Ratings based on 1,167 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Relaxation at its BEST.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Always our 1st choice for a relaxing getaway. The rooms are very private, the hot tub is amazing and the is lot's to do within a short distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hi Terri, I am beyond thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the Inn and that you felt us worthy of a five star review! We hope to have you back as our guests in the very near future. Kindly, Chris King General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca.

Wonderful get a away

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Great location and hotel. 5 minutes from downtown Avila and the pier. They have bikes available and a great bike path so you can ride to the beach. Will for sure be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy, What a lovely review! Thank you so much for the five star review. We strive to provide an outstanding experience for each and every guest we encounter and are thrilled that you felt us worthy of five stars. We hope to have you back again very soon! Kindly, Chris King
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Secluded, quiet, and comfortable

Posted Oct 11, 2017
The hotel was beautiful, bed was comfy, and the location was perfect. Just a short hike to the beach and lots of pretty trees surrounding the area to give it a quiet, private feel. My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and had the perfect experience. The spa on the balcony of the deluxe suite was a nice touch! Our only complaint was that our toilet was clogged early in our stay (possibly before we got there) and we told the staff but no one ever came to fix it. It was still just a minor issue in comparison to the many great features of this hotel. We want to come back here for our anniversary!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Thank you so much for the lovely review! I am sorry you experienced plumbing issues. We are so pleased you chose to rate us five stars. Sincerely, Chris King General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bakersfield

Wonderful stay, great activities!!!!

Posted Sep 30, 2017
It was excellent great location very serene and secure. Great activities around to enjoy. We would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Luis, Thank you so much for the five star review! We are beyond thrilled that you found us worthy of a five star review. I certainly hope you can make it back to visit us again in the near future. Sincerely, Chris King General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank CA

Good overall

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, fireplace in the room, message bath tub, comfortable.
Cons: If the hotel isn't full, don't give a guest a room view of the parking lot.
Location: Cracked Crab dinner in Pismo Beach is unparalleled. Downtown San Luis Obispo is always a treat both in shopping and dining. Avila bay is fabulous.
Overall the hotel was great, wonderful lounge with fireplace, health club was A+, breakfast and coffee at the market/cafe was delicious, the grounds well manicured. The staff was magnificent. However, the view at the parking lot, not that pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hi Kevin, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Inn. We strive to provide an outstanding experience for each and every guest that we encounter, and I was beyond pleased to hear that you we're able to take advantage of so many of the things that make our property special. I especially appreciated the kind comments about the staff, facilities, and surroundings. I'm sorry the view wasn't to your liking. We do have other room types which are a bit more private with a view of the creek which runs behind the hotel. It is called our Hot Tub Deluxe room and that would be my recommendation for your next visit! Warm regards, Chris King General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very chic

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Nice hotel n great locations , great breakfast n snack any time
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Guest, Than k you for your feedback. I was so pleased that you felt our hotel deserving of a 5 out of 5 review! We hope to have you back as our guests again in the near future. Chris King General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Mass

Perfect pick for wine/beach/downtown.

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Everything about this place was perfection. Beautiful accommodations, friendly staff, and perfect location. Bike to the beach, drive a minute to a peacock-filled winery, or hop on the highway for a 15 min ride to downtown San Luis Obispo and every kind of bar or restaurant of your choice. For a longer drive hop on the scenic highway to Hearst Castle or head to Pado Robles. Start and end your days with a private hot tub soak or a glass of wine by the fireplace. Can't wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Liz, Thank you so much for the lovely review! I was thrilled to read that all aspects of your stay we're enjoyable. We work hard to provide an outstanding experience for each and every guest that we encounter, and are so pleased to hear that you felt us worthy of a five star review. We hope to have you back as our guests again in the near future. Hospitably, Chris King General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
A very peaceful lobby and nice, convenient athletic facility next door. The only personal negative was the rain shower head.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I was thrilled to see that we were able to earn a 5 star rating in spite of the issues with the shower head. I appreciate your feedback and certainly hope to have you back as our guests again in the very near future. Warm regards, Chris King General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely property in Avila Beach

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: It is well appointed and maintained. It has a cozy, woodsy feel to it that is welcoming and comforting.
Cons: Put microwaves in the rooms and install a lounge where folks could enjoy an adult beverage.
Location: This is fantastic hub for exploring all the area has to offer: hiking trails, all manner of water sports, golf, wine tasting...
Avila Village is a fascinating property. Turning into the street that leads one to the Inn, there is a country market, which is a great amenity. Catty corner to the inn there is a separate full-service spa facility with tennis courts a dance studio and a cafe. Staff at both the inn and spa were courteous and helpful. Check-in includes a delicious, freshly-baked cookie. There is complimentary coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7. Guest rooms are well-appointed and cozy. There is a private hot tub on each balcony. There were minor downsides to the property. One, there is no lounge or bar area, nor a full-service restaurant, although the cafe provides room service. There were a couple of problems with my room: 1) the overhead lights didn't work, 2) there was no bottle opener (as promised) and 3) although there is a mini fridge and a coffee maker, there is no microwave. Overall, my stay couldn't have been better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback about your recent visit to the Avila Village Inn. As you mentioned, the Inn's location make it a prime spot for a peaceful and relaxing spot to enjoy all the Central Coast has to offer. We purposely don't offer in-room microwaves because smells from cooking food can permiate the carpeting and drapes in our guestrooms, causing complaints about smell issues. We do have a microwave in our lounge area which is open to guests 24-7. I apologize that there was not a corkscrew in your room upon arrival. It is one of the amenities that we typically have waiting for our guests to use upon arrival. I will use your feedback to improve upon our guest experience. Sincerely, Chris King General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

We were upgraded

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great getaway spot conveniently located close to Avila & Pismo
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you so much for the lovely review! We hope to have you back as our guests again in the near future! Kindly, Chris King General Manager