Ratings based on 665 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bed too hard

Posted Nov 27, 2017
My only complaint about our stay is that the bed was too hard. A memory foam topper would go a long way to making this a place we would come back too. The location and other amenities were perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Summer General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi There, We appreciate your feedback and we have addressed the issue with Housekeeping. We have invested in a few mattress toppers for situations such as this, so please let us know during your next stay that you would like one prior to your arrival. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento,Ca

Weekend Getaway

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Great stay at the hotel with my wife. Cozy place, quiet, nice activities at the hote(pool, spa, putting green, ping pong, etc)l but also right across the street from the beach in Avila. Really enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be back! Walking distance to restaurants, bars, wine tasting rooms, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Summer General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you so much for writing such a great review and sharing these amazing pictures! I hope that you will join us again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Hotel property was very nice, clean, and in a great location. Unfortunately we were in a room across from the local park and it was very noisy. Starting at 6:00 a.m (on Veterans Day holiday) trash trucks were picking up trash. By 6:30 the gardeners showed up and were using their blowers for at least 45 minutes! Would go back , but would book a room on the other side of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Summer General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am truly sorry that this was not the quiet, relaxing time you had hoped for. Typically this time of year is very quiet and peaceful in Avila Beach. I hope that you will allow us to welcome you back in the near future. Feel free to call the Hotel directly to book your next trip.
4 out of 5
by Kristi

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
by Philip

GREAT!

Posted Nov 7, 2017 on Hotels
Loved every minute. Great place to stay and relax between LA & SF
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017
Dear Phillip, Thank you for the great review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
by Chris

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, everything in the area shuts down early not a lot of night life. If you looking for quiet. This is a good hotel go to the grocery and liquor store first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017
Hello Chris, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the relaxation that Avila Beach offers at this time of year. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salinas, CA

Sunny, clean, and beach front hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful, beach accessibility, accessibility to everything in town. Cleanliness was excellent. Nice pool and hot jacuzzi.
Cons: Free weights in the work out room-- which is open 24 hours per day!
Location: Very short walk to the pier, the restaurants, and the beach shops. About 6-8 wine tasting rooms within the 3 x 3 blocks that make up the main town.
For the closeness to the beach, the brightness and spaciousness of the rooms and the hotel in general, this is the place to stay! We love Avila Beach because the shops are fresh and new feeling-- you will see what I mean when you go there Very small town but the amenities are concentrated into the 3-4 blocks. Very limited choices for food--which makes it easy to choose from-- in my opinion. Forget about looking for a Michelin star restaurant-- also makes eating out more enjoyable and easy to get a table without all the usual hassle of getting reservations. Having said that, the Ocean Grill was by far our favorite! The filet mignon was surprisingly the best I have ever, ever had!! All four of us ordered it because we were tired of seafood that night and all of us agreed how exceptional it was! Who would have thought?? Also about 6 wine tasting rooms situated around town-- some were very, very good. The best part of this experience? Everything was an easy walking distance from our hotel! We even went to most of the other hotels in the area but none could beat the Lighthouse with the sunny rooms, vibrant, lively colors of the hotel and the rooms, and the beach front and beach accessibility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Summer General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Warren, I am so glad that you truly got to experience Avila Beach and all of it's quirky, fun, colorful and delicious offerings! Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review. We greatly value our guests feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granada Hills, Ca

Birthday Golf Trip

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Very relaxing time without schedules, walking on beach, soaking in spa, enjoying leisurely breakfast. Got discount coupon for Golf from concierge which saved us $50 and enjoyed delicious fresh baked cookies every evening👍
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Summer General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Meg, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and explored all that Avila Beach has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

excellent, next time would like a discounted rate

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: close to beach, nice pool and spa, breakfast
Cons: breakfast could have frozen omelets to heat up in micro like days inn
great went to get away for 1 night. needed more than 1 night
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Summer General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate the feedback greatly and always try to act on our guests ideas and tips. Please contact us directly for your next stay to see what specials we are running and remember to always book directly with us for the best possible pricing! Thank you again for staying and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
5 out of 5
by Jeromie

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017
Thank you for your five star review! We hope to see you again!