Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. John's, NL

Gorgeous hotel for exploring Avignon

Posted Oct 17, 2017
A delightful place to stay for exploring Avignon and the Rhone wine region. Beautifully appointed rooms in a 13th century converted monastery, perfectly manicured gardens, and to top it off, a Michelin starred restaurant! What more could you want.
5 out of 5
by Douglas

Beautiful hotel just outside Avignon

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful grounds, polite and efficient staff and lovely room.
5 out of 5
by YEMELYAN

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet, nice, beautiful, exceptional place. Restaurant so far the best that my wife and I experienced in France.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Treat yourself: this is worth a detour.

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
We spent five days at Le Prieure and enjoyed it enormously. The staff were wonderful, our room very comfortable, food outstanding, the swimming pool magnificent, and we and our dog were made to feel welcome. Our room did open onto the courtyard but the noise did not disturb us -- the food experience is memorable and people were there to enjoy it, so there were no rowdy parties going on at midnight. The trains were a little surprising -- the rail line is close -- but not disturbing either. The shower in our bathroom was challenging and it was hard not to flood the floor, while a plumber could have made the basins empty better and the toilet flush more effectively. The air conditioning was a little primitive -- a single box on the wall without full directional control. Other than those quibbles, the hotel and its environs are entirely delightful and we make a special mention of the excellent breakfast which was delivered with great speed to our room. Not to miss: the delicious brown bread, which is a rarity in French hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanrwich, UK

Posted Aug 27, 2017
On first impression it is what you would expect from a Relais and Chateaux affiliated hotel, nice setting, good ambience and welcome from the hotel staff. Everything about the experience however just falls short of the expectation associated with a top hotel - the room is just OK, the food in the restaurant was excellent but the service made you feel unimportant and the food / drinks are just over-priced. We stayed in hotels on the remainder of our holiday that had Michelin 2-star restaurants that were more reasonably priced. In summary, if the hotel was advertised as a 4-star and the experience priced more reasonably, then would get a much higher rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Quiet hotel near to centre.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere and general presentation.
Cons: Would like to have been advised that there is no lift. We were on the top floor of the old building and would have requested a room lower down .
Location: Plenty of bars and restaurants close by and interesting attractions.
Staff excellent. Beautifully situated next to church. Exceptional lunch taken in the garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful place with amazing staff

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Exceptional personable service. The food was unreal and the place itself is historic. If visiting Avignon, I could not recommend a better place. My wife and visited for her birthday and will remember the place fondly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property with extreme attention to detai

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Stunning property where you can feel that every detail has been thought through. Amazing staff, food. Can't fault anything.
4 out of 5
by KIM

Fab Hotel Beautiful Location

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting, we had a deluxe room which was looking a bit tired, the bathroom definitely in need of refurbishment, the shower was pretty poor and the toilet wouldn't flush and kept getting blocked. The pool area is lovely but there was a lack of towels and the service is pretty poor. The restaurant is a 1 star Michelin and the prices certainly reflect this, although the service & food is very good at €24 for a glass of champagne we only ate there one night only. The location is excellent superb French village with a lovely town square and very good restaurants located within the town. We would highly recommend and happy to return
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
A stunning hotel just outside of Avignon (30 minutes walk to Palais des Papes, or a quick bus ride), with a lovely onsite restaurant (1 Michelin starred) and with easy access (5 mins walk) to a number of other more casual restaurants in the town. Great pool; clean, comfortable large rooms (we had a room overlooking pool, which was lovely); friendly staff. The only downside is that on-site breakfast is a bit expensive (EUR27 pp for what seems to be a continental breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, although did not eat breakfast so cannot confirm) - that was easily solved by going to a nearby cafe or to the wonderful bakery/boulangerie 5 mins walk away.