fi was spotty and pillows were hard and uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by Roberta from Syosset, N.Y.

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
The management was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay. The buffet breakfast was good and worth the price. It was close to buses and the local trains.
5 out of 5
by william from From Michigan

The Bristol Hotel Review

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
The Bristol Hotel was very very nice. It is one of the closet hotels from the Avignon Train Station (not the TGV station). There are lifts in this hotel AND AND the hotel manager was exceptional. This hotel had the best servce in our entire Europe trip bar none. I would stay here again in a heartbeart. If you are English, the staff all speaks English quite well. Great support to their customers.