Ratings based on 628 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance to the beach

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Very nice atmosphere, great food and wine Around the hotel. I will go Back anytime and stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, Ca

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Great Hotel We really enjoyed our stay The room was really nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victorville ca

Birthday

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Went with my husband for my 53 rd birthday week and really enjoyed the La Fonda hotel. The staff and quaint hotel were a very nice experience. We loved the crissaunts every morning and playing tennis at the Avila bay club .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MISSISSAUGA, ON

Excellent getaway location for couples

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The charm, extra touches and the ambiance,
Cons: Nothing!!
Location: Avila Beach and all the shops are within walking distance.
Arrived late and tired but was welcomed with a smile and a gift. Immediately felt like we were family and directed to a wonderful romantic room with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace, The ambiance of the room and the special touches they have included (at no cost) force you to relax and savour the moments that you are there, Worth a trip back to California just to experience more time at this beautiful and romantic boutique hotel. I can see why many have spent their honeymoon and wedding nights there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF. CA

Well fed, well rested

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Generosity, Kind Staff, Location.
Cons: No dogs. We had a dog next door. Why bring your dog to a hotel, and leave it alone In the room, barking at the door. Plus the 7am barking.
Location: One block to the Ocean and Boardwalk of Avila Beach. Many dining chooses very close by.
Wow, La Fonda is a generous hotel. They give you an assortment of snacks in a basket when you check in. Fresh baked croissant, every morning. A nacho bar at noon, then wine and more than cheese at 5 pm. Then there is fresh baked pie every evening at 8 pm. I enjoyed my stay. All staff were kind and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Boutique Hotel!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The scent of the linens was very strong and I had an adverse allergic reaction to them.
Cons: The scent of the linens
Location: It is a block from the beach where you can easily stroll down the boardwalk. There are lovely little restaurants and stores along the beachfront.
This is a lovely boutique hotel a block from the beach. The amentities which included a welcome basket, continental breakfast, afternoon reception and hot, homemade pies in the evening for dessert were beyond any we have ever had before. Just lovely. The staff were very sweet and welcoming. The room was lovely although it overlooked a parking lot which was disappointing. Unfortunately, I had difficulty with the odor of the linens. I have allergies to strong scents and, unfortunately, the laundry detergent used on the linens were too strong. I ended up sleeping with great difficulty on the leather chair. It was past midnight when we went to sleep so I didn't want to disturb staff. We would come again, but the linens would have to be changed. Otherwise, this is a wonderful place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livermore, Ca

Quant hotel in a beautiful beach town

Posted Aug 24, 2017
This is a beautiful small hotel with so many amenities! The staff was very personable. They served the best croissants in the morning, snacks throughout the day and fresh baked pie in the evening!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulare, CA

Treasure Find just off the Beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The resort feel and special amenities make it feel like a luxury hotel yet like you are at home at the same time. The wine and cheese reception was qu
Cons: Only the employee cleaning the reception area made you feel like you were an inconvenience. Other than that, they stay was amazing and we will definit
We have stayed in Avila Beach numerous times but always stayed on beachfront properties. Although La Fonda is a block from the beach, you are treated so special that it more than compensates for not being directly on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel had wonderful customer service. There was a nice wine and appetizer time in the evening, snacks during the day including in your room at no cost. The hotel provided a light breakfast with fresh rolls ,fruit, and coffee. Great location in Avila. Being a few steps from the shops, bars, etc. made the hotel quiet.
5 out of 5
by torey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels