Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newforest Hampshire

"Non, je ne regrette rien"

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Clean and Spacious Adequate breakfast Lovely pool to relax in after a hard day holidaying 😆
Cons: There are some photos of film stars that adorn the walls- I think the one of Clinton Eastwood needs changing as he doesn't look so 'Good'
Location: Catherine ( the prioriter) gave us some great recommendations Visit to the beautiful village of Isle sur la Sorgue and to eat at 'Collection Lambert'
So glad we chose this hotel. Had a great four day stay in Avignon which was definitely enhanced by staying at La Roque. A charming hotel with friendly helpful staff who are more than happy to pass on their 'local' knowledge regarding where to eat and visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Lovely people. Hotel great location. Very clean. Pool was appreciated at the end of a very hot day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Wonderful, comfortable, charming, Provencal hotel!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The tranquility, setting, very pleasant rooms, good breakfast, helpfulness of all the staff.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: 5-6 minutes (bus) to central Avignon. Many good tours available (e.g. Lavender region, the Camargue, medieval villages of Les Baux and Roussillon)
This is a truly lovely hotel - very peaceful with simple but very attractive air conditioned rooms with large comfortable beds and good bathrooms. There is a delightful pool and outdoor and indoor sitting areas in which to relax. Catherine and Dominique are most welcoming and very kind hosts. Nothing is too much trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a visit to Avignon

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The owners are a lovely couple... The man always has a beautiful smile on his face and looks at you like he really hopes you're enjoying your stay. Lovely. The staff is very helpful and nice. My kids loved the pool and so did I... In a nice little garden with doves cooing everywhere. We stayed in the family room for four... Room 34.... Perfect - one big bed and two little, great sound proof Windows and air conditioning. It's SO easy to get to Avignon... We went for the July Arts Festival and you can park in the Place iot parking and walked across the bridge into town right to the Palais des Papes. The parking is a 4 minute straight shot down from the hotel by car.... Perfect place if you want some quiet yet still want to enjoy Avignon. Breakfast is lovely... Simple, all the coffee you want, can eat it on their lovely terrace. Merci! We truly enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by catherine, Hotel Management
Dear, thank you so much for your advise and perhaps nice to see you again in my hotel !!! Catherine and dominique
5 out of 5
by Ray from Washington State

Great little hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
The couple that runs the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The location was convenient to seeing the Provence region and the parking was free and convienent. The room was good sized (large by European standards) and well priced. They are building next door so there is construction noise starting about 7:30.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by hotel roques, Hotel Management
thank you so much. See you soon !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Roques - for discerning guests

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Extremely helpful and friendly with nothing too much trouble.
Cons: Nothing of any significance...
Location: It is near Avignon, Orange, Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Arles and Pont du Gard. Need I say any more?
An extremely friendly atmosphere generated by the owners, Catherine and her husband Dominic, and their staff. Very relaxing with every effort made to make your experience as delightful as possible. A little oasis of peace a couple of miles from the historic glory and hustle and bustle of Avignon. Tremendous and definitely worth revisiting and recommending to friends. It was also a fantastic find at very short notice. Bravo...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2015 by Catherine Cadou , Hotel Management
thank you so much preston and angie. nice to see you !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely friendly hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: The pool is lovely and very welcome with the unbelievable heat we had.
Better if you have a car as it is a bit if a way outside Avignon. There are buses down into town but they are not that regular. You could probably walk it in about half an hour. Quiet and the couple that own it are very friendly. There are local bars and restaurants that you can hang out at and are full if locals not full of tourists! The architecture in the local vicinity is both modern and older.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Diappointing and univiting

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Not much. The parking facilities were excellent.
Cons: the service ,the breakfast, the comfort of the bathroom.
Location: Avignon speaks for itself. the trip to the village of Gordes is thoroughly recommended and the Lavendar museum.
Although we had requested no stairs we were on the second floor up a curved stair case with dodgy wooden decoration pieces for hand rails. the staff explained that Expedia had not sent through a request for no stairs but even though we stayed two nights they made no attempt to reaccomodate us even though they could clearly see the difficulty I was having with the stairs. the toilet in the bathroom was so small that the door could not be closed and If in fact it was closed the handle prevented the bathroom door from opening
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Spring Valley, CA

Lovely hotel outside town

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice and comfortable hotel in what seems to be an old, large home with ample parking and a walled compound. Friendly staff/hosts.
2 out of 5
by Conrad

Perhaps not apprpriate

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on RatesToGo
This hotel was perhaps not appropriate for what we needed. We needed a hotel we could check in to early after a very tiring journey of flying and TGV travel lasting 18 hours. The hotel advertised to check in at 12h00, which was not correct and only checked in after 15h00. It is not located in the best part of the city and perhaps better suited for local travellers rather than tourists because there is no facility to assist tourists. Language poses a problem as only French is spoken.