Ratings based on 629 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

People with older kids beware: Cramped room

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The hotel was acceptable, but the original room was sold as suitable for two adults and two children. It wasn't, well certainly not for children aged 10 and 14. We were lead to believe that we would get a double bed, and two single beds. The single beds turned out to be a sofa bed, and a pull out mattress. When this mattress was pulled out the whole width of the room was taken up by bedding, with absolutely no space between the beds. This was unpleasantly claustrophobic. Thankfully the manager upgraded us to a larger room, but only after we had to argue our case strongly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oxford

ideal location close to centre and rail station.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Pool area needs more space.
Location: Superb.
great place for last night of trip prior to catching train home. Clean functional hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel close to town.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Great modern hotel close to Avignon for sight seeing as well as the station for travel. Parking in the basement of hotel easy to use. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great pool facility which was used by us daily as the weather was extremely hot. Very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Busiest weekend

Posted Jul 15, 2017
My wife, daughter and I stayed here one night on the busiest weekend of the year (Bastille Day during festival). The hotel staff went out of their way several times to be extra friendly and especially kid friendly. The pool and surrounding patio are really great. The room was clean, modern, great bathroom, shower and real pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Conveniently situated

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Very pleasant staff.
Cons: More information displayed in foreign languages.
Location: Just outside city wall. Easy to reach train and bus stations and all the attractions in Avignon.
Pleasant hotel situated close to bus and train station and main street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Position of hotel.
Cons: Breakfast could be greatly improved
Next door to both train and bus stations. Visited Arles on the train which was another interesting town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Convenient and Clean

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Conveniently situated.
Location: Centre of Avignon not even a five minute walk away, same distance to station.
We only stayed here one night. Close to station but little noise from room. Very clean. Helpful staff. Pool nice and area around very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Super underwhelming - look elsewhere for the price

Posted Jun 10, 2017
This isn't the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, but it's certainly one of the worst four star hotels I've ever stayed in. The lobby was modern looking and everything seemed promising when we checked in, but as soon as we got off the elevator the carpet was stained and faded all the way to our room (gross). There was also a weird smell lingering that we could never identify. In our actual room it was more of the same - grungy carpet, outdated, old/musty smell. I will give Novotel credit for renovating the bathroom area, which had a decent shower and sink; they also had a pretty fast wifi connection. However aside from those positives, the room was not a place you wanted to be, other than just sleeping. I was shocked that so many reviews I read had been in favor of this hotel. Also, as others mention, although it explicitly states on certain Expedia reservation confirmations that breakfast is included, it isn't - and they are not at all understanding or accommodating even when you show them that proof in writing. (The person at the front desk basically had a "well, that's too bad" attitude when I showed her the confirmation email. You're not even going to try to make it right with the customer? It wasn't my error, after all...) As for location, it is of course very convenient if you are spending a few days in Avignon or taking day trips from there. However, there are many other hotels and I personally wish that I had picked another.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm desert , ca

Very nice hotel. Centrally located to ev.thing

Posted May 21, 2017
Great walking to historic downtown Modern pretty hotel with great pool area , good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph, ON, Canada

Convenient, modern, great stay

Posted May 16, 2017
A modern hotel with all amenities, but just across the street from the ancient city ramparts. An easy walk to all of the Avignon sites. Easy parking, if you are driving.